Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Should Have Worn Socks Today

by Pierrec - Compo Entry

A dress up monster doll with a really silly name and a twist. I think it's cute.

Unzip the package and run Should Have Worn Socks Today.exe
If it doesn't work, run Winsetup.exe and try different things, like windowed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#91Mood3.69
#110Theme3.98
#234Graphics3.55
#255Audio3.17
#288Overall3.35
#315Humor3.05
#515Innovation2.92
#579Fun2.85

Comments

Marcellus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Another game full of meaning. Well done. Is there a secret ending of some kind ? I only found one so far...

Yakka says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Very sad and beautiful at the same time.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:44am

@Marcellus : nope, sorry, there is only one ending this time

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:50am

Really sweet!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:52am

Dress-up game touching on issues of body image? The short and sweet little concept games like this are few and far between and I enjoyed it.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:54am

Well done. Totally dug the attitude reversal at the end.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:02pm

story wise this is very very cool. Really enjoyed it till the end. Good work!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:24pm

It's a dress-up game, so I'm not sure I can judge this in the same way I could judge a platformer or a puzzle game or something like that. I mean, there's a huge range of outfits and accessories which let you dress up our monster friend in a million ways, which is the point, I think.

The twist at the end is interesting-- I sort of saw it coming after playing "One of Them," so it wasn't nearly as effective. But it's still a very cool reversal when taken in the context of the theme.

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Haha that was so cool and meaningful, right into the theme with a nice message! AND funny! Perfect :D

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Short but I enjoyed it! Music was fitting the melancholy of it all and it was nice seeing the dress-up-doll genre augmented with a little more meaning and exposing the superficiality of both players and avatars. Very retro (I know, I say that a lot, but I mean it in a good way) :) Also very original and well executed graphics!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:12pm

OK, I can't call this "fun". But I give gladly a 5 stars for the mood of the game.

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Sweet :) and in a way really meaningful. Congrats!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:50pm

One of my favorite entries! Spent a shameful amount of time after the first play just trying out new outfits...

Could use a built-in Print-screen button! Instant game of the year material if you did it with twitter/FB sharing

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:49pm

This was funny. Like the art. Cool entry.

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Nice pixels ! The hat made me laugh :p
Really cool !

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:54am

Interesting, but I think more words (like a sentence each time you choose an other clothing) would make a stronger link with the character...

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Meaningful, thank you for this.

MrTwister says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Beautiful game. I wasn't expecting the twist at the end.
A bit sad, but as others have said; meaningful.
Loved the music and graphics.

Impeccable work, really. Congrats.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:09am

Nice game.
:)

01101101 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Good idea (as usual) and well executed. Very cute and interesting game!

BNeutral says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:47am

Nice twist

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Nice job ! Short but very effective. The ending twist is great, makes me wondering who am I...

Arche-san says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Simple but very cool.
Good job :)

LeafThief says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:29pm

It IS cute **u**
Very good job on the music this time! Really impressive.
It might be short but it's sweet and to have her comment on herself throughout the game was just a perfect little touch!

General says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:34pm

At first I thought it would be just another dress-up, but I really liked the story in in and the mood!

My video review: http://youtu.be/S-puJwH9Sq0
Your game is at 7:16

LeoM says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Nice mood for this one.
A bit short. I try a few times and I always have the same ending, is their some alternatives ones ? Could be nice.

Brightstar says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:59pm

This is great.

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Wow, the mirror is a real creeper :P. An interesting way to take the customization portion of the game, and turning it into a narrative. I do like the surprise ending. Very cool.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]