Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Ugly Turtle

by HacksawUnit - Compo Entry

You are the monster in this platform game. Strategically pop out of a pipes to squash passing plumbers and bounce to your safety.

Click, tap, or hit the spacebar to play: use your computer, phone or tablet!

Something special happens when you get 100 points. Are you turtle enough to try at it?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Graphics4.10
#96Audio3.57
#104Humor3.62
#299Theme3.66
#309Mood3.22
#309Overall3.32
#334Fun3.21
#416Innovation3.07
#1796Coolness35%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:18am

Quite good fun, but gets a bit repetitive as it's easy to hit the plumber once you get the hang of it. Nice graphics & sound!

Gigaraptor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:20am

Its repetitive, but its quite fun at the same time

YellowLime says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:43am

Nice pixel art! The game itself is ok, but the music didn't play for me.

dollarone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:53am

Excellent theme implementation. I feel bad for all the Koopa's I've killed over the years now!

Awesome graphics, really like it.

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:29am

It's sorta like Flappy Bird: it repeats over and over and over but you just want to get to the next high score.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:03am

I'm afraid it would take too long to get to 100, especially with the score resetting. I am not turtle enough. :P

Nice art! Looks like something that would be on the Game Boy Advance.

mortus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:01pm

That's hilarious! Gotta get that 100 score though.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Fun and additive. Pixel art is good.
Overall this game is quite good

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:43pm

nice graphics... i couldnt exactly understand how the controls worked, but otherwise it looks nice.

pta2002 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Super hard, super fun, and a bit repetitive. I can't get past 3 :I

richardjs says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:08am

Another Mario-inspired entry where you play a turtle! We clearly had the best idea.

I thought you nailed the art and music style. It was very humorously satisfying to pull off a successful hit.

I appreciated how he changed up the jump occasionally, so it wasn't simply a game about hitting the timing perfectly without anything else going on. The challenge to get to 100 points, while simple, adds some replay value for the completionists, and was a smart idea.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:03am

Ha! Very cute idea, I liked it. :) Plumbers psyching me out though... Frustrating! :P

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:04am

I enjoy the "play as bad guy" style coming out of this LD. The mario-like graphics look pretty well done.

LukeZaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:15am

Looks good and plays well, but its rather frustrating to lose your score so easily and the waiting between each try is too long.

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Nice game. Fits the theme. Looking from the eye of little monster. Waiting for a mario to come.
Graphics and sound nicely done!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Great graphics, simple, fun, challenging game! I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ml0OKpi-I0Y

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:00pm

I enjoyed squashing plumbers. Great job!

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:08pm

After a while, little boring. But this one have a big potential to be mobile hit!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Overall a lovely little game, very fun, I could see people sinking in a lot of time to get high scores. The pixel work is fantastic too, very good!

SojaBird says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Haha fun little game well worked out.
Cool take on the theme

Ellian says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Damn, hitting ugly mario is SO satisfying!
I love the attention to details, like the turtle that goes walking quietly when it lands... awesome.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Games using the already established popularity of well-known characters always start with a huge bonus. Most of the time, there is nothing beyond that bonus. It's nice, but strip away the mario and it's really short-lived.

Ulydev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Really fun !

sararyCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Simple but effective game. Beautiful graphics!

superfreak says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Cheeky bugger. Really enjoyed the idea, great work :)

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:20am

This reminds me a lot of the game "Spike Trap: A Love Story" though a bit simpler due to the time constraint. I love how this game is oozing with style, and it was fun but did get repetitive pretty quickly. I am however pleased to see your entry supports pretty much any platform available.

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:52am

Very well polished and difficult

uvwar says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:13am

Frustrating but 'fun'!

el-pepi says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:26am

Very funny and original! The pixel art is great and I really like the music.

Chris M says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Great sound and charming art

StaNov says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Just great. Good looking, great graphics, great music. And revenge for Mario. Muhehehe :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Great idea. The art and sound were done well. Really liked the idle animation for "not-mario". Got boring once I got the mechanic down, though.

Realize2D says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Great concept!

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Really addicting and fun! I'm going to be spending way too many hours trying to get a score of 100.

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:10am

The art and the music are both very good! 100 points might be too much with all this waiting though. :P Aside from that, good job with this! More variations would make this even better in case you decide to expand on it. :D

Slothmachine says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:24am

Hehe. Really funny graphics. Nice twist to the mario games.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Nice!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Really awesome. After a while though, once you get the reaction skill necessary, it starts to feel pretty slow.
I only got up to 9 though :( I wanted to see if more cool things happen later, but.. it takes so long, even if it's not too difficult. Like, you start counting minutes instead of your score.

I don't have a good suggestion though for how to tweak it without ruining the gameplay already in place.

Anyway. Amazing graphics! Really great. Pretty good sound and music too. Simple idea that really works, besides the point above, which I nevertheless consider fairly minor.

FireTwin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Cool idea, this would be great on smart devices with touch screens. I enjoyed it, it's just a little slow for my liking. Needs speeding up to be a great, quick game to play on the bus. Good job.

mubox says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:39pm

It's fun. :]

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:53pm

There's a turtle... she's ugly... everything's in the name :)
I really like the mario under influence ;p very punitive and fun gameplay.

Saf says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:46am

Cute and entertaining entry! Loved the soundtrack. Would work great on a touchscreen device

Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Lot's of fun but I couldn't tell when I died. Overall a very cool game well done, I would love a version for my phone.

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Pretty cool. Got up to score 10. The game can be quite stressful as you start to score higher.

I feel like the presentation, while beautiful in its own way, doesn't quite fit the gameplay. The hold'em up minigames are usually presented in a super-tense way, so I kind of wanted a more tense experience. I do, though, like that the Mario aesthetic gives an excuse to add extra curve-balls into the mix, such as a fake-off.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]