Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Takodemon

by Split82 - Compo Entry

ABOUT
=====================
Takodemon is a game about small monster which moves by inflating and deflating parts of her body.

SOFTWARE USED
=====================
Engine: Unity
Code: C#
Graphics: Photoshop CC
Music / Sounds: Logic Pro 9

BEHIND THE SCENES
=====================
This time I had a lot of problems during the development. I spent first 24 hours creating totally different game. I didn't like it so I wanted to quit. Next day I went on a trip with my wife and I came with totally new concept which I was able to implement in about 7 hours. Hope you will like it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#6Innovation4.38
#7Audio4.24
#9Mood4.29
#11Overall4.19
#28Graphics4.36
#114Fun3.64
#198Theme3.81

Comments

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:44am

That's a hard one. Love the music and atmosphere.

Masonorovic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:20am

Awesome game!

Kubees says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:23am

Jako vždy, výborná hra! Velmi zajímavý koncept, těžké ovládání, krásná stylizace a ještě lepší hudební podmaz. No pecka, dávám 5/5!

im-oab says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:25am

Good gameplay. Nice graphics. :D

lubos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:28am

The trip must have been a great idea, I love everything about this game.

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:10am

5 monster / 5
great! brilliant and exelent polish game with a nice mood!
i have no words, best game what i have see on this ld ;)

Wolar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:46am

The best game I've seen so far!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:08am

Reminds me of Limbo. It's like a beautiful version of QWOP.

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:55am

This was a good entry! I loved the graphics. Simple yet effective. The audio was also great and added so much to the excellent atmosphere. The implementation of the theme was quite creative with you literally controlling a M-O-N-S-T-E-R.
However, that is a double edged sword as those lettershave almost no relation to one another which made for really akward control. Overall, a good entry cut just a little short by the theme.

DiscoFish says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:00am

Awesome!

vegapomme27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:03am

Interesting.

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:06am

Very excentric game , but great idea :) and the graphics look like limbo :)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:06am

This is one fantastic game. Really Innovative, Graphics were pleasing. Most solid game I've seen so far

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:13am

amazing idea for gameplay, simple yet effective

colinn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:15am

Although a borrowed aesthetic, the look and feel of the game are really well done.

I like the game mechanic, its simple and too the point.

Good job

Pedrito73 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:16am

Cool game, hard to control but really cool!

adamwoolridge says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:17am

Wow. Awesome. Very uniqye, awesome mood. Good mechanics and really well made.

Rakholl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:29am

Inspiring work, demonstrated at least for me what kind of sweet sounds you can put together in such a short time.

The movement scheme is alien and a nice.

The art side of the environment is a trick I wouldn't know how to do. Sets the mood to require no words to be engaging.

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:32am

Gives me vibes of Limbo. The physics were fun and smooth and I love this! You should continue with this, and make a full game :D

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:36am

WTF seven hours? This looks and plays better than most top end Jam entries. Amazing concept too. I'm almost a little suspicious.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:42am

Managed it, but woof those controls :p It's a neat idea, and the visuals're very Limbo, but was a little too QWOP-y on the controls :p

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:43am

Brilliant idea

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:48am

Great game! Very good job, well done.

Devark says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:54am

I love this idea so much! And so much polish in just 7 hours ... congrats on such a well made gem!

FiSilva says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:55am

Really pretty game and the idea is very original. The monster is really cute, very simple but I love the animation in the eye

LewisChaplin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:56am

Fantastic!! love the game. want a full version on steam!! just awesome

shimage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:56am

I really enjoyed it! I didn't understand first what the characters mean(I'm stupid). The stage design was also fascinating, and the place where I slip was novel and good in particular.

Matt Hartley says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:59am

I love it, really fun! Can't believe you did it in 7 hours

crare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:59am

kinky to learn, hard to master! :) nice game. First I had problems getting it moving because I tried all the time the alphabets under the eye doh! :D

Sanguine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:01pm

I enjoyed the game! The graphics and audio were really nice. I think it would be cool if the world was one big level instead of multiple small ones though

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:04pm

CitizenKaneClap.gif

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Clever idea. Brilliant quality execution as always. I'm a terrible typer and not a touch typer at all. Got stuck on the last level where I assume I needed a good bit of momentum to get over that hump. Fantastic for 7 hours. You're a beast.

