Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Trullskoll

by charliecarlo - Compo Entry

In the marsh lies Trullskoll cave.
A lonely troll lives there.
He is you.
You are the troll.

THIS GAME INVOLVES MURDERING BUNNIES FOR FOOD.
That's a disclaimer.

This is a survival sort of game where you have to gather materials and fight enemies and hunt animals.

The game has simple crafting that allows you to make traps, 3 tiers of armor, and 3 different weapons for you to use against 4 different enemies, as well as innocent animals with delicious meat inside them.

While you are out hunting, you may encounter humans attempting to hunt /you/.
The frequency and difficulty of encounters with humans is based on two values: How much the neighboring town hates you and how much they fear you. The two start out at zero and increase or decrease from various interactions with humans.



Additional Notes: I put off doing music and a title screen for last, but I'm too tired to possibly do those now. Speaking of which, I apologize if this description reads something like "clackle my wizcarbon in the fixy widget, meeeaaahhh." or something nonsensical like that:
I'm so tired.
My everything hurts.
I hope you like my game anyways.

I'll definitely do a post-comp version with more things in it.

Controls:
-Left and Right to walk.
-Up to jump.
-Z to attack.
-X to throw rocks if you have them.
-C to place traps if you have them.
-Space to interact with objects.
-P to pause
-Esc to exit

The tooltips will lead your way.
Compressed source included in the download.

---------=============---------
EDIT: Sorry the pacing is so slow, I didn't really have time to test it. Try hitting humans until they run away until you get at least 1 hatred and you'll be more likely to encounter more. Also, there is a coding error with the totems right now so use them with caution.

EDIT2: The finished game has been uploaded to Gamejolt, for those who are interested in playing it.
http://gamejolt.com/games/trullskoll/96821

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#4Graphics4.69
#8Overall4.26
#13Theme4.33
#31Fun4.00
#42Mood3.95
#115Innovation3.65
#399Humor2.87
#447Audio2.76

Comments

avultima says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:06am

THIS IS EXCELLENT!

How you did this in 48 hours is beyond me! And you did it with Game Maker, the engine I use. For me, the source is the best thing about this. I will study it and hope to make awesome stuff like this.

Shame there is a lack of audio. Controls are responsive, art is perfect, inventory works great and objects spawn as they are supposed too. I have only played a bit, but this is so impressive.

Skoggy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Very nice and polished. Fun and unique. Would have needed some kind of music or ambience to get more of a forest feel. But I guess you were busy drawing all of that art :)

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Love... PRO

Zed says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:19pm

EXCELLENT game. Brilliant premise, well-executed, great to look at. All around fantastic.

Parappa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:19pm

This game is great. If you made a commercial version, I would buy it.

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:32pm

If I didn't trust you (which I do) I'd have a hard time believing that you made this in 48 hours ^^

I am super impressed =D

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Love the graphics!

Zammalad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Best entry I have played so far. Excellent effort for such a short time.

Graphics are the quality of a released game. Sound wasn't the best but in the time used they are still great.

I'd love to see this developed in to a full game. Well done

mrjorts says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:42pm

This is my favorite entry so far! The art is really great. The bone armor looks so cool! I was also really impressed by the number of mechanics in the game, but it seemed to move very slowly. Once I got the spear and bone armor I was able to grind way more resources than I needed, but I still got very few human encounters, and sometimes it seemed like I missed the humans and had to wait another day to hope to see them. I played for a long time and only wound up with 3 metal.

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:42am

Right on!
This is very, very good. I am with avultima above on not getting it how you got all this to work and play this good in just 48 hours. Maybe you've had some neat base code, eh? ;)
By the way, I liked the game a lot and it had me in for a _long_ time, but for me the most interesting part is the logic behind the reactions of animals. I mean, when they get hit - they run, that's clear. The interesting part is that they react when I do something next to them, but not to them directly: like I hit another animal close to them or I just miss - all that.
Would you care to elaborate on that in some kind of a postmortem? And what are your media channels that I could follow to get notified of a post of some sorts?

Also: throwing rocks just... ROCKS! And the armor is very rad!

charliecarlo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Thank you for all your wonderful feedback! By the way, if you want to learn some things from my code, I support that! But be aware that a great many things in there are hastily designed, possibly broken, or made in a very simple way in order to save time.

