Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Micromancer

by radmars - Jam Entry

Micromancer!
You are a grim tormented necromancer king! Raise the dead, kill all the humans. Fight on, right on.

Controls: WSAD or arrow keys to move player. E or M to raise minions from the dead. Q or L to recall minions.
Use left click & drag to select minions. Use right click to move them around. Destroy all the living to proceed through the gateway.

Team RADMARS:
Spacemars,
Adhesion,
emarcotte,
Brendo,
Tokken,
steakzzz

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Fun(Jam)4.30
#8Overall(Jam)4.34
#15Audio(Jam)4.32
#24Theme(Jam)4.28
#29Graphics(Jam)4.60
#54Mood(Jam)4.05
#62Innovation(Jam)3.87
#263Humor(Jam)3.31

Comments

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:07pm

I really enjoyed this game. Like the grim (very cute!) and gameplay it's very adictive. Make different types of minions it's a great feature. Congrats!

mr.possoms says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:10pm

This is awesome. Great job guys!

jordinuco says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Good game, great mechanics and controls, it could be a big one with some weeks of level design. Go for it!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:24pm

The best game so far!

Spyboy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:30pm

That was so cool. I mean the sound is great, graphism are great, the gameplay is quite simple to take in hands and so addictive, the level are pretty cool (this is just weird that you must suicide yourself when you can't have zombies and the fact that soldiers aren't aggro by the shots of my zombies) my favorite by far!

Unept says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Hey, love the graphics and the take on the theme. I can't get past level 2, am I missing something? One of my favorites so far!

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Good mechanics, nice pixel-art... Really enjoyable over-all! :-D

JackDegree says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Awesome! One of the best games I've player yet!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Nice concept! Maybe you should speed up player movement to make it funnier

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Dude, so fun and so original - plays great and that moment when you realize you can reanimate the people your dead kill? PRICELESS. Super fun.

Sparrow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Awesome and well polished! Had a bit of lag when I had a lot of minions.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:23pm

So. Freaking. Awesome. I look for your games since I played your LD30 entry. We didn't use melonJS this time, but we should have.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:53am

GREAT! One of the best entry of this LD33!
I love the graphic, really enjoy the gameplay(smooth, simple and a bit challenging!) and the audio is perfect!
10/10 Great Work!

schnerble says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:10am

Nice work! Graphics, sound, controls, and style are all very nicely done. It was mostly pretty easy, though - except if I happened to look away when there was a magic-shooty-guy nearby and he insta-killed me.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:26am

So without a doubt my favourite entry yet, this is awesome love the art and the while thing was so addictive. Nice one!

RobotMeal says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:26am

Wow, great game! Love the art direction and audio. Fun to play. Has some resemblance to deepnight's "Cortex" entry for the compo. My favorite jam entry so far. Hope I see this high up in the Jam rankings!

phaze0 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:38am

Can they really be monsters if they are so adorable? Lovely game!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:52am

Fun!
I feel the mouse+keyboard controls were unnecessary, I played almost all the game with the keyboard only. With a bit better pathfinding, mouse wouldn't be necessary at all!

SkullPixel says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:20am

This is what I was going for. Now just if I had tried to keep it simpler.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:55am

Beautiful graphics, good use of the theme and great audio work. The game leaves you feeling both crafty and powerful - working out the best way to crush the opponents is extremely entertaining. The only thing that bothered me was that the web version began to slow down very heavily for armies above 30 skeletons. I had a great time playing this, well done! :D

grywhttl says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:08am

This is fantastic. Kept me playing the longest out of all the games I've played so far. Great job!

EwChap says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:08am

Love the game. Feels very solid for only 72 hours. Great artwork/music/sound. Fun mechanics, cant really find anything to complain about at all.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:26am

This game is very well implemented, hope there're more mechanisms.

CreamyBacon1 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:56am

It's like a more interactive plague inc! I love it!

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:22am

This is a stunning entry. Really engaging mechanics and a gorgeous aesthetic and sound. Well done guys!

