Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

I Am the Baby <3

by euske - Compo Entry

Objectives:
You are a geeky newborn that is to dominate the world. Destroy all the objects before your parents are back.

Control:
The Space key to bump into objects. The faster you bump, the more damage.
You can tame machines by rubbing them. Tamed machines can attack other enemies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#66Humor3.76
#78Innovation3.76
#99Overall3.76
#118Audio3.53
#153Fun3.54
#170Graphics3.76
#235Mood3.33
#539Theme3.29

Comments

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:46am

I only got as far as the seemingly-invincible plant pot, and I couldn't figure out how to rub things, but I had fun regardless. Cute setting, and I really love the graphics.

YellowLime says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:52am

Scared the **** out of me when I figured out how to start the game. Fitting music, although it doesn't loop perfectly (nitpick). Great length and complexity for a Ludum Dare game.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:59am

I didn't realize you had to press space to start the game since clicking didn't work. Even the main menu is a puzzle. :P

I liked the ranged charging mechanic. I found out you can even charge diagonally!

It took me a while to figure out how to tame machines, and I think I've figured out how to use them, by pressing space to pick a target? Several machines don't seem to have a use though.

The microwave is especially brutal with the apparently random pattern. :P

I finished the the final level and the missiles.

Sadale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03am

Why on the earth they got a missile launcher at home? xD

namrog84 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:00am

wahhh! im a baby and i destroy things! :D

TerinHD says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:55am

Tried the legion of vacuums... didn't work... had to go a more traditional route.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Cool game! All hail our new baby overlords :D

dusho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:54pm

nap time :D
great and funny idea

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:20am

This is awesome, Euske. The art is simple but charming and the music gets stuck in your head in a good way. The plot and gameplay are really unique and funny. I love the story of a tech-loving newborn wrecking his/her home and also trying to take over the world, it's great. On a side note, I completed the last level with one second left on the clock! phew

I felt kind of bad when I realized I had to destroy my vacuum-friend the first time, haha!

dollarone says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:02am

Hehe good idea. Humping furniture until they explode ;)

But yeah, that little monster. Took me a while to realise the power of running. Cool but really hard!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:44am

Funny premise for a monster. Nice art. Thought some of the objects were too hard to destroy. Good job!

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:06am

Simple and fun.

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Haha, reminds me not to get children. Ever. Cool idea and interpretation of the theme and really cute art style!

ratking says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Awesome pixel art, well done! Will play it again!

SvenFrankson says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:36am

Nice one !

KR-Eddie says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Great game!
Hacking enemies to do your bidding is always fun.
The time limit in the later levels makes it really challenging!
My only complains are that it's a bit hard to figure out how to play at first and that the sound gets a little annoying after a little while.

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Good concept and graphics. take some stars! Good job!

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:51am

Cute house destruction simulator ;)
Nice job!

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:58am

At first I wasn't sure how to start the game, so I just started hitting everything on my keyboard. Boom, spacebar. Anyway, I found the visual and audio elements of the game working well together. Regarding a human baby as a little monster was a funny notion. Plus, he breaks anything and everything in the house. Nice take on the theme! Fun game!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:22am

I cannot get past level two :) fun to play

cardboard says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:02am

Very polished! I like how each machine is different and has it's own quirks. Took me a bit to figure out how taming and targeting works, but once I did the game made a lot of sense. The length and level variation is very nice. It isn't too short or long, and gets more interesting each level. The ranged machines are pretty annoying, but since there are health pickups it's possible to survive being hit a few times.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Couldn't figure out how to make machines attack other enemies?
And on the second level I kept dying near the thing with electrical bolts. Oh well =/

Really nice graphics though, and the music is catchy. Just really silly overall, in a good way though.

euske says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:17pm

You can press toward a moving machine (without attacking it) and it will be tamed. You can use those machines to attack other machines without getting damage, and that's what you're supposed to do in Level 2 (where the microwave is deadly).

Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Audio got annoying after a while. The difference between walls and floors could have been a bit more pronounced. It was fun to bump into things as a baby.

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:31pm

poor baby ... the gameplay is innovative and original.

cyrixd says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:22am

Fantastic game, one of the best I've played. Controls were just a touch iffy, and I got trapped a number of times by overly-friendly vacuum cleaners, but it was really quite fun once the difficulty was raised in the later levels. Excellent job.

Saf says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:56am

Lovely game! The rubbing mechanic works great, that was a surprise. The soundtrack was awesome. Kids definitely scare me more than monsters :D great entry all the way

hdong says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:44am

That was a nice twist on these kinds of games; the charge mechanic was great and really changed the usual run-into-everything-to-win formula.
Had a lot of fun playing it nice work!

valid4life says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:44am

Loved the taming mechanic and the whole thing was pretty polished and funny!
Great game!

jrhee says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Great game- love the bright colors and cheery music. Took a bit to get a hang of things in level 2!

Chris M says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:00am

Bizarre and engaging in equal measure!
Also incredibly irresponsible parents.

reiknight says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Curious, I liked the graphics a lot

Darkflint says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:57am

Couldnt figure out how to tame machines, only how to destroy them. Except the...lighting thing in second level, which destroyed me all the time -.- But fun and cool game!

euske says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:26am

Thank you to those who played and rated the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]