Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Howl

by pereubu - Jam Entry

Another exploration/hunting game, this time, with snow.

WASD/ZQSD - move
Shift - run
click - shoot
arrows up & down - mouse sensivity

if you want to see more work, follow me at @FlexRoman

PS : sorry for the shaky camera glitch you may encounter. I didn't have the time to fix it

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#36Mood(Jam)4.17
#161Audio(Jam)3.60
#256Graphics(Jam)3.94
#466Overall(Jam)3.28
#726Fun(Jam)2.79
#886Innovation(Jam)2.50
#940Humor(Jam)1.68
#953Theme(Jam)2.71

Comments

Yrr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:07am

Really nice looking game, feels pretty solid.
Only real complaint is that its difficult to aim.

LeoM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:21am

Great game,
I'm glad you take 24 more hours to make this well.

Sure, a little smoothing on the camera moment could be nice but not necessary, we are fast take by the ambiance of the game.

Just a bit disappointed by the end, our hunted "monster" was deserving a real mesh for a final turnaround.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:23am

Very nice!
The transitions are seamless and the ambiance is very immersive.

Good work!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:24am

Brilliant mood, nice graphics.

Meat Us says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:32am

Nice mood, I was disappointed on a first time in this white empty place, but then I found a rabbit and then the big black monster. Very immersive game, but need more feedback to know where to go I think. Good work !

Eingya says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:21am

Great exercise in style! Love the moody atmosphere.

Shooting an arrow while a rabbit runs away, then hearing it get hit in the fog, and then running forward to find it dead, is quite cool and haunting!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:24am

Wonderful atmospheric. Loved it... Didn't get that you really just have those few arrows at first and just shot them somewhere in the beginning and had to search for them to get them back. Was fun! :D

Dejvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:26am

i got into the game for good five minutes and there seems to be nothing in it. where's the stuff to hunt or something interesting to explore?

lambomang says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:26am

Really nice atmosphere. Wish there was more to do in it though.

TheMiggo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:31am

Nice style and good athmospheric

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:38am

The simple graphics are really nice. Liked the movement and weapon but did have issues knowing where I was aiming.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Ah, I remember seeing this one on Twitter mid-development.

It has a really nice atmosphere and I enjoyed wandering around, even though it felt a bit directionless (both in terms of movement orientation and the hunting motivation).

Over the course of playing I found and killed two rabbits. They yielded nothing but bloodstains... and so I decided I wouldn't kill any more rabbits. After walking around a little more and noticing the repetition in scenery I decided to quit because I felt like I had mostly seen what the game had to offer. (I noticed someone else mentioned some sort of monster so I re-visited the game and did see, shoot, and apparently kill that).

I found the mouse movement to be overly sensitive, toning that down and smoothing it would have helped the experience a lot for me. The hunting itself was also a tad bland as an activity. It boiled down to me running (or walking) around like a madman until I saw something run away from me... then it's just a matter of following it until I figured out how close you can get to it's detection radius before it runs. Then shoot to kill.

Not that it needs to be "gamified" more or anything. It's just that the AI reactions and the skill required to use the bow was fairly straightforward and lacked depth.

I did like the weather effect transitions though. Especially when the wind goes calm after an intense session of rabbit murder.

- Dylan

Yakka says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:34pm

I felt a bit lost, didn't know what to do, started hunting rabbits, got lost, found arrows, got lost, started hunting the beast, finally killed it after a long track. This is a great game, I loved it.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Great mood, I liked the final beast and its mysterious purring ! Too bad that the camera was so rigid it spoiled a bit the immersion

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:20am

Very atmospheric, at first I was a bit puzzled as I wondered around but things started to pick up and like a warrior I was hunting the beast. It was very good indeed.

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Very atmospheric game. The sounds, snow, misty vision, all of it adds up for a terrifying experience. Not sure if there was supposed to be anything to be afraid of? I was expecting to get killed by a giant wolf or something. Was the player the monster hunting bunnies? Don't know. Pretty cool game either way.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:12am

Great game! I found the bear or bears? You really have to look out for your prey in this game xD I found the bears just by seeing something in an glimpse of an eye on the horizon without really thinking it was actually something.

Thank you for making this game!

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Cool :)

CtrlAltTea says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:16am

Beautifully minimalistic, great, tense mood and sound design. It maybe just me, but it was a little empty tough. Overall, great job!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Amazingly atmospheric.. I love this intimate feeling of loneliness.. lost in the blizzard, wind howls around me.. is it only wind?.. shall I follow the white rabbit or not? .. suddenly I spotted tracks in the snow.. too large for the rabbit... larger even than human footsteps...
human vs nature.

I love that minimalistic art style also. Great idea with using limited color palette. The only thing which feels a little bit off are those circular snow flakes :) (everything else is sharp, reminding me of paper cut-outs)

Thank you for this submission! :)

BluShine says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:38pm

I love the regular switches between snowstorm and calm. The ambient sound was great, too. I walked around and shot a few creatures. I also found some interesting looking rocks. Apparently I didn't find the monster. But I enjoyed just exploring the world.

3CGames says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Excellent game, the mood was fantastic with the oppressive gale. The simple graphical style was pulled off well.

OmarShehata says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:54pm

I was just about to get bored, feeling lost, until I saw something far off in the distance, oh look, a bunny! I chase it, but I can't catch up, I decide to shoot an arrow, and I get it!

I think you really did a good job setting up an atmosphere, and even though it felt slow at first, I think that makes actually catching prey that much more rewarding.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Nice entry! I really like the atmosphere of the game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]