MAnimal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Game corresponds to theme! Awesome atmosfhere and graphic.

togg says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Really good, it was satisfying to pass the final level.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Great game, amazing for such a short time!

wavertron says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Damn... this is pretty slick for the compo. Great game, innovative controls. I got stuck on the seesaw level then frustration got to me. I found the letter sequence a bit odd, didnt quite seem to roll fluidly on the keyboard, but perhaps thats just my lack of time playing.

Great game, definitely worth developing further.

sydream says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:22pm

A gem. Wonderful game. Music and SFX brilliant, arts exquisite. I would develop this further, could be a winner. Difficult to master in terms of control but that's ok :)

Dejvo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Wonderfull game. A bit too hard and missing a point. But never the less, I had a great time with the game. Good Job.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Awesome entry, especially considering the insanely tight time constraints you had. The idea is quite original and the level of polish is really high. Congratulations!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Very nice game! Well done!

bombjack says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Great game :) If had to find a single default, it would be that most of the time we have to spell M.O.N.S.T.E.R backward. But a very valuable entry anyway.

Meursault says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Even tough i hated the controls at first: it is a great game. The controls are innovative and the art style is truly beautiful. But i didnot have the patience for trying the 7th level over and over again, so i didnt finsih it.

TFR says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:19am

Very creative. I could play this for hours! The music and setting are all very well done. Congratulations!

Riftpoint says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:33am

The art is very beautiful!

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:43am

Really pretty and very innovative!

Nurbs says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:17am

Oh god I couldn't put this down! Amazing! The control scheme was tricky, but I got over it. It has a fun QWOP for monsters vibe.:P

Cerberus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:58am

what an awesome game this was, loved the graphics, and the mechanics. it was hard understanding but it was really good and i enjoyed it a lot, congrats!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:58am

What an amazing game for only 7 hours of work. Love the piano that plays throughout the game, really set the mood.

Realize2D says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:59am

Absolutely loved it! Great mechanics, great graphics, nice audio. The best game I've seen in this LD so far.

petersmyth says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:35am

Wow. Excellent game. Super interesting puzzle/puzzle-platformer game mechanic.

kalinova says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:52am

Graphics, music, and mood are spot-on, but the QWOP-ish controls are more frustrating than fun. The part where you have to go down the pit was good, but otherwise I felt like I was fighting against the controls more than I was against the environment.

Shina69 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:19am

The concept is not really something new as well as the background, but, nevertheless, it was an interesting idea to adopt those mechanics to this theme, creating an hard and artistic game that surely mesmerizes the expert players. 8/10

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:37am

Amazing! I wanted to keep playing it. But even the short amount of levels you have is awesome considering the short time span you had.
The game is innovative; fun; a hybrid of QWOP and Limbo; and still manages to incorporate the theme. Love it :)

Lissar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:58am

I actually rather enjoyed this! A bit frustrating, but I supposed that's the point.

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:32am

QWOP but with MONSTER, very original.

Ekibyou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:36am

7 hours? Goddamn, this looks like it took a week or something!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:37am

As usual, you created something great with a pretty mood and a beautiful aesthetic. The physics are interesting and the gameplay really pleasant. Each LD session, I wait your work because for me you are one of the best - a real artist. Thank you for this entry ++

Frump says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:26am

Incredible, especially for 7 hours. The monster is cute and the game looks and sounds great.

rednowall says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:24am

very cooool! I enjoy it!

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:37am

Wonderful game, top 5 for sure ! Controls are very solid, and music really serves the game !

I noticed you used the same sound as me for the rain, some are asking for my game if it's ok regarding rules for compo, what is your opinion on this ? Thank you !

ranmaru90 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:15am

Implemented in 7 hours? WOW. I could play this all day and then I'd want more!

