Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Blob

by RadioLemon - Compo Entry

Play as a pink blob and eat everything!

=========================================================

-Use the arrow keys or WASD to move the camera: the map is bigger than you think!
-Clicking on an organ causes them to function, clicking on the upgrade token causes you to put points towards upgrading it.
-Clicking on the lung causes you to grow all growing parts of you
-Click on growing parts of you directly to make you grow faster
-Click on damaged parts of you to repair yourself
-Click on the pancreas to digest food faster
-Clicking on the stomach and brain doesn't do anything

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#280Theme3.68
#296Innovation3.27
#460Humor2.70
#572Overall3.00
#575Audio2.42
#588Fun2.83
#698Mood2.61
#793Graphics2.39

Comments

Freebios says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:40am

A bit hard to play first time. I felt loose with the organ management

namrog84 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:43am

a little hard to play at first time thru, pretty neat though

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:56am

Very cool retro intro actually, it set the tone of what was to come. Only the trumpet-melody in the beginning sounded a bit like menacing farts ;) Gameplay itself was a bit frantic and frustrating, probably because I didn't really understand it, so many seemingly complex systems at play, yet that's refreshingly different!

Still a solid entry, proto-RTS, enjoyed it.

Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:02am

I like the intro
Nice game :D

Halleflux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:04am

It's difficult to multitask between upgrading organs (as that requires click spamming) and growing (as that requires click spamming).
However, overall, it's a solid game. I like the idea and the execution. It just needs a little more polish. Great job!

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:09am

The graphics need work but the theme was right on.

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:09am

It was sorta hard to play and didn't understand it complete. Cool intro!

andyman404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:20am

I loved it, down to the hand-drawn art, bleegy deep music, and organs. There is a certain charm and happy rawness to it.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Very fun to play and not bad graphics :D

Josho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:20pm

fun but a bit confusing

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Game works fine. Music is a bit loud at default. I like how the story is told. btw, I found a bug, or at least a graphical glitch: you can grow into a city tile diagonally, which looks awkward.

Yamzho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:55pm

I like the idea. May be less spam clicking and more polish. But overall, it's not bad at all ! Well done !

uvwar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Hello fellow blob-city-game dev. I couldn't really figure out how to efficiently grow without getting destroyed, can you not move over tanks or something? Fun music and graphics!

Jod says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:15pm

I _loved_ this. The intro is pure genius. Even in paint, it conveys all the beautiful B-movie drama of a big pink blob taking over the world.

I found the gameplay a bit hectic, jumping between organs and the main screen and those tanks! But I had fun playing.

pixzleone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:31pm

I liked the artstyle, and the idea was fun! Good job dude!

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:31am

uvwar

You can grow onto tanks, which destroys them.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:47am

Neat-o game! I was a bit confused about which organ did what and the map being larger than the viewport wasn't immediately obvious, but otherwise it was fun to play! Good job!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:47am

Surprisingly deep mechanics, even if slightly confusing at the start.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Really neat game, though it does start a bit confusing! I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ml0OKpi-I0Y

jordinuco says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Very hard for me! But the idea is great and with a couple of weeks of work the game could grow and grow :D

logiclogue says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Nice game :)

Lynx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:42am

Wow that is one super awesome revolutionary take on the RTS genre!!! Glad to see a unique idea like that!
(btw you do have a sound glitch on losing on OSX...keeps looping and won't exit without a hard quit)

Slothmachine says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:29am

Blob taking over the city. Nice idea.

Afenda says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:01am

Fun intro i like it

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]