Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Something deep

by General - Compo Entry

I am awake. I am at the bottom of the sea. I want to eat. When I eat I grow. Hmm, what a tasty little creatures are up there!

Extract your tentacles to catch prey. If you eat more, you'll be able to grow more tentacles.

Some types of prey (scuba divers, subs) will require several tentacles to get caught.

Known BUGs:
- If you can unlock new tentacle (You see many "+" signs on the buttons), press one of the +'s, not any other button. Otherwise you'll just loose food without any outcome.

THANK YOU very much for your comments! They are really inspiring!
At the end of each day I'll make video reviews of new commentors' games (like this: http://youtu.be/6Al6aF0oETA )

I agree with the gamedesing flaw about unability to manually retract the tentacle. I definitely will develop the game further and will think how to balanse this feature better. Perhaps I'll allow retracting the tentacle after some time, or cutting it, and the spend extra time curing it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#100Innovation3.69
#155Overall3.62
#160Theme3.88
#185Mood3.46
#204Fun3.42
#205Humor3.30
#217Audio3.25
#220Graphics3.59

Comments

donaldm says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:19am

This was a great game. I really liked the game mechanics and the execution. The only issue was if you get your tentacle stuck on something requiring more than one and you effectively can't use it. I wish there was a way to "release" the tentacle but I did not find one.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:20am

Very nice game! Love the clean simple graphics. Great work! :)

misterwalter says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:35am

I really like it! The tentacle mechanic was weird and fun. I haven't done that before, which is always a plus.
Two complaints though: As Donald said, being able to release tentacles early would have been nice, and also I'd like to be able to play with all my limbs, the game cutting off and telling me I won was actually a bit frustrating.
Great job though!

MaesK says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Nice sounds and tentacles animations. There were green humans, which is weird but this is a big world and I don't care :P

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Yum love those high creatures !!

quill18 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:09pm

I haven't seen a gameplay mechanic quite like this before. Catching the subs was an interesting challenge!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Fun game and cool idea! As another comment said, definitely need a way to release stuff or it takes forever for your tentacle to come back.

cicanci says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Amazing game! You should release this game for mobile devices!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:00am

Cool game, I really like the tentacles. They just jiggled so naturally. :)

Rulrite says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:20am

Wow, that's a very innovative concept! I really like the idea of controlling each tentacle individually; it really makes you feel like you're a huge and lumbering monster. Especially when you take down submarines.

Five stars in a lot of categories!

Jelinib says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:24am

I wanted to play with all the tentacles and try for a red submarine that was just coming onto the screen, but the game suddenly ended when I got the last tentacle. Darnit!

Super fun though, and the little comments that give hints about the gameplay were also entertaining to read, as well as useful. Solid controls, delicious sounds, smooth graphics. Very well done!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:11am

Yusss, I unleashed the terror of all my tentacles upon the world!

The yay:
- stylish
- interesting gameplay mechanics
- audio
- tentaclethoughts

The nay:
- no way to release tentacles (but you know about that already)
- gameplay felt a little slow

Pretty solid entry overall!

Mikhail says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:35am

Great game overall! Really liked the use of the theme. I found a bug thought. I wasn't able to mute the music. Id click on the button but it wouldnt mute it. Great job!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:43pm

A tentacle management game! Great use of the theme!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:01am

The tentacle mechanic was interesting and pretty fun. However, after a while it basically becomes impossible to aim the tentacles because there's so much stuff overlapping. It quickly got frustrating at that point -- it would attach to the wrong thing that you couldn't see instead of helping the existing tentacle drag down the sub or diver.

I think if the screen space were larger, there were fewer objects, or if you could release a tentacle, it would probably be less of an issue.

SKT says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:57pm

I love your game ! Graphics and audio are so cool, the music is relaxing (even if I'm eating some humans ^^).
I don't know if developing the ability to retract tentacle when you catch something/someone is a good idea, I think the game would be too easy. But it seems I'm the only one who like it this way ^^.
Very good job !

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:32am

Great mechanic. I wanted to play more after I got the last tentacle. Had fun with this. :D

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Hey, this got me in for a longer time than I thought in the beginning! Which is cool. I've grown all of my tentacles, and now I will rule the ocean, yeah. :)
I liked the main mechanic, and how it expands into needing more than one tentacle - very good. The "level design" made a shot for the tasty surface swimmers an extra-difficult task, which also was cool. Also: the hidden humor in the main melody which makes it all so relaxed and soothing while really I'm devouring people, but from my ULTRAKRACKEN perspective that's a very relaxed nice day. :) Well done, Alexey.

