Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Colossal Shakedown

by wallmasterr - Jam Entry

Play as a colossal monster fighting against some tiny villagers.

Kinect required!
kinect drivers/ sdk Link:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=40278
Full motion controll of a colossal monster.

Press C to toggle kinect motion preview at the bottom of the screen (note that it will only be visible once you are picked up by the Kinect). Useful for calibrating the Kinect in smaller spaces.


Stomp squish kick, punch whatever just survive as long as you can.
You may need to be quite enthusiastic to actualy kill them.


code by Antanas Budvytis http://budvyt.is/
Art by Alastair Low http://lowtek.co.uk/index.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#214Innovation(Jam)3.43
#267Graphics(Jam)3.91
#285Fun(Jam)3.40
#321Humor(Jam)3.18
#328Theme(Jam)3.70
#330Overall(Jam)3.45
#370Audio(Jam)3.15
#544Mood(Jam)3.09
#1627Coolness40%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:47pm

This game sounds really cool. I don't have a kinect, but I would love to see a gameplay-video if that is possible!
The colossus and the people in that image look really charming

I get some obvious Shadow of the Colossus vibes from the logo, hehe. Always a good game to be inspired by ;D

Llucile says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:45am

I don't have a kinect. No other controls ? :(

Nichii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:44am

Sounds like a cool game, I don't have a kinect as well though. Would be cool to see what it looks like though

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:48am

We tossed around this same idea in the beginning but thought it would be too hard to pull off in a weekend. Looks like you guys did so in style though! I'm with everyone else, wish I could play but don't have the hardware.

wallmasterr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:43am

Ye thought a lot of ppl wouldnt be able to play we also were gona hook up google cardboard (vr) to this but just didn't have enough time , pluss then even more ppl wouldnt be able to play, mabie a new build next week or something. We should have a gameplay video tonite :D. I can assure you though its pritty fun , and funny.

amortus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:26pm

I dont know how to instal my kinect on my pc

Plomeg says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:55am

no kinect either =(

djfariel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:03am

Incredibly interested, but alas, no kinect. Very curious to see gameplay.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Oops, sorry no kinect. Looks like cool game. Good job

daubeh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:26pm

@amortus and anyone else who's having trouble setting up their Kinects on the PC, all you need is to download the Microsoft Kinect SDK. We used version 1.8 for development.

Link:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=40278

daubeh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:59pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XPuxeasDL4U

Gameplay video is live! :D

Strike says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:49am

Too bad I don't have a Kinect so I cannot really rate this entry. The game looks promising on the video. Very nice graphics as well ;)

Komradus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:34am

Wow! That looks amazing, though I don't have a kinect set up with my PC and thus won't be able to play and rate your game. :(

adsilcott says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:13pm

No kinect but the gameplay looks fun.

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Shadow of the Colossus: now you are the colossus edition.

RadStar says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:05pm

I think there couldn't be any better way to interpret the theme, using Kinect was teally clever! you ARE the monster! Awesome!

aviktorov says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:14pm

I wish I had Kinect but it looks very fun in the video!

DerekRumpler says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:05am

I like the concept. I don't have a Kinect, but wish I could play. I'm giving feedback based on the video. It looks really fun!

Chris M says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:08am

Didn't get to play, but looks super fun!

SoloDuoTeam says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:35pm

I did not rate it. Since not everyone has the Kinect why don t you just put some video of a gameplay example?

struffy says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:34pm

I cant rate this either but looks amazing. will have to source a Kinect. does it work with the Kinect one?

Stending says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Looks really fun, congratulations!

daubeh says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 8:37am

@struffy: Yes, we developed it on Kinect 1. You will need a PC USB adapter to connect it to your machine as well as the Microsoft Kinect SDK linked in the description. :)

@SoloDuoTeam: We have a gameplay video linked in the description.

AndyBrown says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 12:05am

Ordered an adapter for my kinect so I could try this out! Okay I really ordered it so I can do mocap later on.. but you triggered the purchase! That was fun, loved the models! I don't think my room is the best setup for a kinect as it had a hard time seeing my legs, but the arm movements were fun. It was also amusing to see the monster go off the screen when I walked out of my room. 10/10 would crush hang gliding people again.

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:30pm

The art is really awesome. Keep it up. This game has potencial to grow.

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:44am

I can't play it, but the concept looks great.

eddynardo says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:19am

The game look promising too bad i dont have kinect :S

Rialgar says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Judging only by the video:

Looks like lots of fun and also like actual exercise (which is good). Loved when you wiped your forehead and the character mirrored it!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 8:55pm

This game sounds really cool. Even I don't have a kinect at home. I would like to try. Thank you ++

MikeEnoch says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:16am

Played it in the maker space - really cool guys, still impressed you managed to get it all going so quickly!

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:51am

woooo!~
Amazing Artstyle and the play mode!!
the music<ワンダと巨像 大地の咆哮〉really made raise my spirits
very suitable for this mode and style~
also the camera position set pretty great~
so interesting game~

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]