Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Lurker of the Night: Shamzalla

by VividReality - Jam Entry

ATTENTION: JAM VERSION ONLY SUPPORTS A RESOLUTION OF 1920*1080
For a post-jam version with fullscreen fix, please visit the web link.

Greetings your spookiness. Where are we, you ask? You are in the room of a little girl, and you have to scare her! Why? Well, because YOU ARE THE MONSTER!

But beware, the girl has a flashlight! Don't let her find you! It will reveal your true identity! Try to find some good places to hide before you scare her.

Your skills are at the bottom of the screen. Click them, or use their respective number key. But most of all ... be VERY spooky!

F11 to toggle fullscreen
Escape to go to menu or to exit game

Linux users please install LÖVE (0.9.2)

The Good:
- Loads of content
- Fully voiced
- Adaptive music
- Fully animated character
- Pathfinding
- Lighting engine
- 10+ unique interactive icons with voiced description
- All assest are custom made during the jam except for fonts


The Bad:
- We wanted to do more with the item system. The system is there, there are just no items, but we ran out of time.
- We wanted more interactive objects, but we ran out of time.
- Too little content. ;)

Known Bugs:
- Resolution lower than 1920 * 1080 isn't supported. Fixed in post-jam version.
- Clicking on items can be stupid. When you click on an item you would expect it to work, but if you click on a place where you aren't allowed to come, the pathfinder can't compute the way there, so your character won't go there. If you stumble upon this bug, please try to click somewhere else within the items radius.

ATTENTION: JAM VERSION ONLY SUPPORTS A RESOLUTION OF 1920*1080
For a post-jam version with fullscreen fix, please visit the web link.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#45Audio(Jam)4.05
#135Humor(Jam)3.64
#152Theme(Jam)3.95
#172Mood(Jam)3.63
#255Overall(Jam)3.54
#271Graphics(Jam)3.90
#275Innovation(Jam)3.34
#388Fun(Jam)3.24

Comments

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:32am

Liked the sounds. Pretty funny :) GJ

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:42am

Really good! Loved the graphics.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:57am

Super charming game! I can't believe the whole thing is voice acted, too.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:26am

Fun game, nice art style and good gameplay. Great work!

valid4life says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:30am

Awesome graphics!
Enjoyed the music and voice acting!

Aumni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:34am

Really awesome game overall!! I really liked the art and having to retry multiple times to find better strategies. The voices are super cool too. Nice work! :)

duskpn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:44am

Voice acting in a LD game is something I had never seen. Pretty challenging too, I like it! One thing though: it's a little hard to click on the radio, the skills menu kept opening.

VividReality says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:52am

Thanks everyone for rating our game, we really appreciate the comments.

@duskpn: That is an issue on computer screens with a lower resolution than 1920 * 1280, which is an issue we had no idea of until an hour after submission. That's why we provided a post-compo version on our website with a resolution fix.

VividReality says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:55am

I meant 1920 * 1080, of course.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:06am

A really impressive and fun game! Great graphics and audio!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:40am

Love the concept. A little fidgety getting objects to operate. Really professional-looking, though - what did you use for the animations?

VividReality says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:42am

@Ryusi for the animations we used Spriter Pro.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:07am

Nice

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:13am

The effort put into the game is commendable. Very polished, clear interface, and lots of elements that add to the game such as voice acting. The visuals are really clear and well-done, making full use of the resolution provided. This is a very good game given the time constraints.

The voice acting for the cute/passive-aggressive monster isn't my thing but is probably really appealing for a wide audience. Gameplay is a little clunkier on a laptop as it relies so much on switching between powers which is awkward using a touchpad and number keys. Minor interface issues include the cursor blocking the description of a power at the bottom of the screen.

cyrixd says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:41am

Very pretty game, with good humor and great audio design! I liked the point-and-click style of it, too. I struggled a bit with knowing what was interactable and how, but eventually I scared the beejesus out of her. Nice entry!

Jani Nykänen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:56am

I liked the graphics! But that monsters sounded a bit too cute to be scary, heh.

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:07am

Great use of graphics and sound. Very well presented.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:22am

Hello, The game is pure love. It's very cute, nice graphics and has a mix of gameplay very interesting. Good job ;-)

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:27am

Great idea, reminds me of Haunting polterguy, was kinda hard to realise what to do after you yell though, scare meter decrease really fast, anyway - awesome work, love the audio and voice.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:12am

OMG HAHAH
I'm gonna call you mister cuddles <3
Nice game, great narrating voice and clean graphic!
Well done!

NAL says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:12am

Polished to the nines, with good voice work and a lovely graphical style. Great entry (once I worked out how to bring the actions up)!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:12am

OMG HAHAH
I'm gonna call you mister cuddles <3
Nice game, great narrating voice and clean graphic!
Well done!

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:17am

Graphics are awesome. I *love* Love games like this. No pun intended.

congusbongus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:34am

Outstanding, I love how polished the graphics and audio are.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:00am

Great entry! LOVERS UNITE! The voices are super cute, as is the art. Gameplay is solid too. Great job!

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:10am

Wow, one of prettiest game here! And gameplayy was pretty catyh too! Good job!

S0lll0s says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Very funny and complete game, great job!

bakpakin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Wow! This is really awesome! I love the voice acting and the art.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Voices are awesome! Good work :)

JakeL168 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:40pm

A little buggy but it's overally fun, and scary too. Your audio work was pretty good.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:57pm

The amount of features and polish in this game is through the roof! Fits the theme perfectly and has amazing art. Easily one of the best LD entries I have played.

I Löve it :)

Zccc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Ahah very cut audio and graphics :) It was a bit hard scaring the girl but I did it!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Very good presentation, especially within the time frame. Will have to add this to my "Play Again" folder ;)

cgmorton says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:03pm

I never really figured out how to use the different powers, the one that turns you red in particular - I mean, she still thinks you're cute if you're spotted while monstrous.

Neat game though. You might say I... 'love'd it?

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Very nice game!! The voices were pretty adorable!
I made a small video with gameplay footage of it, I couldn't really figure out how to properly play it though.
Check it out here if you feel like it!!
http://youtu.be/qMmQv-tM_RE

VividReality says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Thanks for all the lovely comments :)
@SophieExMachina, thanks for taking the time to make a video! We really appreciate it!

kmiitz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Nice game! Liked your efforts for coming with an original concept. Also the graphics and the general atmosphere are really well done. Only the gameplay (control of the monster) could be a little bit improved.
Cheers!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Very nice game. Good job!

Lafolie says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:13pm

The mechanics are a bit finicky, but everything else is great. Very high quality audio/visuals for an LD entry though the perspective makes it a little tough to determine where might be a good place to hide.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]