Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Jailbreak

by voxel - Compo Entry

The three less famous siblings of a certain dino-duo have had enough of being imprisoned by squishie scientists in MONSTER JAIL and are staging a breakout

Navigate PLATFORMS, FALLING PLATFORMS, WALLS and CAMERA BUGS GALORE as you lead your monster out of MONSTER JAIL.

Frustrating fun for up to three players. Be sure to configure your controls before clicking Play

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#111Audio3.54
#207Graphics3.63
#223Mood3.36
#229Fun3.38
#282Humor3.14
#383Overall3.21
#513Theme3.33
#602Innovation2.78
#1537Coolness42%

Comments

Chunck26 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:10am

Man there are sure some camera bugs! I like the idea though.
The music is great and the kid in the background XD

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04am

This has the best audio I've heard so far. I'm not sure if the baby noises were intentional but they totally work.

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:22pm

The camera bugs are insane, but the game itself is very fun. The graphics are basic, but cute, and the music is catchy. The game isn't really innovative, but definitely fun to play.

I didn't really like the controls and the way all characters move like they're on ice, I found it frustrating, but overall I don't think it was a bad decision.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:23pm

The eyes! The camera! The respawning! Oh my! I had fun.

Shinmera says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:24pm

The music is alright, but gets rather repetitive quickly. The sound effects are... voiced, I'm guessing? It sounds rather weird and jarring in combination with the music. It would probably have been better to try to make SFX in the same style.

The graphics are fine. It could use some more animations to make it more interesting.

Game wise it is a simple platformer, nothing new there. Sadly the controls are very heavily inertia based. While this works OK with the gigantic platforms, it would still feel a lot better if they were tighter and allowed more precise control of the character.

There's a couple of oddities in the game that could be qualified as bugs. The camera is not always on point, the jump isn't always registered, and the ending screen's grammar could be improved.

Overall, a nice entry, but it could be expanded in a variety of ways to make it more interesting. For example, adding in further types of platforms with different properties, or simple key/jail mechanics that would force the player to actually use the other characters, rather than having them as a sort of gimmick.

Zammalad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Reminds me of that Spin Dizzy game where you had to guide a ball round a maze. Like it! Quite addictive and has potential for further development

Tijn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Awesome! I've played it all the way through to the end :)

I can imagine the glitchy & chaotic nature of this game is even more fun with more people. I'll give it another go with some friends later.

ratking says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:51am

Awesome sounds! Best I heard so far!

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Pretty cool idea. I loved that its orthographic, and the characters are pixelated, and the platforms are physical cubes WITH pixelated textures. Very nice.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Amazing. Just amazing. My winning strategy is to fall in the lava because jump didn't work, and then respawn at the finish line. ;)

freaknarf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Haha those old dino's inspired me too... Funny game, the crippled camera gameplay works fine... i bugexploited some levels jumping backward at the start of it, to respawn at the end :)
I could feel it's a true lived story. +1 for weird sfx

GBGames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:45pm

I loved the way various elements are introduced through each level, and I liked how the entire level is falling to give a timer without using a visible clock.

I found it confusing when I fell off the platform. Sometimes I would quickly lose health and eventually die, but sometimes it took forever to lose health, costing me time.

I also found a way to cheat: if I go in the opposite direction I should go from the start of a level, when the camera finally pans back, for some reason it centers over the goal, which means once I die, I respawn right on top.

The music was fun, and the sound effects were cute.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:17pm

That's a good idea to create a real multiplayer game. Your concept is fun.
Dino remind me puzzle bobble :)

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:43am

The camera bugs were my favorite part! :D There might have been some neat squishing people and falling blocks and stuff, too. I don't quite remember.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]