Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monophobic Menace

by defacid - Compo Entry

Angular.js + jQuery Text Adventure Framework

Within a day, this text-adventure framework was born!

Current features:

Stat Handling
Grid-based Map Movement/Creation
Deep Room Customization (The sky is the limit if you have solid Javascript skills)
World Persistance
Everything is open source and I will be periodically updating this with additions, revisions, and completely new features.

Thanks for readings/building/playing!

Also, let me know about any bugs or errors you get. I didn't get much time to test!

I enjoy friendly conversations, so feel free to tweet @defacid and I'll be sure to at least say hi!

- CHANGELOG -
Fixed one of the endings not showing

Fixed "Retry?" links not working.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Humor3.47
#611Mood2.75
#614Innovation2.76
#690Overall2.88
#779Fun2.53
#859Theme2.47
#1942Coolness30%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:38am

Can't wait to poke around your source code and try to learn some more about angular. Nice work!

cxsquared says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Really nice job. The humor was great but getting around with so many long hallways was a little weird. Overall nice job.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:39pm

I have always wanted to play a text adventure where I can poop.

David Yates says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:32pm

It's very pretty, and like many others I'm eager to take a look at the source code and see how the engine runs. As a programming exercise, I'm sure this was fun to make, but to be honest I don't think much of the actual game. I'm going to be pretty tactless in the coming paragraphs, but this is my unvarnished opinion, and I invite all to do the same to my entry should they feel so inclined.

This is very Scott Adams. Which is to say, it contains everything I dislike about retro text adventure games. The prose is perfunctory in the extreme (despite being written in the Year of Our Lord Two Thousand and Fifteen, when gigabytes grow on trees and the poor cast out their excess harddrives), most of the rooms are empty, there are hunger and sleep meters you have to administrate by tediously sleeping and eating, and the only slightly interesting action you can take (at the outset at least) is to defecate on the ground. I was expecting at least some variation in the act when visiting the restroom.

Most annoyingly, you have to explicitly click "look around" in every single room. And not for flavour text or any sort of imagery, but rather just to see where the exits are. In every other game like this I've played, the room description is printed in full on entry, because obviously you're going to need to look at your surroundings.

I get the feeling your game wants me to draw a map of the house in order to figure out where to go and how to unlock the locked door I found somewhere. I'm afraid I don't think it's earned that effort from me. Not when I'm 87% sure it's going to reward me with "The door is now unlocked" instead of actual writing.

defacid says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Thanks for playing everybody!

I really appreciate the indepth review and you were not tactless at all! I need reviews that really pick apart my games and tell me like it is. :P

As I said in the message I sent you, but wanted to bring up here, I didn't have the time to work on the game as much as I wanted due to some life junk but I'm really proud of the fact that I finished! I spent the whole first 24 hours on the framework, which turned out great, but ended up not getting in ANY of the story or description that I wanted. I had already put in the poop as a joke and just had to roll with that as a real feature. :P

All of your points are valid and I'd definitely say that I would look for more if I was going to delve into a FULL text adventure game made in more than the Ludum Dare time frame.

At the time of this post, I didn't get a reply message yet so: Did you happen to get any or all of the three endings?

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:54am

Entertaining, but having to click to look around in every new area kinda sucked.

xvw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:56pm

So much hall's but nice narration ! Thanks for the game !

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Heh, seems like I'm not the only one, who created a text-based game :P Yours goes into a almost totally different direction, though - it would be nice, if there was some map, which would create "itself", while you are exploring... And I think I found a bug: the health counter happily increased after each "rest" action, even if I was at full HP already (12/10... 14/10..) Apart from that - nice work , just please remove the need to click that button in order to reveal the next room...

Quij says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Nice job making a framework in a day and then make a working demo out of it!

Unfortunately I didn't make it all the way through. I don't have any grid paper to make myself a map :P

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:24pm

I liked it, it was fun. I found it a little hard to navigate and move around and also to click "look around" to get the room descritption feels weird. Good job!!

defacid says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:03am

Thanks, everybody! I'm leaving the game intact so I both don't break rules and also so I can move on to other projects. I am trying to play at least a couple games every day, and I'll be making sure to AT LEAST play every game by the people who have played and commented on mine.

I really appreciate the feedback and I'll be able to bring that into whatever projects I may do with this tool in the future. I expect that I'll probably just do some cleanup on the framework, make a tutorial game that DOESN'T have poop in it, and then just periodically do bugfixes.

Patomkin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:51am

I like characters art style! But game needs more abilities or stuff to do - one button combat is fun only for a minute.

Patomkin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:59am

I commented on the wrong game. Ops :D
Here is yours:
Should I draw a map where I go, or is it random and I should just survive for as much as I can? :)

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:10am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

ALobker says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:49am

A map would have probably helped me, but I don't play a lot of text-adventure games anyway.

It was fun to poop everywhere.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]