Volatile Dove says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:35am

Nice atmosphere, but but the commands MONSTER are a little bit difficult/frustrating. Might have been better with QWERTYUIOP or maybe some mouse control.

Gave up at the level with the swing, too much frustrating.

Impressive work for a 7-hours project!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:40am

The atmosphere reminds me of World of Goo! This is a super-polished game.

DoggyDog says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:08am

Super hra, výborný nápad, atmosféra by se dala krájet. Dávám 5/5.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:33am

Great job! Very interesting gameplay. That last level was tough! This game gets a billion peppers out of a pepper.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:10am

This game is brilliant, the concept is fantastic, the atmosphere created by the music and graphics are just wonderful. You have done a seriously excellent job with this one.

Fenreliania says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:13am

I can appreciate the idea, but unfortunately the execution was a bit lacking. The monster doesn't really inflate enough to push off the ground enough to turn itself, so just moving becomes an agonising chore. The keys while thematic, have little relation to each other and ultimately make things harder than they need to be. Beautiful graphics and great music, but in the end it was more frustrating than fun.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:27am

How the heck was something so polished done in just 7 hours? Even for the full 48 hours this would have been extremely impressive. That baffles me, honestly.

The mechanics work fairly well, and once I got the ball rolling (ha) with the controls it wasn't actually too hard to navigate. I found that if you enlarged the upper corner of the direction you wanted to go you could actually gain some pretty decent speed.

The "monster" key controls is an interesting move to try and match the theme, but sadly it just felt really unintuitive to me. In some ways that difficulty of mapping strange keys to movement directions is interesting, but it's also fairly frustrating knowing that if they were mapped differently it would have made for potentially more enjoyable gameplay.

That said, the organic nature of the monster creature was stellar to play around with. I loved everything about the movement. My favorite part is the level 5 area where you slide down between the cramped walls.

The art, audio, and general ambiance is spot on. I mean just really, really good, even without considering the time constraints.

- Dylan

bytegrove says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:29am

W0w, what a cool idea, and so well executed! The last level was a little tiresome, but other than that I think the difficulty curve was really nicely planned out and and the pace of the game really matches the atmosphere, and vice versa. Now I want a custom controller for this game, shaped like the monster! :D
I really love the mood in this game, nice work!

Fantasieleben says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:54am

Great game, had a number of intersting moments. Probably would have prefered keys that were in the same circle on my keyboard like D R T H B V C because moving my fingers around in random patterns distracts from enjoying the game.

Leopoldine says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:56am

Great game. Good job.

mboaj says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:11am

Love the music, love the Limbo-like atmosphere. The controls are really innovative :)

MoreRPG Team says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:54pm

We'll join to all the praise comments and say that this is an awesome game! =)

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:15pm

7 hours whuuuuuuut!? That's amazing, and so is this game. Tough but satisfying to figure out.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Fantastic game, great concept ! It deserves to be even more developed I think

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:42pm

It looks and sounds amazing, but it was impossible to play! Took me ages to get to level 2, then I just gave up.
If only you could have picked easier keys like QWERTY

afraidofdark says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:07pm

This one is really nice ! From game mechanics, to atmosphere and music.

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Awesome ! I have nothing else to say excet that going down the pipe was hard and climbing at the end of the last level harder.

kaitokidi says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Amazing game, the atmosphere is very good, and the graphics very smooth, the gameplay is very original, little confusing but very original, i love it, really good job, please add more levels and more gameplay

Sanju says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Love this game!

hammerfrenzy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:56pm

I started feeling claustrophobic trying to go through the hole :|

redzero says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:25pm

tricky one. If you had done the goals only to the left it would be easier to move, because is just type "monster" letters in order.

geckojsc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Beautiful! Amazing atmosphere, music, gameplay, everything. I enjoyed the puzzling controls.

