Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Super Chop

by savethejets1 - Jam Entry

Super Chop is an infinite chopper

Didn't have time to add the shop portion. Maybe in a Post compo.

Controls.
Use the mouse to start

Left / Right move your character
Space - Chop / Start chopping


Art, Programming, Music
By Kyle Reczek

PostCompo
Fixes the shop not working
Adds a story
More Trees
Fixes the input to work on the button down, instead of button up.

Note I used 2 CC fonts
TomAndJerry by StePickford
Adventurer by BrianJSmith

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#91Fun(Jam)3.78
#119Audio(Jam)3.71
#162Innovation(Jam)3.53
#164Humor(Jam)3.55
#174Overall(Jam)3.67
#203Graphics(Jam)4.05
#290Mood(Jam)3.43
#597Theme(Jam)3.37
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:51am

I really like the chopping mechanic, especially the delay which kept you on your toes as the line moved faster. The trees are awesome!

tehPHEN says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:09am

A infinite chopper has never been so fun. Feels good to land on green, but I wish you can make it feel even better! Its a bit disappointing to miss a chop, so punishing!

madcapacity says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:13am

Reminds me of Hot Shots golf series, but at least I don't get frustrated when I don't get a perfect shot :P

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:01am

Awesome art work. Smooth animations. Good job

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:48am

Took me a few trees to realize the chop happens when the spacebar comes up rather than when you press it down. Cool mechanic and I really like the happy faces on the trees. Such a monster chopping them down.

broknecho says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:19am

Excellent entry! Was fun and rewarding to get the timing down. Was hard at the beginning as the key up timing felt delayed but you learned to compensate for that.

Would probably need a few more timing mechanics to stop the line one from getting repetitive but wicked for the weekend of work.

Great job!

Tuism says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:57am

Has a really nice feel to it, the chopping mechanic is core and works great, but:

- There's a delay between keypress and the cursor stopping, that's super irritating, it makes the misses all the more frustrating.
- The rhythm change seems arbitrary, which doesn't feel good when it happens all the time - there should be a rhythm to it.
- there didn't seem to be much point walking through the forest... Yeah I get that the big trees are harder, but you could also just easily swipe through trees. Platform walking was superfluous.
- If the shop isn't working, remove the button :) And only having to use the mouse for one thing is irritating, it should be changed to keyboard controls entirely.

Looking great, keep pushing it :)

dan.marchand says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Love the art style on this!

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Fun and unique.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Loved the gameplay. The chopping mechanic was very innovative. Liked the graphics as well.

cxsquared says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:35pm

This is the ultimate chopping game. I loved everything about it. With a few additions (aka a pancake eating minigame) this could be the ultimate lumberjack simulator. Great work.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Enjoyed this. The chopping bar is maybe a bit big and distracting from the great animations though.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Fun little game! I feel so bad for the trees :(

zuurr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:07pm

pretty fun. sounds like you fixed everything i was going to suggest with your post compo version.

i think this game might work well on mobile.

Azure_Kyte says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:12pm

This is really fun. I really like the chopping mechanic, it reminds me very much of Mario Golf's swing strength mechanic.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:47pm

I love the timing-based system for chopping down trees. The bar moving faster with the more times you successfully chop was a nice touch and added a little difficulty. Very fun gameplay. The visuals were great too, and I feel like the audio suited the cartoon-y look. Great game.

sararyCow says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:52pm

I liked the pixel art graphics as well as the chopping mechanic. At the beginning I had trouble chopping the big trees and the red ones until I realized it is the keyUp event who triggers the chop. That's a weird design decision in my opinion but is fun to play once you know it.
The Shop button doesn't work for me, may be I don't played it enough?

el-pepi says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Simple yet very fun gameplay. Loved the graphics and the faces of the trees.

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:05pm

It was really expecting something less challeging and more repetitive but in fact it was really fun to play! Well done! It's good surprise :D

Serch says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:10pm

I love the mechanic of chop

gmaker says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Mechanic is awesome! pixel art too. but when you see all the time on pow-panel, can't look at awesome graphics!

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:14pm

First of all, I love the take on the theme. It is so unusual, yet works very well. The graphics and sound were good and it does exactly what a good LD entry is supposed to: make one simple mechanic and run with it. It's a very well made entry!

johnhattan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Yeah, like the others it took me a bit to realize you chop when you release the spacebar. Once I had that down, I did much better. Really like the graphics and the sound and the animation.

I'll have to try the post-compo version, as I wanna go shopping :)

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Worked really well, I wanted to keep going. Also I don't know if you built it that way but I had the feeling that red and big trees differed from the other trees. They weren't just harder they really became my rivals. At first I wanted to chop them really bad but later on I realized that I started to avoid them.

Thanks for this :)

DrZanuff says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Man, i played the compo and the post-compo version. It's a pity you had not time to put the upgrades in the compo version, it's so addictive!

plusultra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:19pm

This is brilliant.

guoboism says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:43am

Really interesting way to cut a tree! The walk animation is so cute! Picked by GB!

Chris M says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:17am

Those poor trees with their blinking, smiling faces :(

I think I would have preferred to have the rhythm integrated more into the main scene; your art was so beautiful I didn't want to be forced to look elsewhere.

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:54am

The chop mechanic felt great! Really had to time it just right.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:41am

It is rather fun. I can play this for hours just to buy more upgrades.

DarkwindMedia says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:18pm

This was really fun and had an interesting mechanic. Very polished all around! I do echo some of the other comments that it would have been good to have the chop happen on the down press of the spacebar!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:22am

I hate the red angry Tree... LOGS FOR THE LOGS GOD!
Nice entry, funny gameplay and really cute graphic!
Well done! ;D

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:05am

Makes me want to go out and start chopping down trees! That is until I start coughing and wheezing on the second swing, so I'll just stick to Super Chop. Fun art style and the faces on the trees kill me. Hilarious. I liked how the chopping gauge markers bounced back and forth. Fun game!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:27am

Nice graphics, and the mood is fantastic. Love those happy trees!

Kizler says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:50am

Those creepy death smiles... :D

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:52am

Amazing entry! Good job! Nice mechanics, take tons of stars!!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:56pm

yeah i liked this!

it was fun to chop!

i can imagine that with the shop opened and more different things to chop and power ups and such that this would be quite a fun game

nice one!

derr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Great artwork and music! It was fun chopping down dem trees. :-)

lemer says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Great artwork and fun gameplay. Well done!

shawn42 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Really fun. Don't think I blinked for like 10 minutes straight. That chopping mechanic is great and takes a lot of concentration! Great game. Theme seemed a little off..

kikaz says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:22am

First, with the screenshots, I wasn't sure of the interest to cut some trees. But, it's a really smart and addictive game ! Thanks ;)

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:25am

Great art, love the chopping mechanic. :)

Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:00am

Really great game - loved the graphics and audio -- couldn't get the shop going myself but I'm sure it's splendid :D

Jan Tuts says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Very nice!
I liked how even the wood splinters have smiley faces :P

Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Super cool game, love the story and graphics! I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/UzsNzPlW29s

Ellian says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Great game!
The concept might be simple but it's well executed and looks really nice. Good job!

Dec 1, 2015 @ 4:32am

I also included your game in an article of my favorites from this jam and added a trophy to your Ludum Dare profile!! :) http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-2-jbncejqm

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]