Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

T For Terror

by Thorig - Jam Entry

Run, jump, shoot and dodge hazardous obstacles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#888Fun(Jam)2.55
#902Humor(Jam)1.94
#956Graphics(Jam)2.30
#1032Mood(Jam)2.10
#1060Overall(Jam)2.45
#1096Theme(Jam)1.80
#1752Coolness36%

Comments

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:48am

Nice start to build further on. Thought it was a little weird that gravity when falling was different than after a jump.

sydream says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:47am

Nice effort, though the physics is bit odd. Couldn't quit the game but with AltF4. Don't have clues in the game how this fits the theme.

ruerob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Nice little begining, but it could need some polishing.

Tuism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:49pm

A good try, the structures and things are all in place, it's now time to tweak things :)

1. The falling was weird - I get that you're doing variable height jump, but it felt very unnatural.
2. No checkpoints. Frustrating.
3. One hit kill + no checkpoints = frustrating.
4. The way you basically wait for an enemy to turn away from you before attacking isn't fun. In this case, patience is... anti-fun.

Good luck learning game dev! :D

jofra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:59pm

the jumping felt wierd and i would liked to see a death animation (because i died so many times X) ).
needs polishing and im not sure that it fits the theme right. but it´s a cool game.
good luck

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:12am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

cyrixd says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:12am

Very difficult, had a nice old-school feel to it. It could stand some polish in the jump physics, as well as enemy fire. It felt a bit unfair that enemy bullets could travel the whole screen but mine didn't, plus it was hard to know when their bullets were coming. I battled through for a while and had some fun; keep at it!

ChaosCult says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:33am

Challenging platformer, though there is a feeling that collisions are wrong somehow, especially when jumping from the end of platform. The only thing I can't see is how does it fits the theme. Do I need to play to the end to see if I'm a monster? That's a bit harsh :)

Pantoufle says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:00am

Nice entry!
It's really hard to make a platformer but you did well. You should work more on gravity and collisions. And there's a little bug when firing from the right to the left, we can't see the projectile.
Otherwise, that's great work here! Congrats!

Lonely Vertex says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:21am

I think that using up arrow for jump instead of n would be more comfortable but I got used to this after while. The difficulity was fine, it's boring if the game is not challenging. Didn't match the theme much, however, fun to play.

solkar says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:48am

The music is a bit annoying

mubox says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Nice audio and good graphics. ^^

The gravity acts differently when you release the jump button.

sorlok says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:51am

Nice entry, and fun level progression. Gravity and collisions were a bit off, but it's certainly off to a good start!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]