Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Separated

by rxi - Compo Entry

.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood4.70
Audio4.47
#4Theme4.44
#13Graphics4.56
#51Overall3.89
#302Innovation3.26
#729Humor2.06
#749Fun2.59
#1796Coolness35%

Comments

EwChap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:31am

Wonderful mood. Love the music and the feeling of being a monster where everyone runs from you. Wasn't able to figure out if there was anything else to do but still beautiful.

Knatt says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:41am

I really like the momentum behind the character when moving, and the music and lighting work well to create a stellar mood.

Not much to do however, just explore the map. The sound the monster makes is a bit grating after a wile, so I stopped interacting with things

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:43am

Gorgeous lighting effects and incredibly chilling music. Really drives home the feeling of loneliness and otherness, being surrounded by people yet unable to reach out to anyone. I see anything to do other than drift around the town. Did I miss something or is this more experience than "game"?

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:48am

The pixel arts is the highlight of the game, which is fitting for an exploration game. I thought the dirty / blurry effect at the end did not match the art style though. The mood is really good too.

Just to be sure I did not miss anything, is there some hidden puzzle to resolve ? The game somehow reminded me of Fez, probably because of the cryptic symbols in the village.

Ethan Allwood says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:54am

Love it!

GanonsSpirit says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:05am

Pleasant to look at and listen to, but there isn't much to do. Does the action button do anything?

mklee says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:09am

Gorgeous, a narrative walker in top-down form done very well. The music deserves special attention for completely selling the mood and story.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:22am

I loved the atmosphere :D and I don't know whether you were intending on it but I felt quite lost.

Modoc73 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:35am

Awesome mood, and art. Amazing what can be done with little colour. And yet save a lot of time! Music was good too! After a while the repeat was a bit annoying. Would have liked something else to do other than scare villagers. But the theme wasn't extremely easy. Well done!

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:30am

Geez, really great job. You kind of nailed it on all fronts.

mactinite says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:50am

Reminds me Journey in a Link To The Past World. I like the effect of the Monster trying to communicate. Good work@

Orni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:16am

best art I've seen so far
great entry overall too

loved every second of it

Cryptix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:37am

I absolutely love the graphics, and music!

sorceress says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:24am

nice graphics and sound, but there is no gameplay as far as i can tell.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:53am

It's beautiful but sooo sad to play... I JUST WANT PEOPLE TO LOVE ME T~T

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:27am

I love the graphic style and the gameplay is so smooth i love it :).

NebulaOrbit says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:59am

Incredible! I'm touched! But it wasnt really a game, or was it? More like an experience/work of art.

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Could you maybe link the music for this game?

rnlf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:28pm

So sad! Took me a few moments to figure out what was going on and then it was like "Awwwwww maaaaan".

You cannot do that do me after a sleepless night, I almost started weeping.

demogorgon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:01pm

The lack of any explanation as to what I'm supposed to be doing really made me thing about what I was seeing. Very well done.

Jared Sartin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:26pm

When are you making these web-capable? Emscripten! Love the game

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:37pm

A button to try to speak that only makes random noises.
To wake into existence and discover that you are different and doomed to be alone.
In the end looking for an exit, some escape, something new, but there is nothing.
Then I close the game. The exit is closing the game.

Wonderful job!!

pighead10 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Not a game, but as usual, the graphics, audio, and mood you create is astounding.

GFM says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Nooooo! The poor creature just wanted to befriend the villagers... why couldn't they understand that? >__<

Amazing game and amazing mood!

Tijn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:18pm

This game is a-ma-zing. You have such a sense of style, rxi. It's great that you're able to set the mood with just sound & visuals, without having to rely on text.

steve says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Absolutely awesome, my favourite so far, I want to give it 6/5 for audio :)

I couldn't resist making this though *spoilers!* http://imgur.com/Q31Fbd3 ;)

Aurel Bílý says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I don't know, … It's kinda pretty and all, but it's not really a game for me.
The soundtrack is very well done, other than that it feels a bit pretentious to me.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Great game! Amazing mood.

