Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

RPG Director

by HeyZeus - Jam Entry

Ever wanted to direct your very own Role-Playing game, or felt that you could do a better job then most companies out there. Take control of the main protagonist and build yourself into a project manager and sell as many copies of your game world wide and show that you have what it takes to be the most powerful video game developer in the industry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#307Humor(Jam)3.20
#330Innovation(Jam)3.28
#521Audio(Jam)2.79
#694Overall(Jam)3.03
#760Fun(Jam)2.73
#797Graphics(Jam)2.79
#950Mood(Jam)2.46
#1098Theme(Jam)1.75

Comments

jsmith09 says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 8:39pm

I am liking the concept of the being the "evil" dev developer. The fighting gameplay seemed "out of place" but I liked it.

candlesan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:57am

The vibe is so cool!

Dialglex says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:54am

Love it!

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:24am

It's not about "being" the monster in the classic sense. Overall it's a decent game.

HeyZeus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:29pm

(Trailer)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=epLx82qKu-8

(Review)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S9iaUJfSWPs&feature=youtu.be

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:22pm

The ending is really cool> I've sold a lot of copy of my game so I can play golf (logic). I liked the achievment system too.

There is a lot of humor in your game and it's pretty good.

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:27pm

I LOVED this game, it wasn't really innovative as there are games like this out there, the gameplay was really fun as I absolutely love games like this e.g Game Dev Tycoon (when you test your game the enemy is a little OP though), it didn't really suit the theme though, the graphics and audio were nice and the mood was okay I guess. Overall LOVED it in terms of gameplay but could do with a tune up in certain areas, besides really enjoyable game well done.

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:36pm

That was pretty fun although the inclusion of Wily's castle's theme was a bit strange (not gonna complain though I love it)

Flaid says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Hey, there ain't anything better than the first Dark Stages music from Mega Man 2. I mean, once that beat starts going I just can't help myself.

This game felt like a direct port of a game I have for iOS: Game Developer Story, right down to the consoles being named something different but still close enough that you know what we mean (ZBox).

Overall, the game was interesting, although I was able to break it by entering characters into the text box when allocating funds. My game sold over 2.5 million units but was not on the "top selling" charts, which was odd. Probably because the input for how much funds I was allocating to different areas was NaN.

madalaski says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Good job, loved the music from classic rpgs.

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Attack of the Mutant Zombies for the win! :P

Really cool game, I just wish there was a bit more content. Keep it up!

xvw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Funny game but I would have expected that choice we made had a real impact on the game it self (like if you chose Sci-Fi the hero changes into a space cop or this like that).
The ending was fun too. I didn't get how I was a monster in this video game, did I miss something ?

But just a problem for me, why apply for the Music vote when you use musics from classic video game ?

boardtobits says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Gameplay: I didn't really know how my choices were affecting the game.
Content: It looks like you put a lot of different game tropes into the game, which is cool.
Theme: Not sure how this fits.

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Ha, cool. It has that "2005 flash game" feel (and that's a good thing.)

I also really enjoyed the music from various RPGs. Chrono Trigger was a fun game.

Darkflint says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:49pm

RPG? You won me over, Sir! Plus the music! Did i hear a piece of Final Fantasy or was that my imagination?
Only the Enemy was a tad to strong, never had a real chance i think.

mathijs750 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Creative concept, good humor.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:41pm

I don't understand how you can choose anything other than the earthbound music for a game called "Invasion of the Disco Muffins", wahahahaha.

Your game is not eligible for the Audio rating since you used outside assets. Please OPT OUT of this rating category.

radmars says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Interesting concept but I never felt like I was a monster or that by being a game developer I was being monstrous. It seems like it was trying to communicate some idea about corporations being monsters but it never showed me how that was the case.

The choices also felt arbitrary and disconnected from results. I have no idea how the themes or places I chose effected the created product. The turn based battle also seemed out of place with the rest of the game.

Oct 18, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/VOSoNttI06o

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]