Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

HOST

by Noah Ratcliff - Compo Entry

BEGIN NEW MESSAGE
===================
Welcome back, operator 20c109.
Please be aware, your employment is currently under review due to inability to meet scheduled objectives, as well as excessive physical and emotional damage to hosts.
Today's host objective is GO TO WORK.
Falure to meet this goal with all hosts will likely result in termination.
-------------------
END NEW MESSAGE

Protip: Replay and try to get all the endings.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2355Coolness0%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:03am

Fantastic concept and execution.

DaleP says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:21am

Turns out the coworker has some interesting... preferences regarding drugs and gore.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:43am

@DaleP: Carried the drugs all the way to the office... You're my kind of guy.

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:40pm

This is hilarious. Great game :D

hrd_games says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Very interesting concept, long live the text-adventure! Drugs make for an interesting interface.

Aske says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Can't stop taking drugs.. Too tempting :D

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Love the effect the drugs have on the text. Interesting concept overall, i'd like to see it expanded to multiple days/tasks.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Kept replaying this loads of times so I could try and get all the possible endings. The one where you get arrested was pretty hilarious.

Blobo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Freaking brilliant. it took me a while, but I made it to work. I havent played that many text based adventures so i kept getting arrested for public nudity.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Cool graphics. No sound :( (Could be terminal key tapping, beeps, sounds for using stuff, anything) Great writing! Overall really great. Just needs more stuff.. and sounds would be cool.

Minor nitpick: Using the human and then inspecting the street will still keep the human in the list, but the human is no longer present. And actually, there's more like that..

Great humor though!

Also:

The human appears to be heavily injured from repeated blows, as evidenced by the fact that it is either unconcious or dead.
And that your host is now covered in its blood.
>use human
Your host approaches the human and attempts to make conversation.
...
Your host successfully makes meaningless conversation with the human.
Your host feels good about its social skills.

..Well, alright then.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]