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:54am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:56pm

very original and fun game play. simple but effective graphics.
Small bug: The tentacle is not released when holding a 2 tentacle diver that leaves the screen.

Nek says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Absolutely loved the graphics,also very good sound.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Quite a bit of strategy over which tentacle to unlock first but I absolutely loved the mechanics and the way the game progresses as you play along was very smooth.

sydream says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Great title, funny and nice mechanics. Enjoyed it

jwin says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Interesting idea, clean graphics, and pretty fun. The only downside is this it can take a while for a submarine/diver to get in range of another tentacle. It might be nice to release an attached tentacle, even if it had some penalty.

Vaguely related / random thought: the graphics remind me a lot of Nom Nom Galaxy. You might want to check out that art style if you're interested in ideas for adding to your existing style.

conrad123 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Great game! Instructions are needed but i eventually figured it out.

RoboNebula says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Interesting concept! The art style is really nice and unique!

BlackQuiltro says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Cool game! I found it really fun. Nice game mechanic. I would speed it up a little to make it even more interesting. Liked the graphics and animations. Sound effects and music were ok.
Great job!

foxboard says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Interesting concept and gameplay mechanics. The game is really slow, though it makes the mechanics more unusual. The sounds and graphics would need some work, but the overall achievement is remarkable for a compo entry.

Togimaro says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Very good gameplay idea! Maybe too slow but overall it's a great game! Good works!

(PS: I got screwed by the bug with a wrong click and I finished the game with only 7 tentacles ^^')

Obvious_San says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:14pm

What an awesome idea :) Well designed "Tentacle Game" ; )
Great gfx and pacing. I think the Soundtrack could be a bit more "evil" and not that friendly but that is my only critic :)

valid4life says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:17am

The concept of basic 'leveling' was well done! I couldn't help but laugh when i ate what i thought was a human! Good concept and good execution! Well done!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:38am

Interesting Mechanic! It;s relaxing but stressful at the same time. I agree with being able to retract your tentacles but there should be a penalty.

kidando says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:52am

Simple graphics that but work very well. I like your color palette. Considered creating mobile native for this? Tapping would be cool. Congrats on the submission

Erkberg says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:44am

A pretty nice idea and well executed. Controlling those different tentacles was quite fun. As you already wrote, a mechanic to retract the tentacles would be nice, I ended up with most of my tentacles stuck to divers (due to my inability to time them correctly) and had to wait quite some time until they were available again.
The visuals are nice to look at and the music fitting. Overall, I enjoyed this game quite a bit, good job!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:53am

Good game, really liked the mechanics and graphics. quite easy so would be cool to add some more gameplay elements, solid entry! :)

Zeriver says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Pretty interesting game, you really have to plan ahead to catch sub marine with three tentacles. I also liked the mood, although you are the monster (who is grabbing and devouring other creature), game has kinda "chill out" feel to it, maybe partially because of music. BTW i think it could be a great mobile game.

Justo Delgado says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Cool game, 10/10 has tentacles. The gameplay feels slow though.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:47am

One of the very few original gameplay concepts I have seen in this compo. Good job!

cynicalmonkey says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:20pm

don't know if it was the intention but quite a relaxing game to play

randoman says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:32pm

That's a very nice entry. Despite the game being a little too slow, I enjoyed playing it.

Pierrec says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 8:40am

I like it, very relaxing

jcourt says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:02pm

I really liked the tentacle idea. I know its already been said but it would be nice to be able to release a tentacle that is attached to something early, and I really wanted to play with all of the tentacles and have a boss or something that required all of them to kill.

Yamzho says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Very nice minimalistic graphics, a music that suits the game ambiance, the concept is easy to understand. Very good entry ! Well done !

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Very cool game, love the easiness and the mood. Nice entry!

squirrelbot says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 6:33pm

One of the most polished games I played this LD! Loved the simple graphics and the music. It's an amazing feeling when you get multiple tentacles to grab onto a sub at the same time.

Aaranos says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:42pm

A bit slow to start but definitely fun. Managed to become the monster it is meant to be. The ending was a bit anticlimactic though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]