Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Robo-Pilot: Monster Smash

by Space_man - Jam Entry

Congratulations! You have been selected to be the pilot of a brand new
robotic monster. This one of a kind vehicle will get you wherever you
need to go in style.* Speaking of which, there's something waiting for
you if you make it 1000m across the city.

*Note: You are responsible for all damage cause while operating the
Robo-Monster.


There are two possible goals: Try and reach the end of the level with as little damage caused as possible, or cause the most damage you can in the time limit.


Controls:
A Monster Robot is difficult to control, and may take some experimentation.
Here are the basics.

WASD - Legs
IJKL - Arms
Spacebar - Activate rocket boots
Left Shift,Ctrl - Tail
QE - Head
UO - Claws

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#189Humor(Jam)3.50
#301Fun(Jam)3.38
#400Overall(Jam)3.36
#520Innovation(Jam)3.00
#582Audio(Jam)2.59
#584Theme(Jam)3.38
#701Graphics(Jam)3.00
#806Mood(Jam)2.73
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

AngryRebel says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:03am

Wow! Really cool reminded me of that marathon running game where you have similar controls, except this one has a lot more features. Nice job!

P.T.A says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:45am

Nice game! Really fun to play! :D

radmars says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:18am

Hhaahaahhah! Is that monster wearing rollerskates?! How appropriate! This QWOP just got punched up a notch with QWOP turning into QWERTYUIOP. So many controls and they all make me end up on my head. It was fun with a marathon runner and it sure as heck is even more fun as a giant monster squishing small humans. Of course hearing them **toot** when they go splat makes it all that more motivating to get over that first tower! Nice job, fun stuff :) As a monster though, I feel as a whole this could use more Flame Breath! Do you agree?

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:50am

great! nice game!

MAnimal says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:31am

I like the graphics. It takes time to know controlls.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:33am

QWhat

Sparrow says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:16pm

So frustrating! Good job! Had a blast. :)

Lafolie says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Very nice adaptation of the QWOP 'genre', however the addition of so many controllable elements makes it so much more difficult to play. That said, I love the inclusion of rocket boosters on the feet (it would have looked great with some particle effects!). Fun!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Definitely the funniest game I played in the last ~month, so hands down, you did an awesome job. Keep up the good work, I want to see more like this!

Creative Sectors: Kardfogú

jsmars says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Nicely done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]