By your request I have made a post-mortem blog on this site.

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:44pm

This damn impressive for 48 hours! Amazing art.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:44pm

nice work, though there're too few human even I have one hatred point.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Wow, nice work! There's a lot of depth to this game, although imo it started to feel somewhat grinding-heavy early on. The graphics and animations are superb, the atmosphere is nice as well, but some form of music or background sound would have been nice.
Crazy ambitious game! :D

Kep says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Really killer work.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Best ive played so far, really cool - troll armour is amazing! Will play again when its possible to get more metal, played for 30 mins and got 1 piece.

DrZanuff says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Wow! I really like this game. The pixel art is pretty good. I remember playing a Warcraft III map where you controlled a Troll that had to survive. This game has the same vibe. Great game man!

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:21pm

For a 48h game this is very well made. The simple two palette art works great, the sound effects are nice. The controls are responsive and the mechanics are well thought out. Overall, a great entry!

Datamosh says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Incredible amount of work done in 48 hours. Well done!

keddelzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Very cool game, the graphics are super nice!

FiSilva says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Really good game, very fun, lots of content for 48h and great graphics

Conk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Brilliant, the lack of sleep was worth it. I tried to get metal armour, it took me so long I maxed out everything else, but I know you're aware of the pacing issues ;P Best I've played so far!

Togimaro says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Excellent !!! Fancy graphics, great ambience, a little to slow progression (30 minutes to have 15 metal) but despite that it's a brilliant game and it's currently the best game I've tested

ajopart says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:09pm

One of my favorite ! I will come back for more.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:44am

This is really great. Loads of fun and a fantastic feeling of progression. Great Job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:05am

Not bad! Pretty addictive crafting survival game =) But after 15 min playng it gets kinda boring...

derr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:11am

One of the best entries I have played. Amazing visuals, especially for 48 hours. Nice progression and the controls feel tight.

Sanju says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:29pm

It's a cool game. I liked it, specially the graphics, but I found the gameplay a bit repetitive.

Sparrow says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Awesome game! Wish there was some music to accompany it.

Joror says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Whoa, good stuff! Pacing a bit slow, but all-in-all very complete.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:51pm

This game is really fun, but it also really slow and not challenging after the first few minutes. I tried your suggestion and letting humans running away, but it didn't seem to work. :/ Great game otherwise, though! I love the art!

Kakureta says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:06pm

This one is really good! I had a lot of fun in this game and I loved the graphics. The game lacks music though.

brombatti says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Love the graphics and the game is super addictive! Brilliant work for such a short time. But I guess I found a bug because at some point the troll started walking on its own and I couldn't change directions anymore.

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Excellent game! One of the top picks of this jam! Great

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:31am

Awesome. Quite slow, especially considering there isn't much else to do beside feeding your hunger while you wait for humans. But I still enjoyed it :)

pavel_insight says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Well-polished, addictive variation of "Don't starve". Great job for 48 hours! Two notes:
Background forest could be more irregular.
Please add confirmation on exit (Escape button). :)

wesley werner says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Your game is really fun, charliecarlo! Fantastic job on the pixel art! The lighting in the cave and human torches give a nice effect, and it is so satisfying to hurl a stone after a fleeing human.

Your entry is a perfect example of what Ludum Dare aims to inspire!

Note: A prompt on ESC would be nice.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:06am

Amazing!!!! Everything about this is awesome. Obviously pacing is slow but i havent tried the updated version. Theres so many little epic details, from the way the armor gets cooler and cooler to the combat to the subtle lighting effects when you enter the cave. You have a winner right here.

guoboism says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:12am

Great graphics! I looks like a survival game. But there is nothing out there. Hard work in the jam!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Great artworks! Love it. Congrats!

Tselmek says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Really amazing and well polished game. The graphics are fantastic and the gameplay is really nice. My two only complaints would be about the pace that is very slow and the lack of quality audio. Other than that, you did an excellent job for a compo entry, congratulations!

wesley werner says ...
Sep 16, 2015 @ 3:23am

Congrats on placing 8th in the overall top 100!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]