Korso says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Graphics are awesome, although some tiles reminds me to Zelda Link's awakening, and the sound and controls are good too. The thing is that these games -for me- need a reason to continue exploring. In 3D is somewhat easier because you can draw an interesting place far away. In 2D you need some history, motive, clue, anything. Look proteus, dear esther... Nice work though!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Not much to do ..

Beautiful though (no surprise there). And rather depressing. But in a good way? A bad good way. Or a good bad way..

Poor monster :(

Now, where's the New Game+ where all the speech is translated?!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Oh, one more thing I forgot to mention.

I like the "heavy" movement of the character, and although I initially disliked the low maximum speed, it makes sense after I got through it why you're not some crazy speed demon.

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Amazing atmosphere, but not that much of a game.

zuurr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:01am

wow how do you even mood that well

(apparently by using great audio, lighting, and artwork. who would have thought?)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:11am

I almost cried playing this

zatyka says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:07am

I don't know if I'd really call it a game, but everything came together for an effective experience. The graphics and the futility of pressing X was especially remarkable.

mitkus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:21am

Amazing feeling. Loved exploring the area, feeling like a monster.

kikaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Very immersive, it's difficult to be a monster, to be different, and you made us feel well through your creation.
Good music, stuck with this theme perfectly.
Excellent job !

Saf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:55pm

One of the best pixel art so far! Keep up the good work.

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Great game!

cowboycolor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:52pm

NO COME BACK I JUST WANT TO TALK :( best use of theme so far

dawik says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Nice to see a SDL release on all platforms =) ran well, nice mood, I like how the character looks really sad and doesn't mean any harm yet everyone runs from him.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:31pm

*** SPOILERS MAYBE! ***

I really did think that was beautiful, I'm glad I stuck with it and saw the ending. Even before the ending I was really feeling that sense of the monster being isolated and misunderstood, the attempt at speech just being gibberish was a great touch and made me empathise with that sense of frustration. Then the people reacted as people tend to do when they don't understand something. It was just so sad. In the end I just crawled onto the pier and watched the sea as I died

kaype says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:34pm

This is excellent.
I actually felt something while playing this, and the fact that it doesn't even need gameplay to invoke emotion is really impressive. Or maybe this is the gameplay, and the reason why there isn't anything to do is because of the fact that this poor character can't communicate with anybody or, well, show himself.

That's the way I see it at least.

kaype says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:50pm

I have just made it to the ending. I'm tearing up right now. :(

This game is great. Thank you for making this.

Aske says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:11pm

WOW! This is really a good game, it took some time, but in the end it turned out really good. The graphics were amazing, not to talk about the incredible audio design on it. Outstanding ;)

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Nostalgic graphics and awesome soundscape! This experience should teach people why we shouldn't see others as monsters.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:00am

Dropbox link is broken =(

tehPHEN says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:04am

Art + Audio really bring home to mood. Nails the story! I feel however I missed something, and had to wander a bit to find it.. Wandered a tad too long :(

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:26am

I'm creeped out. This was beautiful.

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:06am

The game is gorgeous and sounds great but it feels a bit like a walking simulator.

Vaida says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:14am

I absolutely loved this. The quality of the art, music and visual effects is amazing! At first I was a bit saddened that there wasn't anything to interact with, but then I realised that not being able to do anything is a message in itself. Loved it to pieces!

randomhuman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Poignant, but not much to do.

stevenlr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Very nice mood and graphics. It is unfortunate that there is apparently not much to do, but I guess it is intentional. You did succeed in making the player emotionally involved with the monster.

WetDesertRock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:57pm

I fully understand what you meant by being afraid that not everyone will get it. Its true, many people don't get it, however the tradeoff is that people who do get it will get a much deeper experience when playing the game.

