Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Sticky-me

by Fonserbc - Jam Entry

Use W and S to move blues

Use I and K to move reds (Up arrow and Down arrow works as well)

R to restart the current level

SPACEBAR or Left Mouse Click to skip intros

## PROTIPS ##
Surfaces that don't move are more sticky that the ones that move.
You cannot stick to ice.
You can stick to walls.
Let gravity help you.
## PROTIPS ##

----

Even though this is not COMPO we still did all the assets, code and music by ourselves on within the 72 hours.

----


When we though of the theme, we thought of a disgusting, sticky monster coming out from a water pipe..
Which eventually turned out to be a cute sticky fellow stuck in the water-pipe.

Game physics as puzzle mechanic is always tricky, and specially in a 72 hour window, but it turned out quite ok!

Let us now what you think!


A game by:
Moss of the Time

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#24Innovation(Jam)4.14
#400Overall(Jam)3.36
#437Audio(Jam)3.00
#464Fun(Jam)3.14
#511Humor(Jam)2.81
#637Graphics(Jam)3.14
#655Mood(Jam)2.95
#917Theme(Jam)2.82
#1842Coolness33%

Comments

Birke says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:12am

It's a good concept but he often got stuck (jeah that's a pun) when he shouldn't and it prevented me from progressing beyond level 2.

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:46am

@Birke yeah, definitely the feeling we are looking for.

About the stuck on level 2, I updated the last screenshot to show what you should look for!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:11pm

nice physics, but i got stuck sometimes..

solarexplorer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Had a lot of difficulty with the controls, sticky-guy movement felt very unpredictable but the concept is very interesting.

Aglavra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:32pm

I liked the concept, but the controls are not so good... (I personally would be more comfortable with AS for one stick and JK for another). I was stuck on level 2 too.

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Oh well, I added some protips on the description, the game is supposed to be hard, but is not unbeatable!

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:43pm

@Fonserbc, the protips helped a bunch. I didn't really realize some blocks were ice and that they were less sticky than normal blocks. I was stuck, but after I knew, it was pretty doable. The physics are a bit iffy.

I enjoyed it though! And I really like the concept. If you ever want to extend it, be sure to look at how Gish did their blob/sticky physics. I think it's quite fitting!

NAL says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:19am

Had a lot of fun here - a fabulous and unique (as far as I've seen) idea, well-implemented and working well in-browser. Great stuff.

MFEP says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:36am

Interesting concept, great graphics and music, fun to play, congrats!:)

Headmade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Hurrah for stickyness! I like the concept and it's well executed, though very short.
My main complaint would be the controls though. I'm not sure what the optimal controls would be but I'm sure it could be improved. Maybe dragging the controllable elements with the mouse would work well.

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:31pm

The idea is really cool and innovative.
The game himself need more polish and better controls (w/s is really weird for me, why don't use a/d ?)

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:55am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:45am

Really liked the puzzle idea and the sticky mechanic worked quite well :) was a fun game to figure out.

dregamr says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:59am

Jajaja. I love it!!
Funny, good music and nice physics. Good work!!

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Very frustrating - often got stuck. Great idea and needs more work.

Oct 18, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Cute game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/VOSoNttI06o

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]