The last level was quite a challenge, I ended up going too fast and falling out of the world! (no issue though thanks to the reset button, the game also has a great interface)

scorched says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Limbo meets Incredipede :-)
Solid one! No need to use all these letters, 3 keys are suffice to roll. It's not necessary to brand him with the word, he is already a monster :-)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Wow this was great! Beautiful aesthetic, music, and mood, and the gameplay was challenging and engaging enough to make me stick through it until the end. Loved it! Also, it's especially impressive considering you did it in 7 hours.

-Z

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Love the mood!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:16pm

This is AWESOME! I love the mechanics and puzzle possibilities. Please develop this further. Animations are great and the control innovation is spectacular. Great job!

vlaminck says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:49pm

This game is beautiful. Very difficult because I'm bad at typing ;)

faceless71 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:51pm

I love that Limbo like design :D

Aglavra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:14pm

I really liked this game. The controls are a bit strange, but I can get used to it and enjoy the game. It is very good especially considering the amount of time you spent on it. (It occurred so, that I had only about 7 hours in total in this LD too, but your game is much, much better than mine.. congrats)

Ohmu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Awesome idea! Love it)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Very impressive especially in 7 hours! I was having trouble trying to push the monster until I realized inflating the front part to pull down worked much better. Great mood with the audio and art!

Komradus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Really difficult, but I absolutely love the graphics, atmosphere, and audio. Reminds of me the Triachnid game by Edmund McMillen.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:10pm

I love this never seen before gameplay and the polish of your game !
Graphics are simple but work well ; the mood is great too !

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:15am

Love the atmosphere of this one. Attach some puzzle elements to this and it could be a really fun game. The graphics and sound are lovely and the "moster" has a nice squishy feel. Well done for only 7 hours of work!

dydx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:48am

This is so creative and beautiful...and difficult! Love it!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:41am

Hard to control, but great idea and mood.

tehPHEN says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:26am

See saw level was difficult! But I great idea, can't believe this was done in 7 hours!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:24am

Excellent work! 5 stars from me are very rare event... But you deserve it! Relly like the game idea, game mechanic, art, music, EVERYTHING! Awesome one! It will be unreal good if you'll made new levels fro this game. Seriosly, it's have potential. Not with "MOSNTER" keys, but with more frienfly controls it can be very good game =)

dregamr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:31am

Wow!!
Wow!!
Wow!!
Wow!!
Wow!!
Wow!!

I love it all over my own life!! XD
Difficult to go upstairs an over the triangles, but the feeling is...wow!

It's a very very good work!!!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:56pm

This mechanic is really cool, the game sets a great tone, and the music complements it well.
Awesome game :D

Putting controls on MONSTER was verry clever, but i would have found it easier on my fingers if it were
arrows/WSAD

justthestudio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Very cool game! I like the way you control monster. It's very hard, but music helps you calm down. I hope you will make something more out of this entry - more levels, more obstacles, maybe some kind of enemies.

Tommyno222 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Another wonderful game! It's great you didn't give up after first attempt, this is totally worth it :) Last level seems unbeatable to me, but I enjoyed playing this game a lot.

lemer says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:56pm

This game is simply delicious. Awesome gameplay, mechanics and great atmosphere. A really good job.

Arche-san says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Impressive work for the amount of time.
I like how you used the theme for your game.
Beautiful art and innovative game mechanic.
Good work :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:24pm

QWOP with more keys. Just what I always wanted!

D:

Maramasa says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Great atmosphere, music and graphics. Reminds me of a cross between Limbo and World of Goo. Good job!

Dizzly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:43pm

One of the best so far for me. Love the shaders!!!

wooltech says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:33am

Great concept, and looks wonderful.

Wevel says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Love the movement mechanics great game

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Great music and atmosphere, very innovative.

EwChap says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:52am

very unique. Love the idea.

NamNam says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:42am

Amazing ! It's hard but the gameplay is very inventive !

derr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Cool and unique idea. Plays very fluid when you get into the rhythm of the mechanic. Also the mood is spot on!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:40pm

That was very interesting! Could be a fun local multiplayer game in there somewhere as well! :)

uvwar says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:55am

Pretty incredible,and totally crazy you managed this in 7 hours. It's great!

xvw says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:01am

Awesome.
I was so proud when I finished the last level... :D
Thanks for this great experience!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:13am

The controls are very frustrating. I found out you can more or less make the monster move by typing "monster" or "retsnom" but it still doesn't work very consistently. I wished the monster is more responsive, but this entry is pretty innovative.