I thought your music was wonderfully fitting, the qualms I had when listening to it outside of the game beforehand were gone when listening to it in context. My only problem with the sound was with the interaction sound. Many games use similar sounds, and I'm not sure why. It is annoying to hear more than once and doesn't fit into any atmosphere. I'd like something lower pitched with a bit more growl or noise in it, almost fitting into the background but with enough contrast it obviously is triggered by the player.

The graphics worked wonderfully. The 4 tone pallet really made the experience complete. For instance, when you see an un-lit villager there is the perfect silhouette made already.

The interaction was a nice touch, but I almost wish there was more variance in how you interacted. You can still have the gibberish, but there was little reward to interaction. Kinda made it feel like I was cheated because I got through the end and none of my interactions did anything different. Except maybe when I trapped a villager and interacted with him? I let him go and a second later he vanished. Almost made me wonder if I was normal and the villagers were ghosts.

Overall, nice game, great submission.

S0lll0s says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:34am

A work of art in all categories. The amazing graphics and sound work together and perfectly convey the mood. Simply 5/5.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Music, graphics & gamplay together give this game an unique atmosphere.
Good job !

Yrr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:38pm

one of the most beautiful entries I've played, in every sense

thebmxeur says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Thanks

plusultra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:47am

fantastic mood. The sound, art, movement of the character... you did a great goddamn job!

Piotrek says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:51am

Music, pixel art and color palette gives incredible mood.
Good work.

Sanju says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:06am

Love this entry. Touching experience.

BNeutral says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:34am

Them feels

randoman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:47am

It's nice to see how your game affected people in different ways. One of the best experiences I had so far in this Ludum Dare.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:07am

sO sad ;( Good job indeed! One of the best atmosphere of this jam. Graphics remind me Zelda Awakening. Nice light effect too.

allinlabs says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:45am

amazing mood, pixels and music

mathijs750 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:04pm

The music is wonderful. I felt really sad because nobody liked me. But not he lightning bugs they are my friends.

gty says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Gorgeous game experience, congratulations, the music is incredible to the game mood. Well done!

CrownCity says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Nice entry mister! Good mood and nice art! I learned a lot from it. Thank you

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Not sure if this is really a game, but very nice art, audio and mood

Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:09pm

The fireflies were my only friends. :(

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Very atmospheric. I loved the lighting tricks with the 4-shade palette, and the feeling of isolation was conveyed brilliantly. Not very fun, but I guess that wasn't really the point. The music fit extremely well, fantastic work!

Ibai Aizpurua says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Great music and graphics, but a little bit empty :(

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Man, some people can surely do a lot with a little. Loved it.

5/5 for all but humour.

parDal says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Short and interesting experience.

The pixel art is pretty good, as well as the sound design. The music is very moody and congruent to the experience.

I wonder if I've missed something.

miotatsu says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:58am

baawwww

HappyHour says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:51am

You get all the points for atmosphere. Poor monster guy!

Arche-san says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Beautiful art, immersive music and lovely great atmosphere!
Good work! :)

intXparts says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:13pm

This game has a beautiful atmosphere to it. The gameplay left me wanting more though. Awesome entry overall!

scorched says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Very artistic! Is there anywhere a separate soundtrack for this? Cheers

gillenew says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:25pm

how not to love this monster, the game became so beautiful

a shame that travelers came together and gave me a beating xD

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:48pm

The presentation was fantastic for selling the theme of being the misunderstood lonely monster. From the well made character sprite that captures the emotion of the game perfectly, to the lovely graphics, lighting and music it all sets the atmosphere very well. Other than that, I didn't see much to do outside of soaking in the environment and emotion. That's my one issue with it, other than that - lovely entry!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:58pm

I managed to catch a villager in a corner, and then I shouted non-sens to his face: "£^@!%$&" for two minutes Mwahahah, so devilish of me. Then I let the poor bastard go, of course I could have end him, but ya know... I'm mostly into shouting.

