Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Orange Squares...Beware!

by Benn - Compo Entry

Orange Squares...Beware! The white orb is out to get you!

Control the white orb to take out the orange squares by using the mouse to launch the ball.

At the end it displays your time....my personal record is 68.615, I would like to see someone beat it! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#23Innovation4.10
#59Fun3.85
#117Overall3.70
#225Audio3.23
#538Mood2.91
#647Graphics2.73
#757Humor1.90
#951Theme1.36
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

sorceress says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:20am

perfect game! 5/5

ottohak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:28am

Nice game.

My Score is 715.925. o.o

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:13am

As always very innovative. The jump-pull mechanic gave it a real sense of action!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:10am

This was allot of fun and was very unique. nice work!
theme though?

Norgg says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:54pm

652.658

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Very good game... not sure how it fits in with the theme, though!

anissen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Really awesome mechanic! I also like the game aesthetics and audio side. The game is *devilishly* hard though! :P

DuzDuz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:43pm

I love the concept!

orukinawa says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:04am

Simple concept but really challenging gameplay!

Tselmek says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Really innovative mechanics and the game is chalenging as hell, great job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:33pm

A game full of fresh game mechanics and wonderful music. One of the best I have played this far, although the theme felt a bit forced. I didn't feel very monstrous while playing this game.

Cawrtz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:48pm

This game is truly excellent. Really. It is simple to handle (best I've seen so far), catchy, has cool music and is not overloaded with useless graphics.
However, the respect of the theme is a big no-no for me. The "bad orb" and "nice cubes" does not make the game fit the imposed theme, at all. Just my opinion though.
But overall, the near-perfect gameplay would make it a hit on the Play Store or the Apple Store I'm sure.

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:28pm

super fun....doesn't fit the theme though

allinlabs says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:46pm

I've enjoyed your games since The Last Survivor. You always come up with new and originals mechanics, and exploits them fully. On a less personal level, man, that game is pretty hard and is really not that much related to the theme...

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:31am

A game which reminds me UltraFlow (and it's a compliment). I like this minimalist aesthetic and the gameplay. Sometimes really hard. Where is the monster? Thank you ++

Benn says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:50am

Hey guys, thanks for the awesome comments ^__^

You guys are right about the lack of theme, I just couldn't find a way to fit it in that didn't take something away from the game.

To me Ludum Dare is about encouraging people to make games. The theme is purely supposed to help people come up with new ideas / inspiration.

If the theme isn't doing that, or is actually preventing people from making games due to disliking the theme, I heartily encourage all of you to drop the theme and make whatever you want as long as you make a game. That's why we are all here, to make games.

I will probably never win a Ludum Dare as a result but I do make games that I am proud of and to me that is more important ^__^

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Great concept but difficulty is sometimes too hard.
But the game is good and I finished it ; my score is 543.702.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Pretty awesome little action-puzzler! The mechanics are creative, and the graphics and sound match to form a rather striking whole.

Personally, I'd prefer a game which ignores the theme to one that tries to force the theme in in a really hamfisted way. If you don't want to use the theme, you could disable the theme catagory for judging, just to make it clear that it's not a game about a metaphorical monster or something. ; )

paracatgames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:17am

Cool game! The concept has legs, for sure. Difficulty spiked too hard for me, though. If you expand it, make some easier levels at the beginning to hook people in!

Draknek says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:19pm

It's very frustrating that on the first bounce, I have to fire the ball before it comes back to the starting location. Might be valid gameplay reasons for this, but it feels like the game is interrupting me mid-action - I've got the mouse held down and I'm aiming and then bam you have to restart because you waited just a little too long.

01010111 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:04pm

One of the most innovative games this LD I think! I wasn't able to complete it - I seem to be stuck on the level after that 3 story one :< love the graphics, really love the bgm :D doesn't fit the theme at all, but still a great game!

01010111 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Nevermind - I tried a few more times - 1084.463 :)

KeyboardCat says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Great game, I love the "minimalist" style.

Good work !

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

namrog84 says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:18am

I liked that! quite fun and clever and clean!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:25am

I liked the concept of stopping in middair and change trajectory.
definitely something cool and looking forward this method :)

well done for your game

dcolgan says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Very innovative and thought out design. I like the new idea, it just does not flow all that well. It is pretty clunky but the soundtrack fits and effects are nice. The minimalism is cool, but all the clicking and holding I find not to make very good gameplay. I think I see what you were doing with the theme, but not much there.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]