Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Milky Helps People

by reheated - Compo Entry

Milky loves being helpful, but sometimes he finds that he could be more helpful if only he was a little bit bigger. The professor's invention can help milky get bigger, but it's a bit tricky to use! A logic puzzle game.

Tools:
Programming: Notepad++
Testing: Firefox, IE and Chrome, all under Windows
Code base: I extracted the reusable parts from my LD32 entry.
Graphics: Krita
Audio: Audacity, FL Studio, Miroslav Philharmonik.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#8Innovation4.36
#9Humor4.43
#18Overall4.13
#19Fun4.12
#34Mood3.98
#38Audio3.90
#250Graphics3.52
#448Theme3.43

Comments

Cryptix says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 10:44pm

All I can think about while playing this game is, what kind of lunatic made this? It's absolutely nuts!
But i'm glued to it, amazing work. :)

kewleus says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 11:10pm

This was amazing. Thank you.

Mark Smith says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:06am

Brilliant! I especially love the music.

GPASAS says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:42am

Well done, Michael. Its good.

gingerBill says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:46pm

I have never seen a game like this. The game play very fun and would actually plane puzzle like this for a long time.

I found the story "moo"ving. I could have picked an "udder" joke but it spoilt the milk!

petersmyth says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:18am

Wow. So good, five stars all around. I love how incongruous the "game" part of your game is with the narrative. There's just the tiniest fraction of justification - the puzzle game is the machine that collects mangosteen - and that's just what this game needed. I love the sincerity of the voice acting, I love the puns, I love the art, I love the nonsense word "mangosteen", I loved it all.

reheated says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:59am

Hi all, thanks for your comments!

@gingerBill: Haha, yoghurt a good sense of humour.

@petersmyth: Thanks! Mangosteen's a real thing, you know, and pretty much that powerful in real life, according to some.

folex70 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:06pm

i get a message "Decoding audio (this could take a minute) forever and cant play : (

Warxen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Fun game, liked it to see a game with some humor.

TLansdale says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Easily my favourite game of the competition so far. Great story, very funny, and the logic puzzles are solid. Awesome.

Darius says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Your game is strangely addictive ! I couldn't manage it 'till the end, but the game was really cool and fun to play !

reheated says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:50pm

@folex70: darn! what OS and browser?

logiclogue says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Fantastic story, very humorous. A well polished game. Really enjoyed it!

the-arrival says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Wow! I want more Levels. The mechanics are super fun and addictive. With the right strategy it´s very possible to get around even the more complex levels, which is key to good puzzle mechanics. So you start of with a very complex level, but the complexity reduces very nicely with every sure turn you take, which again makes other turn mandatory. It has a bit of the feeling of solving a sodoku, but the right amount of trial and error. This mechanics are a gem!

justinooncx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:49am

Finished the game and got both endings. Bloody hell. I'm a monster for laughing.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:52am

Wow! A really great entry. The puzzles were just on the right side of challenging, and the story was fantastic and funny. Really great job!

BNeutral says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:58am

Thank you, Milky!

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:00am

One of my favorite games so far ! The story is fun and well narrated. The music is very good (but a little bit depressing). The graphics are ok, and the puzzles are very interesting and challenging, it was a good idea. Very well done !

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:34pm

The story was awesome..."Milky was riding his sauce..." LOL Love the puzzle dynamics. Only thing missing is some feedback sound. Great job!

petersmyth says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:45pm

@reheated i'm sorry! it sounded like a made up word so i just assumed haha. Such a cute fruit! Very fitting for the game :^)

collaboration says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Excellent puzzle, really excellent, it may not match the theme so much, but it's great anyway. Love it!

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:53am

Definitely one of my favourites so far. The picture book style story telling was great (nice puns too). But the best part of the game was the puzzles. It was really satisfying figuring out a strategy, and once you knew the strategy the puzzles were still really fun, sort of like doing Sudoku.

khahem says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:39am

This is a fantastic entry.
You managed to create good puzzles *and* build a story around them, with two endings !
Puzzle games are quite rare this LD, this one was really good. Great job !

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:59am

Haha, real leaps of logic to go from the story to the actual gameplay. Still loved it though, so british

Crefossus says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:09am

Top notch entry. Great story in just the right dose size so that it was a reward to each puzzle. Maybe missing some juice on the game part of the game - a pause for level completion, some anims along with sfx as some one else mentioned (though these hardly hurt your score...).

Theme? He gets bigger (I was expecting him to crush the other character) but is never really a monster. Although, I played the get smaller ending...

TIL mangosteens are real

grywhttl says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:44am

Excellent! Super good job

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:51am

Veeeeery creative, I enjoyed it, especially the humor and the general idea behind the theme. Awesome entry :D

hgcummings says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:01am

Wonderful, bonkers story and very satisfying puzzles in the gameplay. Kept me engaged all the way to the end.

killersnoofie says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:35am

very good

ehtd says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:38am

I like the idea of story/puzzle Could not make it to the end, but it was very good.

MrTwister says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:55am

Quite a cute and fun game! Loved it :)

The puzzles were well designed and fun to solve. Only had a bit of trouble with one of the first 3 levels (if I recall correctly), the rest had pretty intuitive solutions.

As some other people have pointed out, the connection between the story and the gameplay is rather weak, but it's REALLY rare to see a pure puzzle game with a story that makes sense with the gameplay, honestly, so it's not a a problem for me.

Really well executed, loved the humor and the graphics. A fine entry indeed!

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:15am

Great puzzle mechanics, great story, great work!
One of my favourites so far in this jam =)

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:27am

The logic puzzle bit is actually pretty brilliant, though I got stuck pretty early on as I'm wont to do. I liked the voice actor.

panda says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:55am

I played to both endings! Very fun game, and I loved the cutscenes! Beautiful :)

randoman says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Great game! I love puzzle games, thanks for the post you made with a list of them!

darklightteam says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Wow! Really nice entry. I loved the levels, they are very cleverly designed. Congratulations on this one.

RiaDelva says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:51pm

really nice puzzles!
and funny story ^^

TestSubject06 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:27pm

This is a great little puzzle game, I liked the challenge of the final level!

Tselmek says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Loved this game, the story and the graphics are really charming. The puzzle mechanics are well found and they have a bit of Sokobond feels to them. The levels became insanely hard very fast, I had to search some hints in the timelapse in order to progress in the story. Nice take on the theme. The 2 endings were very funny, congrats!

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:46pm

What an awesome mechanic! I could play hundreds of these puzzles!

Shaun LeBron says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:16pm

take all of my 5's. uniquely fresh

UncleChris says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:15pm

This was amazing. Loved it very, very much. One of the best games I have played. I haven't finished but, oh my heavens I will. :)

Ninja Garage says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:04am

Good, addicting game! :D

tayl1r says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Really nice. Funny, well presented, and a pretty fun game too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]