Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Horrifying Human Hunter

by Moist - Jam Entry

Become a terrifying creature of the night. Terrorize the forest by eating innocent bypassers alive. Use darkness to your adeventage. Avoid retaliation - some of the folks are armed!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#54Fun(Jam)3.93
#165Overall(Jam)3.69
#186Theme(Jam)3.88
#191Mood(Jam)3.59
#323Graphics(Jam)3.80
#384Innovation(Jam)3.19
#622Humor(Jam)2.63

Comments

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:50am

Would like to play it on my Mac :P
The graphics are great!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:09am

Nom nom nom, very fun little game!

grywhttl says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:21am

I 2nd that Mac build request!

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:24am

Crazy challenging. The jump effect is pretty cool

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:25am

This was a great action arcade entry! I loved how tight the controls felt, and really enjoyed that I felt... stealthy. Like a real monster of the night, but with a big fat smile on my face! :D Had the makings of a great moody entry, but alas, no music.

DrYitMat says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:27am

Really like it! Awesome Arcade-Style game, I love it! :)

Good job m8

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:43am

Nice, fun little game! Feels good to run around and jump at people

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:57am

We loved your game and featured it in our top five favorites here: http://blog.synsugarstudio.com/my-top-5-favorite-games-of-ld33-so-far/

mortus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:29am

Lots of fun! Maybe if it could be a little bit slower if would be even more fun, I liked the hiding and attacking from the cover part the most.

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Love the art!

kmiitz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Great gameplay and graphics! Wish you had time to develop a story and some levels. Keep up the good work!

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Hello, when I try to play I get this error:
FATAL ERROR in Vertex Shader compilation
ShaderName: sh_Night

D3DXCompile failed - result

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:36pm

The graphics are relatively simple, yet stunning. That light aspect was well done. I loved the way attacking works, it was all really smooth!
I would have liked even more if there were a few more aspects, like ways to regain health – or were there? If so, that wasn't quite clear to me.
To sum it up: Awesome little game!

HThomson says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:36pm

The strategy element was very good and left plenty of scope for different tactics and approaches. Hiding in the shadows and picking off soldiers from the back of packs was a satisfying experience and that along with the cute pixel art graphics lead to a very pleasant gameplay experience. Very well done :)

Oddly enough in terms of layout and objectives it's actually pretty similar to my game :)

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:33pm

This is GOOD. Neat concept and realisation. You nailed the "being a monster" thing by providing a real monster experience: hiding in the shadows, luring poor humans, taking advantage of your strenght and speed, and devour them without pitty :D

You managed to polish the gameplay so it looks like a finished game and it works: very easy to handle, yet interesting. It's hard to achieve that kind of efficiency in a Ludum. Just loved it. Best entry so far.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Forgot to mention a couples of points:
- The mood is great and the humans have a neat pixel art design but I'm not convinced by the monster design. A bit above the quality of the game in my opinion.
- Such a pity there is no music!
- Congrats on that little QTE which require pressing space when close enough to an human. It sounds simple, but I realise this is actually what makes gameplay interesting ^^

neuroaktivo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:44pm

really good game

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:15am

Fun game, loved sneaking around. :D

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Love the way the game feel. Very smooth and responsive! Great colors as well.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Solid game!

Controls and basic mechanics of moving around, pouncing the enemies and stealth felt great!

Music would've added a lot, otherwise mood was pretty nice as well! Really felt like a monster sneaking through the night and eating the innocent bypassers.

I really missed having some kind of dodge move to avoid the projectiles of the enemies. Also, I found in order to not get damaged it would be best to split up the larger groups and then take out the enemies one by one but the size of the playing field was a bit too small for this to work out as they would always be able to flee. Maybe this was intentional but I felt it would've been more fun if the game let me do it!

Overall I think the biggest thing that holds the game back is that there isn't much feeling of me being able to play skilfully or master the game more as i play, I would just sneak up on enemies from behind and spam space. I think it's almost there though, would just think about adding some more abilities or ways the player can influence the result (e.g. dodge move if you happen to be spotted and want to avoid a projectile, or a way to take out multiple enemies in one hit if you sneak up on them in just the right way or something like that).

Well done!

Aglavra says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Simple, but very fun to play, and I liked the graphics. Very solid game.

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Sooo cool!! Love the concept to hide and jump on your enemy. Particle effects and camera shake help for the cool mood. First 5* for fun.

astrophics says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:17am

This was really fun.. I ended up playing it longer than I thought..

jcsirron says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:43am

This is quite fun. I enjoy how simple the controls are and how short the memory is of each human ;).

Miziziziz says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Great entry!
good visuals and animation.
I feel like this could have benefited from some kind of goal (kill X humans and then fight boss or something), but otherwise, the basic gameplay mechanics are solid and could be expanded into something great

HolyBlackCat says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Great game!

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:27am

Very well done, one of the best of the jam so far. Fun, simple and engaging gameplay. Incredible job.

Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Cool graphics, fun game! I included it in part 29 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/s8htp2RZS7I

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]