Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Delivery!

by the31 - Compo Entry

"Delivery!" is a game about a delivery. It's to your friends at Dark Cat Industries, so you should know the way. Get going!

-------------------------------------------------------------

My first idea didn't work out, so I made a second game in the last ~9 hours of the compo. I've been wanting to try implementing car physics for a while, so I did!

Made with Unity3d and Wings3d.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#114Fun3.64
#321Humor3.04
#607Overall2.97
#623Innovation2.75
#712Graphics2.57
#895Theme2.26

Comments

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:57am

i dont see where this goes with the theme.

jtpup0 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:11am

Driving was shaky but very fun, I see no theme relativity

the31 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:37am

Hmm, sorry to hear that the theme connection isn't making sense. It's always disappointing to hear that. It might not be a "clever" use of the theme, but I think the ending dialogue and cutscene makes it pretty explicit.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:39am

Love car games

mickanio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:41am

Car physics feel good!

Pilly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:45am

The physics were super frustrating - but in a hilarious way. Loved the cat as well.

Marjie62 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:47am

Was having a blast, until I got stuck in a ditch :( It was a little bit after that first ramp jump, car somehow got stuck in a little dip in a corner such that wheels can't touch the ground.

It was fun to control, a little on the high-sensitivity side, but that made it more silly.

bowlercaptain says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:51am

First run: Swung into parallel park like a some variety of boss, was unable to escape my new three-walled prison. Second run: Hit a hill sideways and swung around the half-bowl like it was Sonic Adventure. Accomplished my goal in my third shot at the facility after remembering that the handbrake was a thing, but otherwise found my best moments hitting terrain corners at full speed and landing straight up through luck of non-figurative dice roll. This is pretty much the best possible 9-hour game: major emphasis on emergent fun through controls, exactly the right tone and level of story to convey that you definitely cared in spite of lack of time. 10/10 would careen sideways again.

TimBeaudet says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Love the jump, and the bouncing tipping indestructible van, good thing, I rolled often. Really enjoyed the hand-brake to somersault move.

lykanthrope says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:43am

Cute physics, please tell me that the driver is a squirrel because the whole van felt squirrely to drive.

I go right up to the end... and then my van was stuck on the catwalk because the van is the right shape that coming off that ledge is enough distance for the chassis to get stuck and tires off the ground.

Haha, but it was fun! I enjoyed how over the top the vehicle drove.

mahalis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:47am

Ha, cute. Glad I played through to the end of it—monstrous indeed. Cats, man… can’t trust ‘em.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:10am

I wish to had your car controller in my game. I spent half day trying to make my own vehicle to move across complex lanscape, but failed and was forced to use standard fps controller. I will check your source code to learn how you did it.

faemir says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Great work for just 9 hours work - the driving physics is lots of fun and many barrel rolls were had.

(The theme link is fine!)

GBGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:02pm

I had a lot of fun driving this thing around! It took me some time to get used to the controls, which meant I didn't collect the package for some time, but it was fun hitting ramps and testing the suspension.

The only thing missing was audio so I could do this: http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=673_1425223597

DinoD123 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:24pm

I loved this game! I wish I had participated to I could vote for yours...

At one point I hit a surface and I went flying across the map, but it was at the end part so I stayed in bounds.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Haha, didn't see that ending coming!

Good job for 9 hours!

Controls felt satisfying and cool, but the car was sooo easy to tumble over, the tuning of it felt more appropriate for a crashderby style game than something where you carefully have to drive over platforms. Thank god for the 'reset' feature that would put me back on the ground again, otherwise it would've felt unplayable.

Well done!

cardboard says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:10am

The graphics looks very nice (bg, van, city), except for maybe the text boxes. Some sound would've been nice, but the rest of what you have, for 9 hours of work, is pretty impressive. I tried my best to drive responsibly initially, but after delivered the bioweapon I drove around very recklessly for a while. The jumps and car physics are wonderful to play around with; great job with the mechanics.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:45pm

5/5 would bounce around in my bouncy vehicle again

Actually, pretty devoid of content, which is understandable given the time spent. Bouncing around in that van is pretty fun though.

Those loose physics would suck in anything like a racing game or some game where you can take damage or fail somehow, but in this game it's pretty fun.

Too bad there's no sound (engine, brake, falling/hitting stuff), would've made it more awesome. Had a real hard time making the platform drop to the second depot :(

Anyway, I like it!

LevieDAudio says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Really fun and cute game! I loved the physics and I'm really happy with the 'automated car recovery' system if the car gets tipped over. Well done!

dollarone says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Love this game. The driving is challenging, which suits the van, and the theme idea is awesome. I want to be able to create a game like this in 9 hours. wow!

alhvi says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:46am

This was very funny. I laughed the first time I tried to jump off the ramp XD and finished like an upside down turtle lots of times (thank you for the reset) The path was kind of difficult to find but it was fun overall. Good job for 9 hours and thank you for playing our game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]