Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Squid Pro Quo

by TijmenTio - Compo Entry

Help a squid find a new home where her enormous body fits and where no one will bother her!

Controls:
Use mouse! (left button + move)



!!SPOILERS!!
What all the upgrades do:
- Grow: Get another tentacle
- Extend: Tentacles are longer
- Goggles: Spawn a transparent circle where your cursor is
- Locomotion: Slight auto-aim
- Aquadynamics: Faster reload time
- Well-fed: Recover health over time
- Strong: Hit harder/more damage
- Heavy bones: Do more damage with falling tentacles

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#25Graphics4.38
#25Overall4.04
#36Fun3.98
#45Audio3.82
#54Innovation3.86
#55Theme4.13
#66Mood3.81
#136Humor3.50

Comments

JoeProgram says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:19am

What a sweet game! I really liked on level 3 having to choose whether to attack right or left, and the fish enemies were a great addition! I found myself wanting a progress indicator in the level, and the ability to use my left and right mouse buttons for the left and right tentacles. Great entry!

dvdking says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:21am

Great game!
I was surprised how intuitive the controls are.
Levels are a bit too long in my opinion.

uthamon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:28am

Creative game with aesthetically pleasing graphics. Enjoyed it very much.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:28am

My only problem was that my mouse wasn't captured by the game so I kept incidentally clicking on my 2nd desktop.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:29am

Fun game! Looked great and it was very satisfying when you killed things!

My only problem was that my mouse wasn't captured by the game so I kept accidentally clicking on my 2nd desktop and minimizing the game.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Realy fun. Played it on a touchscreen, which might be even more fun than with a mouse. Might have to check out the source to learn a few things :)

Polyganz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Hilarious execution and a lot of fun to play. Well done!

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Excellent game, wonderful graphics, really well polished and the controls work fantastically. You've done a really good job with this one!

Filecreation says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Looks and feels great!

NeanderG says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Those controls man. Enjoyed the game tho. ChingChung :)

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:43am

Man, this is a great entry... but so hard. >__<

(I think that) I understood how the tentacles work... they try to move toward the cursor in a straight line... But this knowledge is pretty much useless when you are being pressured by a lot of enemies. XD

On my first play through, I got the 'extend' power up first, which helped me quite a lot...

Great game and great graphics! I only found the song a little repetitive...

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:30am

LOVE the art style. Looks really good and the movement on the ship and waves was great. Agree with above comments on controls/aiming, but this is a great little game. I'd polish it up some more and see about tightening up the controls.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:33am

Also - best game title ever. :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:30am

I really like this game but believe it would be allot more fun to play on a touchscreen device :) as said by someone else. very polished and it works with the theme. Good job!

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Haha! This is a really great game! I love how the music evolves from level to level. I really liked the upgrades and the whole feel of the game! Very well done!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Really great submission! Really creative!

CADmiy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Great pixel art game!

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Just awesome. Excellent art, music, theme, and what not. A perfect, complete game for LD33 Compo.

Realize2D says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:42pm

I really liked it. It has a good variety of gameplay.

guoboism says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:48am

Overall 5/5! Great job! Can't believe how simple idea can be made into such fun game! This should be taken into textbook! PICKED BY GB!

el-pepi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:54am

Very original and solid game! In my opinion it got too hard a litte too fast. Also, I wish you captured the cursor, I keep clicking outside the game.

CrownCity says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Cute as always! Great extra with the upgrades. I just wished that the goggles looked more fresh on the Squid :)

Patacorow says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Love the graphics and the upgrade mechanic was awesome.
Good job :)

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:53pm

A well-implemented big tentacles.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Very polished! Great fun and I love how everything bounces! I found myself attacking with the rhythm of the tune :D

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Wow, those animations are super-fluid. Good game, although a hard one.

derr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Audio-visually this is perfect! The controls make this game very hard. I enjoyed it a lot and will keep playing this!

FireTwin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:23am

I liked the mood of this game, everything lumbering along like a ship on the open sea. However, the gameplay was just a little too slow and I never felt like I had enough control over the tentacles, but at the same time I appreciate that it needs to not be too easy either. I think the upgrade system is really well done. Great job.

Sanguine says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Really polished as always! The graphics are really lovely! The game could be a bit faster though

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Hm. My mouse disappears when I play this game, which makes it pretty difficult.

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:45pm

This game was a lot more doable with the googles :)

But I'm now currently being hit by the last ship left, sitting on almost no health but not able to die :P

Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:22pm

- great art style, feels really fun to look at, really nice water effects
- good re-use of stuff for different levels
- it was cool hearing the music change as level progressed
- i kept clicking off the window even though it was full screen, that made it difficult to play
- i could not figure out how to kill the blimps, but I didn't want to start from the beginning again after i died.
- an option to continue would be nice
- more precise control would help, i often couldn't predict how I was going to swing. after reading comments it seems like maybe the mouse cursor was supposed to be visible, but for me it wasn't

Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Psst - You are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sL_22puDtCQ

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]