Wryxo says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:56am

Very nice. Could use more levels, but 7 hours is impressive.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:32pm

5/5... I don't know what to add...

mokujin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Best from what i've already seen. 5/5

arzi says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Awesome! Really stylish game and innovative gameplay. Definitely one of my favourites in this LD.

Galan says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:54pm

I like the idea, but it's a bit TOO hard, and it needs some kind of consolation for failure, like derping in QWOP.

Chikoness says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Absolutely love it.

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

ghostlyguru says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Enjoyed it. The controls were interesting and enjoyable once you get the hang of it. Glad you managed to finish something!

zatyka says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:45am

Such a unique game. Awesome visuals. One of my favorites.

Erkberg says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:32pm

This is extremely impressive, especially considering it was made within 7 hours. The idea is brilliant and the execution even better. I love the visual style and the music, together it creates a nice dark atmosphere. It's really an awesome game all around! The only thing I missed was some kind of story, the mood would've been perfect to tell a sad little tale about the very cute monster. (maybe there's something at the end? I didn't manage to beat the last level...)
Overall, one of the best games I played this LD, how you did all this within 7h is beyond me. :)

bigbuggames says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Great atmosphere, music and graphics, excellent idea and execution. I enjoyed every moment playing with it. Looking forward to see your post-ludum levels!

jojocanard says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Fun and beautiful in the same time, great experience

Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Really inovative mechanics! Nice and clean graphics, one of the best entries ive played! Good job

cbear_wallis says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:12am

To be honest...one of the best games i have played this LD. The visuals were moody and grimy(although very very derivative of Limbo it still worked to great effect). The mechanics were really interesting and they started to become even more so in the last two levels. I would have liked to have seen more levels that were more than just introductory(though im aware you were hard pressed for time). I really liked this game :)

Drauthius says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:07pm

It was very enjoyable to control that monster/ball!

kikaz says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Wow ! I've never seen this kind of gameplay ! Really unique and interesting concept, great idea, good job !

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 5:34pm

The art style reminds of "contre jour". I really like the mood of your game and I am impressed you did this in only 7 hours. Good job! ;)

Sep 10, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Lovely, sublime, and a great difficulty curve.

namrog84 says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:28am

quite clever and difference, ambience is great

Pierrec says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:04am

Great mechanics!

camlang says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:15am

This is awesome game. Well done!

Patomkin says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Amazing entry, really dig the art style - probably the best compo entry in this jam. Wanted to finish the game, but got stuck at the plank, because none of the jumping around helped to get up :(

DuzDuz says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Amazing work and concept. Nice graphics!

dcolgan says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:30pm

I really want to like this game, but I have to confess I can not get very far in level two. It looks like a great idea, but I am not good enough on the key board or I just don't get it. The effect is that it is not much fun for me. Everything else is great though. I think the music in particular is excellent.

Sep 12, 2015 @ 12:41am

Great work!

local minimum says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:50pm

It was hard to stay in the rhythm of the rotation as it accelerated as fast as it did, but it really didn't matter since you had balanced the difficulty so well. It is a fantastic game you have created. The visuals, audio and the fact that the content really is mostly about experiencing and not adrenaline of figuring stuff out -- it fits perfectly together. I would have loved some animation upon reaching the end of each level. Like if the letter-appendicies floated off you and then the eye faded out or followed after. Something. As I think the casual style fits very well and since I do hope you will make this into a full game, I hope you keep challenges on the easy side and instead work with discovery, dynamic events and embed a non-verbal slow-paced story to evolve alongside the progression through the game.

Shaun LeBron says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:17pm

awestruck that you were able to build this in 7 hours. this is really good

arroz says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:23am

Can you share source again? The link is broken.

arroz says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:23am

Can you share the source again? The source is broken.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]