Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Munchy Crunchy Trolly Woahly!

by OxyOxspring - Jam Entry

In "Munchy Crunchy Trolly Woahly!" you play the role of a rather hungry forest troll who has come across a bridge in his territory! People are using the bridge all day for transporting food to the kings banquet, so you're going to take this opportunity to feast on all the food coming your way - just be careful not to get caught by the guards because they do not like monsters at all!

I wanted to try making a one button game for this Ludum Dare and I like to think I've succeeded. I hope that you enjoy playing it as much as I enjoyed making it. I clocked about 18 hours of development time on this one because I was kinda distracted this weekend.

How to play:
☉ SPACE or LEFT CLICK to make the troll hide in the water!
☉ Keep an eye on your oxygen meter on the left hand side of the screen!
☉ Try to eat the three food combo on the left in order to score a point!
☉ You have to eat the three foods in the right order to score a point!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#101Graphics(Jam)4.31
#252Theme(Jam)3.79
#284Audio(Jam)3.34
#384Innovation(Jam)3.19
#398Humor(Jam)3.02
#410Mood(Jam)3.29
#425Overall(Jam)3.33
#521Fun(Jam)3.06

Comments

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:31am

Took me a few tries before I figured out how to hide, and I'm not 100% sure on how to score but it's a nice game. Great graphics. Maybe have the difficulty ramp up somehow the further you go?

pavel_insight says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Definitely like the artwork!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:16pm

I was not understading in the beggining, but after a while I got it and liked, also the art style is very nice, great job.

Romaing says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:26pm

I enjoy the art, it looks all hand made, and original.
The gameplay is ok, sometime we have to wait a long time before the good food is coming, but its not a big problem.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Thanks everyone! Clearly people are liking the hand-drawn style I went through!

I did try to balance the game and increase the spawn-rate of the food that you need to eat - but it doesn't show very well in the build that is currently uploaded. I might tweak some of the values after the voting is finished to increase the spawn rate of useful carts.

Arnage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Considering how little oxygen you have it would be nice to have a clearer indication of the soldiers "hitbox". Currently it's very hard to catch a breath in between multiple soldiers as you can't really see when they'll hit you.

Juin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:48pm

I didn't understand what i was supposed to do and after i did(i think i did atleast), i thought the game was way too hard you have almost no window of reaction to identify the right food you need. But the graphics were really nice awesome art!

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:55pm

The art is great, Feels great. I love the wait for the food, sometimes it's like that in real life also, hehe.looking forward V2.X:D

LeoM says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Nice graphics, a bit repetitive a too easy otherwise.

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Ver Nice artwork... congratulations

teknic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:39pm

game is unplayable? it appears to play itself and end with "0 successful combos". fish, carrot, star, wha?????

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:42pm

The graphics and music are very nice, but I found the gameplay to be way too hard and unengaging. The only way I found to predict the soldiers coming is by sound, and avoiding them requires near-perfect reaction.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Heeeey you did a troll game too :D
I like the simple gameplay, even tough it gets quite repetitive in a short time.
the style is LOVELY, absolutelly adore it.
It took me a (short) while to understand the combo mechanics.

ajopart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:04pm

5 stars for Mood, Graphics and Audio !! My favorite of the day.

KeyboardCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Amazing graphics ! Really great game.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:59pm

This is a gem! The artwork is perfect and reminds me of a coloring book which fits well with the troll theme. I figured out the hiding mechanic quick enough but it took me a second to figure out how the combo system works. Perhaps a tad too easy but otherwise I was very much entertained.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Thanks everyone! <3

(Sorry that the mechanics aren't that self-explanatory, it wasn't something I thought about until I'd finished and uploaded, unfortunately!)

dmcfarline says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Lovely artwork, gameplay was a bit too fast at first, but got the hang of it eventually

Hegback says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Awesome graphics! Sure reminds me of school days where I played this on papers with my friends. But the game lags for a moment there when I lost the game, wonder why?

hrd_games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:12am

Tried the Android version, very nicely made. Took a few moments to work out my goals and how I achieve them, but after that, very fun.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:10pm

I'd assume that the lag is it loading in all the unoptimised artwork I did! :P

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Really neat concept, love the graphics! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/NqmWO8MUX6c

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:58pm

A surprisingly tense mechanic and game! But with something so simple, a tutorial would be good: it took a while to get the hang of it and I had to come back here and check the description.

CtrlAltTea says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:38am

Cool idea and art, the soldiers seem to really hate me though - and they're FAST /and apparently angry/

rudra says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:30pm

The art was pretty awesome! Enjoyed playing it, Good Job!

Slothmachine says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Really nice painted graphics. The troll looks cute. Good gameplay. Well done!

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:26pm

This is a nice one-button game indeed! Could you some more balancing, I guess, and maybe a bit more events to happen or tasks to complete, but overall very nice and fun to play. :)

Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:37am

Love your drawing! The soldiers looks particularly cool. The sound and music work perfectly with it too. Really good concept. I couldn't see my score on screen though and it'd be good to have it get harder and chuck something like a high score table in there maybe?

superfreak says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:53am

I cannot get enough of the art in this. Also enjoyed the attention to using audio as que and the easy to pick-up hard to master style of game-play. Great fun :3

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:10am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

lkpridgeon says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Good game, Nice visuals and audio however there was a light hinderence my end with the frame rate being all over the place. I enjoyed the mechanics and could easily see it being picked up on a mobile platform.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]