Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

SQUISH PUNY FLESHBAGS

by yajiv - Jam Entry

You're a mighty sea creature that wants to wreck havoc for no particular reason! Squish the puny humans that attempt to stop you in your tracks:

Controls:

Letter On Screen - stomp that area with a tentacle.

Left Click - Fire your deadly eye laser. Be wary tho, it runs out quickly!

Art by Mary Taylor: https://www.facebook.com/lunarflurry

Programmed in LÖVE2D.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#98Innovation(Jam)3.73
#126Audio(Jam)3.70
#137Fun(Jam)3.64
#197Overall(Jam)3.64
#222Graphics(Jam)4.00
#269Humor(Jam)3.30
#290Mood(Jam)3.43
#298Theme(Jam)3.74
#1668Coolness39%

Comments

Leuthil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:01am

Pretty fun game man. I really like the sound FX and music. The swoosh sounds from swinging the tentacles was really well made and the music was pretty good too. Fun game but I wish you made it longer and more difficult!

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:18am

This was very well made. It was definitely unlike any other game I've played so far. I could really see kids and parents loving this as a tool to learn to type as well! Good work!

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:19am

This is a lot like my last LD game KeyTD (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=36186) but way prettier and nicer! Graphics and audio are great. It's too easy though, I went through many waves with no danger of losing a life.

Ryusui says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:58am

I love it! I have only two gripes: one, the "tanks" don't show any sign of damage (it took me a few tries to realize I didn't miss; they just required two hits to bring down) and the game ends after five waves instead of continuing until I get owned.

Other than that, VERY well-polished and well-conceived. :3

Sicilica says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:58am

A pretty fun little game, although a little easy. Would have love to see it be mapped to the whole qwerty keyboard.

hcosta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Great and addictive game. I find the mechanics very original and fun, and art and sound are also balanced, good work.

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:41am

Nice job! Squishing humans is a nice motivator to learn how to type :)

reiknight says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:18am

An octopus learning how to write... maybe for dating with a pretty anime girl. :P AWESOME GAME!!!

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:18am

Oh man! SO original concept! Love the sfx

Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Great game!

The input scheme you used was pretty genius and fit perfectly with playing as an eight armed creature!

Art and audio was also really well done but didn't really get why all the enemies were so completely different from each other (the fast guys in space suits as well as the tough vikings which took two hits to kill), like why are some of them from the future and some of them from the past?

My only gripe gameplay wise was that it was pretty effective to just mash the keys, I would suggest thinking about ways to make each hit matter more so I wouldn't be able to get away with just spamming all the keys.

Overall great entry!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:56pm

I love this game. The Squish sound is so satisfying, and the difficulty ramp up is high enough to keep me interested. Most times games that use the "bunch of keys" mechanic end up as a button masher but this didn't feel that way at all. Nicely done all around.

--Barry

OmarShehata says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Great game! Very fun, I love the keyboard mashing idea! And yay for Love2D!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Well done! The game is very fluent and nice. I especially like how you only have two arms on each side to hit with. The eye laser seemed redundant, and it feels like the tentacles have a bit too large hitbox (can squash things from a distance). Would have been nice if you uploaded the .love file directly, since I had to download the Mac version and get it from there to play it on Linux.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:10am

Awesome Awesome Game, i now realize just how bad my typing skills are

Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Interesting, lots of great artwork. I had a constant expression of bemusement at squishing all the dudes.

Oct 19, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Fun game!! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/HYvDqXC_RQg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]