Matzigon says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:27am

Nice game! Pathfinding could be better, minions tend to stack up instead of attacking. But still enjoyable and fun!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Wow that was really fun! Rise my minions! RIZE!
MuuuhahahaahahahaMUUHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAHAAAAHHAAAA!

Miltage says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Top notch. I had a lot of fun playing this one. Ran into a bug where one of the humans was unreachable, thus preventing me from completing the level: http://i.imgur.com/rCaeFoM.png

derr says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Definitely one of the best games I have played. Very well implemented. The game is challenging but never unfair.

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Really awesome entry! Theme intrpretated at 100%!
Game mechanics also awesome! It's looking too easy at first levels, but furthers game becomes more and more difficult! But last level seems easier than previous too where I spend 10-20 tries.. Excellent job, man! My favourite game on this LD!

kles4enko says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:51am

My favorite entry. Good job!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Psssst- You are on today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vKciP1W-aKk

placatedduck says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Awesome entry! Didn't end up need to do much micro, as recall OP. Good work! =P

Drauthius says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Quite a nice game! Very nice graphics and indicators. The only problem was that the raised dead got stuck the whole time. It was fairly challenging at times, but a bit repetitive.

kerotan24 says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Really awesome game!

scorched says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Love graphics and music and atmosphere overall, but a bit hardcore for me for permadeath. Also criers ran to the edge, and I had to push skeletons like boxes on them:-P

Dejvo says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:33pm

WOW! really amazing! really fun and well made! pretty unique mechanics. well done!

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:58pm

The idea was fantastic! Not much necromancy seen in LD entries. The art and music were outstanding and I especially loved the strategy of limiting the minions at the start introduced. It's all about what order you kill people in. I loved it!

Stending says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Amazing, like everytime =)

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Awesome game, loved the art and the audio, and loved the game-play, it was a bit repetitive after a while but what ludum dare game isn't.

Grouflon says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 8:21am

One of my favorite game in this ludum dare. It's a great idea and the gameplay is simple and effective.

JoshDBB says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Amazing, I really enjoyed that. The most fun game I have played so far this LD. The controls felt a bit fiddly.

Gammel says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Great game! The graphics, sound and gameplay were good.

What i didn't like:
- Pathfinding (Improving it might be a problem considering the low fps i got on the last levels)
- Lack of story.
- Last levels are as hard as the first ones (:P)
- Lacks strategy.
- Units getting stuck in the map corners.

Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Graphics and music were great!

bombjack says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 11:08am

amazing gameplay. I had so much fun. great game :)

REIN1 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:37am

Very good game and graphics. Cool ideas! Pretty cool! One of the best games in this festival!

yuigoto says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:50am

Nice! The game is well made and it totally felt like a 16-bit console game, because of both graphics and sound.

Good work on the pixel art here, on tilesets, characters, objects and all other sprites, it's all nicely made. Soundtrack and SFX wise, it's also really good, the music fits perfectly into the game, and that Altered Beast line. :P

Controls are simple to use and also fitting for the gameplay, +1 for the ability to recall your minions. Also, nice to think about the shotgun dude as having a somehow limited respawn. :P

LastLeaf says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Nice game. Fun. Love the mechanics. Well done!
The only thing I could complain about is - this HTML5 game does not work on my firefox (mouse does not work).

cudabear says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Wow, this is by far the best game I've played for the jam! I can't spot almost no flaw here, everything looks great, feels great, and sounds great. It's incredibly fun to cause so much destruction, and my only complaint is perhaps the level design is a bit too easy.

xvw says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Awesome polished game !

personalurban says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Rare that a ludum dare approaches genuine playing depth, but I didnt realise you could click-move your little dudes for a while which added a new dynamic. nice. and looks great too.

ReddogStone says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Wow, one of the best games I have played in LD33. Very well polished, strategic, challenging and simply fun!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Great fun, only 4 hours left so I think I'll end on a high note and let this be the last game I rated :)

Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:45pm

One of my favorites so far.

MikeEnoch says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Awesome, a very complete little game, really enjoyed it!

Sep 19, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Crying naked men. 10/10

Oct 19, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Lovely graphics, cool game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/sWM7EbBXpJg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]