Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

MONSTREEUM

by leparlon - Compo Entry

You must HOLD up for the tree to take off. Don't let the birds reach the trees.
Another thing, you may need to click the game again after clicking the play button.
There is more than tree ways to kill a bird.
Tree can be landed (just for the challenge though)


Well, Monster by definition is an aberration of nature. And if an armored rocked fueled bird impaling tree is not one, I don't know what is.

This plays as the old missile game but you use your body instead of projectiles. You can press space to shoot some acorns (What is something I forgot to remove from the game, so dont use it very much, please?).


Controls:
Arrow Keys or WASD and Space

There is a anoying bug where the birds that die on their own count toward your score, I will fix it on a post compo version (Im just waiting for more feedback on the comments)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#344Humor2.97
#348Fun3.19
#394Innovation3.12
#527Overall3.05
#600Audio2.33
#606Mood2.76
#651Graphics2.72
#875Theme2.40

Comments

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:07am

Bonus points to innovation for being an armored tree... wtf! :D
Even with the definition you gave, not certain if I agree on the take of "monster" or not, but not a bad play.
I found myself getting good at swaying from left to right without losing altitude, able to knock out full lines of birds, not bad.

Move127 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:10am

Just create one large pillar of acorns and you become pretty much invincible. WASD and the arrow keys didn't seem to do anything.

leparlon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:20am

@Move127 that is a bug, forgot to remove the acorn shooting! And so so so very glad you thought they were acorns and not something else. And have you tried holding the up or W key?

Jawesome says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:43am

it was not the best I've played, but it was alright.

leparlon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:46am

@Jawesome alright is alright with me! I personally love this mechanic, have you tried landing the tree? Thanks for playing btw! and @Grahhhhh try impaling the birds.

amortus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:47am

It's kinda addictive.

jphelps says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:23am

great game. Lots of fun. very addicting

tweedle says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:27am

very difficult! unique theme use to boot -t

lanestp says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:28am

I thought the gameplay was super creative. Kind of like missile command meets a lander game. Remarkably fun! Not 100% convinced about being a monster. But tons of fun!

tuturto says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:29am

Hilarious game. First I build a tower of acorns, then I tapped W just so slightly so I could shoot acorns while rotating on ground. Then I figured I'll turn the tree over and burn some birds with flames. Eventually I took off and started impaling birds and burning them with fire.

Mykaelos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:31am

After figuring out how to fly, I initially thought that you had to run into the birds to kill them, which was just ridiculously fun. Then I accidently hit space while on the ground and realized I could rotate like a turret and take them down that way (much easier).

I do want to say, K is a really awkward key to restart the level. Hunting for a key in the middle of my keyboard keeps me from getting back into the action.

Definitely a lot of fun, good particle effects and animations.

ekajjake says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:42am

Quite an interesting game!

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Nice game. So much fun playing. Still couldnt feel the monster in the game.

sgehlich says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:38pm

With my 144Hz monitor, I was unable to play. Switched to 60Hz and it worked. You should not update positions based on render / tick count, but on tick delta. Apart from that, the game was okay.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Best rocket tree simulator of 2015.

aucguy says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:57am

Fun arcade game.

shawn42 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:41pm

5 stars of Fun! Very nice. I found myself crashing and burning much more than birds actually getting to the tree. Maybe having 3 ships to pilot and use them as multiple lives? It was pretty far off the theme, but great entry.

handkor says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 12:12am

Nice take on missile command. KILL THE BIRDS

Teesquared says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 3:40am

What makes the tree so angry? The birds make this line and I don't know why they make a line but they do. I've never pressed my up arrow harder. It's angry at me now like the tree is angry at the birds that make a line. And acorns.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:37am

Addictive, for sure, and just fun to be a rocket tree trying to kill birds that.....kills trees?
well that made me laugh! :D

bigbuggames says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 10:11am

Love it, great for innovation and fun! I loved the retro style audio too!

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:18am

Thought it was a pretty decent game. The tree felt really heavy, and would fall very quickly, while the rockets didn't feel nearly as strong. It was really easy to lose control of the tree, so it made it hard to play the game. That said, I did score above 4000, so that's good. I did think that different way of killing = different score was a really nice touch. Would have liked some background music.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]