Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Nombeast Jr.

by Joror - Compo Entry

Your are a nombeast youngling, first out alone!

Explore & NOM.

----

26-8:
Fixed some small things - typos, control issues, restart logic, villagers/birds not spawning right, linux version
(removed WebGL version, it was too buggy)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#312Audio3.06
#313Theme3.63
#353Mood3.15
#363Innovation3.17
#461Graphics3.11
#475Humor2.68
#482Overall3.11
#615Fun2.80

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:36am

None of the controls work. Running in chrome.

SvenFrankson says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:49am

Works fine here (Firefox)

Jod says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Controls worked just fine for me (Chrome).

Had great fun floating around and trapping the vilagers.

I accidentally nommed a bird.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:00am

This is an interesting idea for a game, although I found that it all moved too sluggishly to be much fun. Chasing down humans was tough with what felt like fairly unnatural controls (using A and D to rotate instead of having the beast point at my cursor felt particularly unwieldy), and the nom/gas bars seemed to fill up at alarmingly slow rates.
I think this game could be a lot of fun if it were sped up and streamlined a bit, but right now I'm not a huge fan.

Shina69 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:27am

I think it lacked speed as said previously. The aesthetic is not its strongest point either, but it was an OK-game to practice our abilities.

TFR says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:25am

It's an interesting experience. I think that if it had 3d characters it could be awesome. At the moment, nevertheless, it's very fun and the music is good for the pace the game have. As some pointed out, mouse based controls would be much better.

Tortoise says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:29am

I really like the visual effects used here. (Also had some fun terrorizing some humanoids) :)

Demy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:03am

I din't think game about monster eating people could be so meditative. Nice one. I like this minimalistic and stylish drawings.

Pampattitude says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:25am

It was hard for me to move around and play with depth. Through, this game offers a really nice immersion.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:08pm

pretty cool overall

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Runs fine for me in chrome. I liked the visuals and the music was pleasant.
However I had touble nomming people up since I couldn't reach their level. Either I was to heigh or to low.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:18pm

A cool, Fun little game. I find the concept to be interesting.

eric777 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Hooray, I can play outside now! I can't wait to tell Bobby :)

Ran fine for me here (windows exe), although I was only able to run the compo version. I tried the newer version first, but it failed to extract.

Cool idea, well executed. Getting used the the controls was tough. I feel pretty confident with thrust/inertia type controls myself, but adding the up/down axis to that was a little hard for me to do.

Graphics were really well done. I also thought it was pretty innovative. Theme was good too. It made me feel like I was Nemo in Finding Nemo, with the overprotective dad fish.

I would have liked to hear/see more terror in the people I nom'd.

Nicely done!!

Joror says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Thanks for the feedback eric777! Checked the windows zip and it was borked - reuploaded.

(and yes I wanted to add soundfx but ran out of time :P)

Gigaraptor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Contorls are quite good, art not so much.

glimaleite says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:04am

Hey there, right click wasnt working. It was bringing the context menu from the browser!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:41am

Pretty neat. Relaxed, but a little frustrating to be a hungry little nombeast chasing birds when the people go and hide. Wasn't sure if the clouds had an effect, it seemed like the parent was trying to say so. Good stuff.

Tosic says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:55am

Very dificult but innovative as well :).

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:07am

That was funny! I like the mechanism of going up and down and feeling of pulling the stuff.

bradur says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:30am

Fun little game :D. You managed to have lots of different systems in place, which was quite nice. I managed to finish the game with no issues :).

dpisarcik says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:34am

This shows some real promise. Looks a bit ambitious for a 48-hour timeline, but could be a great game with a bit more work put into the world.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Hey Daan thanks dat we je game mochten spelen tijdens IndieKings. "Super grote scope man voor zo'n game jam game!" > Emiel Kampen (Die met dat gekke staartje)

Joror says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Haha, cool Tijmen! :D
(en idd een (te) grote scope is mijn ding bij jams ;))

Nurbs says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Short, a bit quirky but not too bad to control once you get the hang of it. Birds are hard to catch, just like in real life.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Pretty solid entry. Had so much fun terrorising villages and sucking all their crops and humans.

Jelinib says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:03pm

The nombeasts are pretty cute!

This felt like the kind of game where movement could be controlled with the mouse (player moves in direction of the cursor, like agar.io), but the WASD scheme adds some unique challenge to it, and it's easy enough to get used to.

Birds are super hard to catch (if I can?). I was never too sure if I was the right elevation to do so. But perhaps this is also my fault for not being an expert at the controls, haha.

Sometimes I felt like I was kind of getting snagged on the edges of the village islands too.

Quite relaxing to play with no real urgency other than the gas meter. Good job overall!

Donpastor says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Fun little game. Overall I liked it but controls were a bit difficult for me.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]