Seriously, impressive work on the overall mood, it's very engaging. The audio, arts, animations, are very coherent and bring something special.

I know it's a matter of taste but: moving slowly, instead of adding up to the experience of being a poor monster, tended to disengage me by lack of dynamism. I'm 100% positive that I'd have enjoyed it more if I was allowed to move around a bit more lightly (like in Journey for example). But that's of course, subjective.

/!!!\ SPOILER /!!!\
Oh god that ending... I was pretty bored as it was getting long since I first started the game. But then oO that's something!

Very, very well put together. 5/5

Sparrow says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Wow, what an experience. Beautiful. I almost cried.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Interesting, some of it went over my head a bit, would have enjoyed having a goal but then I suppose that's not the point. However, really nice sound and graphics, very polished!

fullmontis says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:57pm

The game has a thick atmosphere that really hits you. But gameplay is confusing, I didn't really understand what I needed to do in the game. If there is any gameplay at all, cause it seems the only thing you can really do is go around and scare people away.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Stellar audio, visuals and mood - not quite sure what to do though.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Beautiful and melancholic atmosphere (that music!). You managed to capture and convey the feelings of loneliness and incomprehension from the others while at the same time trying to engage wih them brilliantly. There's not a lot to do, true, but I guess that was not the point of your entry.

Amazing entry.

Ryusui says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:23pm

A beautiful art piece. The only place I'll ding it is the sheer number of background tiles ripped straight from Link's Awakening (believe me, I'd recognize them anywhere).

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:35pm

This is like art. Love ya.

xvw says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:35am

My god... this end... this game...

Wonderful.

MrTwister says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:42am

Beautiful game with a very well-achieved mood. Every tile, sprite and animation is simply gorgeous. The music fits the game perfectly and the lighting work was a really nice touch.

If there was something to do beside scaring villagers I totally missed it though; I ran out of people to scare and was left alone with nothing else to do.

I loved/hated the awful feeling of being "feared" by everyone and unable to communicate with them.

To think this is a Compo entry is insane though! the amount of polish is ridiculous! Well done mate!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:58am

Fit awesome with the theme. You should opt out of the Humor category because this was the opposite of funny. I like how You Were the Monster and how sad it was. Everyone would just run away from you. Not really a finished game, but I loved it.

shawn42 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:27am

Such. Wow. So frustrating for a while... then just sad. Way to build the atmosphere and connect me to the player in a way that really makes me feel sad for the little guy. Amazing game.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:37am

Makes you think....

scorched says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:54am

Nevermind. Found OST in sources! Listening to it right now!

jofra says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Did you saw Miyazaki film "Grave of the fireflies"? The mood and the theme fit the film perfectly and that is very good. (and if you did, awesome reference!)
This game is a great entry (but i can see people not liking it X) ) it have a very strong felling to it and the mood pulls you right in to the middle of it, and that for me is all the gameplay you need from a realy good game. It is a game with our feellings, that without saying anything tells a great story.
A 5* game for me :)

Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:39pm

moody. nice graphic set. nice lighting. nice atmo. music worked. I wanted to find someone. Everyone ran from me. I tried to speak, but the words that came out had no meaning. I decided to be the hero and leave the island for a new land. They gave me a parting gift. Only then, was there peace.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:35am

Cool aesthetic and fun game. Gorgeous lighting effects and incredibly chilling music. Well done ++

euske says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:39am

Was kinda expecting if there's anyone accepting the player.

bluewizard says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Lovely game with a nice twist to it. I was desperate get away, but how?! Tried squeaking alot but that didn't do much...

There is more to this game than just wandering around at random a little...

freaknarf says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Aww. I was thinking that some gameplay was missing... Then it was worthly to reach the end. This is art. I felt sad.
Not really fun to play (the x key stuff was fun i must admit...). Very good job on pixel art and visuals overall, music is fine and fits well...
More a piece of art than a "game" to me. And a quite beautifull and depressing piece of art.

