Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Storm the Castle pt2

by vanZeben - Compo Entry

You like fire? Me too...

Let's see how many heads you can set ablaze with that torch!

Finish a level by burning some idiots, advance once you've burned enough of them to the ground!

----
Wasn't really into the theme, had competed in "You are the villain" back in ld25 for my first LD (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=16535), so it was funny to see the progress from then until now and I gave it a bit of homage... Spent the majority of the time playing around with the atmosphere of the game since I didnt want to go with the themes everyone was bound to use.

WASD/Arrow keys to move, space to smack a bitch with your torch!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#44Graphics4.21
#204Audio3.29
#235Mood3.33
#360Humor2.95
#472Overall3.12
#584Fun2.84
#686Theme3.00
#812Innovation2.33

Comments

EstrelSteel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:18am

It was fun watching you stream and make this game.

vlamaster says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:38pm

I liked your game, controls where a bit hard to get used to, but it was ok. Nice game!

Sina says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:39pm

I was really confused what was hitting me(was it the head of the people I sat on fire setting me back in fire?) it looked really good though.

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:42pm

nice weather effects...

FlashMonkey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:42pm

I like the sprites and all animation's but the gamplay is a bit too simple.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:46pm

This is messed-up in a good, let's go hardcore on the theme kind of way. Great graphics too, really! And weirdly fun?

tMalicet says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:01pm

I really like the graphics and mood. For me the idea is right onto the theme.
However, it's a bit hard to not get hurt and the white flash quickly becomes an eyesore.

humbleness says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:10pm

The graphics are really great, better then anything I could do :P

I like this a lot

pavel_insight says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:13pm

I like this pixel art. :)

euske says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Somehow igniting people around made me smile.

mde says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:48pm

I like your simplistic game mechanics, as well as your artstyle, altough sometimes the weather effects got too much. All in all very nice game.

TheMorfeus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Cool game. And thanks for raiding my stream! :D

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:25pm

The graphics and the special effects were awesome. I like the scoreboard aswell! :)

ArchBang says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Looks great and it's well polished but the gameplay isn't fun. Also my screen flickers white now and then, not sure if this is an intentional lightning effect but it was quite disorientating. Wonderful look and feel though.

EstrelSteel says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:58am

Nice

rnlf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:58am

Fun idea and cool graphics and sounds! The game got a bit laggy after a whilel (Firefox 39).

Made it only to wave 5 after several tries :-(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]