Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Slayer

by Pheonise - Compo Entry

WARNING: WEBGL EXPORT IS NOT THAT GREAT - LOCAL BUILDS INFINITELY BETTER (At least on Windows - don't have other OS to test, so those builds might be not-good)

What was intended to be a dark and gritty telling of a village beset by evil turned out to be a pretty dumb and silly game.

I curse my inability to plan around my zero-skill at art! I'll have to practice art for next Dare.

Not happy about this submission, but figure I'd put it up anyway.
Source code turned to rubbish in the final few hours, so don't look to it for learning. Unless you want to learn what NOT to do.

NEXT TIME, things will be different.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#294Humor3.11
#588Fun2.83
#715Theme2.96
#823Graphics2.29
#877Overall2.50
#888Innovation2.04
#1504Coolness44%

Comments

hijomo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:51am

I like the giant square ax.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:00am

Those poor green duders... what have I become! I truly am a monster.

uvwar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:02am

I like this a lot! Is it just me or is it every time I restart there are more 'monster' people? Eventually I had everyone in the red and swarming me.

Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:42am

I mean why not? Nice one

dkdwrek says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:23am

Awh, yeah. Blue man group member finally lets his rage out with an axe haha

namrog84 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:53am

chop chop chop chop!!! Its what I do!

loadsofmana says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:55am

while it may not have come out how you intended i think its a lot of fun, i enjoyed rescuing the poor village of green ice skaters from the red menace with my cube-axe of justice.

Orni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:00am

cool experience
fits the theme in an interesting way

well done

nicotuason says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:02am

That's a nice big axe...

lubos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:16am

Hey! OSX build is not working here and web version is stuck at loader for some reason.. (not rating ofc, just wanted to let you know)

Jeasonfire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:23pm

What a fun game! Some feedback from hitting probably would've been a plus, but otherwise, a fine game you have made!

Pheonise says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Thanks for the feedback, everyone!
I've replaced the Web link with a non-WebGL version (since Unity's WebGL ain't that great yet).

Jelinib says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Ragdolls make everything better!

Also, still trying to move after I die makes a hilarious bug. The blue guy seems to disappear into the ground, so everybody else has no idea what to crowd around, and they end up merging into a single green mass somewhere off in the distance.

Axing everyone down quite entertaining!

dmcfarline says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Don't mess with the Blue Man Group

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]