Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Cursed

by disperse - Jam Entry

Your brother was cursed while trying to steal a spellbook from an evil sorceress. Collect the torn pages and remove the curse!

Art by Henri (age 7), music, sound effects, and code by Mark (age 38).

Made using phaser.io, colored pencils and paper for the art, and a Roland Juno Alpha for music and sound effects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#367Graphics(Jam)3.70
#433Humor(Jam)2.95
#486Audio(Jam)2.90
#595Mood(Jam)3.02
#663Overall(Jam)3.05
#718Fun(Jam)2.81
#791Innovation(Jam)2.67
#888Theme(Jam)2.89

Comments

conrad123 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:56pm

The graphics are different. I like it!

trashmob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:20am

Very cute game. :D

DerekRumpler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:28am

I really like how the sound effects play with the music. Cute art, too!

khahem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:36am

Very cool entry, nice graphics and I had fun while playing :)

Move127 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:37am

The art makes the game.

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:38am

cute art....also nice randomly generated map. Really enjoyed it

iapc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:34am

Nice, cute graphics. The game itself isn't that special.

Lady Beardo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:35am

Good job Henri! Very atmospheric and clever use of the theme.

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:47am

"The art makes the game." [2]
Liked the brother's animation too, lol

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:38am

It made me imagine a game with same art but animated. I broke the curse twice. Gameplay is not the best, I'll only give credit to the artist :)

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Too cool! Love that it was drawn by hand

AAGH Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:27pm

nice music , enjoyed the relaxing mood of the sound, game was a bit rough but fun..

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:04pm

I had fun playing this. :) The drawings are cool. Sometimes it was a bit hard to see if I would fit through somewhere. I liked the music and the sound effects. Well done! :)

wischutz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Good job!

psychonull says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Nice graphics. The random generation of the map was good to but sometimes the pages were rounded by trees and there were no way to get them.

disperse says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:20am

@psychonull: Yep, I didn't have time to do pathfinding from the player to the pages when they were placed so it is possible for the game to be unwinnable!

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:04pm

I like the graphics. =)

BlackQuiltro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:06pm

It is a simple game but very charming! The art of course is very "gamejam-y" jejej, I liked the style!
Good mood. Made me smile!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:07pm

I really like the art style - it's very different! :-) However, I did have trouble seeing the spellbook pages.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:14am

This is nice and short. Good job!

justthestudio says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:32am

Congratulate young Henri from me. Thanks for bringing youngs to gamedev!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Larzan says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:12am

I broke the curse, yeah! :)
Cute little game, i like the pencil graphics, well done guys :)

Sunflower says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Am I the only one who think that art is adorable?
*scrolls through the comments*
Nope, I'm not~!

The yay:
- the art, obviously
- audio (especially the sound effect of werewolf/siren/whatever other magical creature *whistling*)

The nay:
- during my first playthrough I started stuck between the tower and trees; I guess terrain generation is faulty ^^"
- ending could be a bit more rewarding, especially compared to prologue; come on, we want more of Henri's glorious art! :3 (werewolf turning back to human is a good touch, though)
- pages could be a bit more visible

Cute, if short game overall.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:55am

Pretty short but I love the hand-drawn art.

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:58am

Cool game! Art is cute, audio really blends in! It was quite a fun game, although a very short one!

hexagore says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:16pm

This is lovely. The art is obviously very cute but the thing that really made this work for me was the way that the wolf would howl, giving me a breather as I was running around and also adding to the music.. I loved that!

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Take all the stars for graphics!

Not exactly a fan of its super-simple gameplay, though. Perhaps new levels would have been nice?

superfreak says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:12am

Utterly adorable art-work :)

Mubox says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:22pm

I liked your concept. :D
Good audio. ^^'

Sometimes my character get stuck for a while.

PS: We have fixed our game, if you want to see it again. ^^
Thank you.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]