Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Human Zoo

by NuSan - Jam Entry

You are trapped in a Human Zoo. Escape and fight back against those who treated you like a monster.
Or you can help your guards by returning escaped prisonners (in multiplayer only)

The game can be played solo with the web version or solo&multiplayer with the windows version. You can play multiplayer on the same PC, through the network, or even start a dedicated server ... just read the readme.txt.

GuillaumeGwi : Code
NuSan : Graph/Music

We updated the html5 version with a fix to the "out of memory" crash, hopefully its stable now.
If you have trouble launching the windows version, please install the UE4 redistribuable found in the package under Engine\Extras\Redist\en-us\UE4PrereqSetup_x86.exe

Controls :
Arrow keys / wasd / zqsd : move
Space : attack
Ctrl : grab a stunned human

Softs :
Engine : Unreal Engine 4
2D Animation : Unity
Graph : Sai, Photoshop and Paint.net
Music : BoscaCeoil

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#341Innovation(Jam)3.26
#370Audio(Jam)3.15
#383Theme(Jam)3.63
#456Humor(Jam)2.92
#494Mood(Jam)3.16
#512Graphics(Jam)3.41
#616Overall(Jam)3.11
#754Fun(Jam)2.74
#1226Coolness49%

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:47am

Nice game! I liked your take on the theme. The art was great, amazing giving the time constraints! I did have an issue with out of memory errors after playing for a bit, but I enjoyed the Grand Theft Auto-style mayhem.

Benlitz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:45am

Nice graphics and fun concept!

xvw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:58am

I love the concept, but it was some bug crash ?
Good job dude !

Fantasieleben says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Out of memory exceptions for me as well. However, I get the idea and the game feel, and it is a fun idea. Would be awesome if the club was a bit bigger - both the visuals and the collider... More havok!

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Graphics and audio were nice, not entirely sure what the actual point of the game was and I couldn't do that much because it kept crashing when I broke out of the pens.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Art is amazing, sounds are great, and the concept is awesome. Great work.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:58pm

I like the theme of the human zoo and the alien creature art was very nice. The controls were a bit difficult and I had trouble hitting any of the things I was trying to. The webplayer crashed the first time I died.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:00pm

I like the concept. It took me a minute to realise I was meant to be escaping and not killing my cell mate.
The game ended up crashing.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Nice concept and take on the theme, high theme and innovation rating :)

Dianouille says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:24pm

I played the solo version. I think it'll be better to play the multi version(at first I thought I could release the prisoners haha). Still I love the concept, good job !!!

roma96roma says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:39pm

when I killed other human, I have gotten this message.Cannot enlarge memory arrays. Either (1) compile with -s TOTAL_MEMORY=X with X higher than the current value 134217728, (2) compile with ALLOW_MEMORY_GROWTH which adjusts the size at runtime but prevents some optimizations, or (3) set Module.TOTAL_MEMORY before the program runs.

TMW says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Nice idea, nice graphics. I really like the concept! GJ (bug : if I go outside the zoo enemy disappear)

fistmaker says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:07am

Weird crashes, but good concept.

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:29pm

This was really cool. Loved the art. Some more variation would go a long way- different attacks and items maybe? And it crashed after playing for a few minutes.

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Runs a bit laggy for me. But the concept is good. Good job!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:41pm

graphics are very nice and the idea is very fun. Hope you can fix the crash bugs soon.

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Solid graphics and nice gameplay idea. Great work!

Hendri says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Really awesome little game. I liked the art.

Darkflint says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:31am

Nice concept, graphic and audio. But a bit buggy and confusing. I didnt see any stunned human, so what about the grapping? and my hp went down to -50 before i lost for real.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]