NightShadow0 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Oh man, this was really depressing, in a good way. The goal isn't very clear though, i was trying to avoid humans for a long while and only randomly started to chase them after running out of places to explore. Totally worth it though, brilliant work, i love everything about it.

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Looks/sounds great. And I like that it's just what it is.

uheartbeast says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Great graphics and mood. Loved it.

kles4enko says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:12am

Fantastic mood! Sweet sound!

Hjalte500 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:30pm

I love how you are doomed as the monster even though your intentions are good. You can speak but only gibberish. You give me a button to interact but still its hopeless. I love that! So sad.

Awesome graphics, Audio all that usual stuff 5/5!

kerotan24 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Inmersive game, really like the many you do with so little, Great entry.

dregamr says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Beautiful and sad at the same time. Great work!

tylorlilley says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Some nice ambient music and graphics to set the mood, but not much actually goes on in terms of gameplay...

Devark says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:16am

Simple but polished. Has a nice, eerie mood created through the music and lighting.

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:16pm

This game is simply one of the most beautiful ones in this whole event. The graphics were impeccable, easily one of the most beautiful sprite art games I have ever seen, without any single flaw and with a pixel-level attention to detail. It is hard to classify it as a game, because the actions you have available are tailored exactly to bring a sense of lack of empowerment, to feel weak, vulnerable, like the world is judging on you based on looks alone. Easily one of the best experiences I have ever experienced in such a short game, productions like this makes me question anyone daring to claim a game isn't art. Easier to classify this gem as not a game than as not art.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Very nice artwork. :)

spotco says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:33am

Very cohesive art + music!
Wish there was some sort of closure (though maybe I just didn't discover it).

walsh9 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:32am

Six stars for mood.

glerikud says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Wow and this is a compo entry?! I didn't want to quit just to listen to the music. Really good one, grats!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Wow! This is amazing. The ending is really well done, too. It was so different in terms of the look and feel that it gave the scene real weight. This is probably my favourite game of the dare? Probably!

SPOILERS

I'm so glad I stayed till the end. I had a bad experience because the last villager had wandered into a corner somewhere, so for me it didn't feel like a gradual organic change in the villager's behaviour; rather it felt like a discrete switch had been flipped. I think it is possible some players did not experience the ending, not for lack of trying or patience, but because the last villager was just too hard to track down.

Sep 9, 2015 @ 12:09am

Not much of a game, but incredibly touching. I didnt get the ending the first time, but after looking at the comments i played it again. totally worth it.

Sep 9, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Pssst - You are featured in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zK8Ya1OP2ZI

Gamepopper says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Amazing music and graphics, creates a brilliantly eerie and lonely atmosphere. I felt really sorry for the monster though, it shouldn't even be called a monster. :(

Demy says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:03pm

It could be be batter iif player could read text on the stones and posts, or there could be any scaring counters. Right now there's no gameplay sadly.

Lafolie says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:52pm

I don't feel that there is a game here, however I do feel that this is a fantastic piece of interactive software. I find it difficult to describe because it blurs the ludonarrative boundaries, kinda like Facade. Very immersive, and the lighting system was very well implemented.

Erkberg says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:16pm

What a beautifully sad "game". The visuals and audio are incredible. One can feel the isolation. I was hoping to find some significant other somewhere, but it was not meant to be...

RLQ says ...
Sep 27, 2015 @ 1:27am

I can't find where to contact the developer or report bugs, so. . . here in the comments?? :(

Downloaded the OS/X version, but it always crashes immediately after the second screen (showing which keys to use: WASD, etc.). I'm running OS X 10.8.5. The crash report includes the following:

Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Exception Type: EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP)
Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000

Dyld Error Message:
Symbol not found: ___sincos_stret
Referenced from: /Users/USER/Desktop/rxi_separated.app/Contents/MacOS/juno
Expected in: /usr/lib/libSystem.B.dylib

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]