Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Earth Was a Bad Choice

by zatyka - Compo Entry

You're an alien that was hoping Earth was a nice vacation destination, but quickly found out the inhabitants are hostile. Race to your ship through a flurry of explosions. There's a definitive ending. I hope you get to see it.

Directions:
-Press any key to progress the dialog
-Move left and right with either Arrow keys or A&D
-M toggles audio
-Try and remain airborne
-Chain explosions for sweet combos

All content created during the 48 hours. Sound effects and music generated via bfxr and cgMusic.

8/24 - Added Touch Controls

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Fun4.45
#4Overall4.37
#42Audio3.85
#48Innovation3.91
#48Mood3.92
#58Humor3.82
#159Graphics3.80
#204Theme3.80

Comments

Suese says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:29am

Great stuff 5/5 overall. Lots of polish. Thought it got easier with more baddies :p

thristhart says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:06am

I love this take on Indestructo Tank! I also appreciated that the tanks were indestructible, heh heh heh. Awesome art style and the music was the perfect contrast of serene and energetic.

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:05am

I really love this one. Story and solid mechanic. Nice retro graphics as well. Awesome until the end with the "up up up" ending <3

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:16am

Nice entry and good polish. Loved your previous entry more but I like this!

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:50pm

really good entry...very polished

Sanju says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:02pm

So simple, so fun. Loved the graphics too.

RobotMeal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:18am

Cute graphics and fun combos. My best combo is 12 with 9.3s airtime. I really like the ending! Good entry!

TsN_RaMPaGE says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:20am

One of the best games I have played so far. Good job!

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:21am

5/5 great stuff, great game, gratz :D

hdong says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:21am

Loved basically everything about this game
Great game!

Hippomancer says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:25am

I loved this one. Simple but one of the funner games I've played in this jam.

mattthehoopy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:38am

5s across the board. played it to the end. Loved it.
Though seriously. Level 8... why :(

colludium says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:00am

That. Was. Excellent!

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:29am

Loved this game! Well made, simple, and good writing.

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:32am

I am like the cockroach, nukes only make me stronger.

Controls were perfect for the game, I don't know if I'm a natural or if difficulty is a little low, I only died twice. Solid entry!

Xanderzoo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:38am

Really fun. Surprising amount of polish. I gave it a 5/5.

mklee says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:39am

Wow this is really excellent! You took an endless runner (of sorts) and added a really fun and interesting mechanic here. Lots of nice variation with different vehicles, missiles, bombs, etc. Kudos on having a fun little ending that played on the mechanic nicely. Excellent job!

ethteck says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:41am

Polished, fun, and well balanced. Overall just a great game.

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:42am

I really liked the gameplay idea, combined with the whole presentation! Good job!

Odefus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:45am

Yepp.. That was great through and through.

EncryptedCow says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:41pm

great game! gameplay was very good

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Great little story and a fun mechanic, it was a fun twist on the endless runner. I played all the way to the end and really enjoyed the story as well. Thank you for not making me go back the beginning when I failed, that was much appreciated. I managed a 17-jump combo with the best air time of 9 seconds, is that good?

glerikud says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Great art, great music and detailed system presented as a simple one. It even counts the highest hit combo and air time! Amazing work, I really enjoyed playing it. And an other thumbs up for the engine :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:53am

Awesome work. I died a few times on the last couple levels but didn't give up. The gameplay was pretty addictive and well polished. Ending was great. Congrats!

walaber says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Awesome job! The ending is really fun and funny, and bouncing between the planes, tanks, bullets, and bombs is a really fun time!

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:33pm

This was so much fun! =D
Really enjoyed playing it.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Great work, I had a lot of fun with this one! Not sure why I was playing to the music from Chris Sawyer's Locomotion, but I guess that's a cgMusic thing. Only sore point is that the later levels seem very RNG dependant, I basically got a 5 second stretch of nothing that killed me at one point... Idea and gameplay (when the RNG is being nice) are actual brilliant tho, nice one!

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:37pm

That was bloody brilliant!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:59pm

As usual, your entry is really, really good. Gameplay is fun and easy to pick up, yet requires a little skill to stay up in the air longer. I died at level 9 and was like: "Oh please, don't make me start again from the beginning" and thankfully you didn't. :)
I really enjoyed the visual the style and the music was amazing. Overall, this is just an awesome game, good job!

pyokoanarogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:10pm

flawless victory!

CrownCity says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:02am

This game really satisfied me! It's so fun to play and felt so content with my 30 combo! You did a good job on this one!

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:51am

Great game! Really liked the intro tying in how to play the game. Nice job!

Resonious says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:44am

This is the most complete feeling game I have played for LD! It's fun too! Awesome work.

zuurr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:02am

wow that was great. one of the most fun entries for sure.

probably the entry with the most potential.

dig the particle effects too.

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:51am

Wow, this is my new favorite. The mechanics works really well and controls are just perfect. check this highscore: http://imgur.com/GueHGv3

weazen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:23am

This is one of the best games I've played this Ludum Dare batch. Well done!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:44am

It's like a less ridiculous and far, far, more charming version of indestructo tank!

The music gave had kind of a cute vibe, which I liked. Difficulty of the energy drop rate scaled pretty well I think, since the more guys there are, the easier it is to stay in the air, especially once they start shooting stuff.

The bouncing physics were spot on as well. Only complaint, I guess, is that it can get frustrating when not enough guys show up together, making chains really hard. Overall, though, really fun!

yokcos700 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:10am

"Iggy. Fire the nukes."
Man, this is a fun game. Graphically, it's nice and consistent and I love the style. The music and sound is pretty great too. I like that in later levels, you added more stuff, despite the fact that the way to make it harder would be to remove stuff - more stuff is more fun. I appreciate that you don't start from the beginning on death. The whole thing feels like a very well made and complete game because it is just that - a well made and complete game. Good show, sir.

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:32am

Really liked it! Felt it got a bit repetitive (10 stages of the same mechanic) and wish you did more with the "bullet-hell"/chaotic elements. Enjoyed the ending too though :)

TheThirdOne says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:41am

One of the best ludum dare gamesI have played.

jackrugile says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:15am

Incredibly well done! This is one of the funnest games I've played so far in LD33. Thank you thank you thank you for taking the time to put the off screen indicator for where you are ;)

vortex says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:40am

20 hit combo... aww yeah... sadly can't vote this year; would be 5/5

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:14pm

This is what a Ludum Dare game should be. Mechanics are very simple yet addictive. Would play this as a time-killer on smartphone/tablet.

jofra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:51pm

18combo air combo!!
very cool entry and a very addicting mechanic, loved the classical music on the background.
gj

danialias says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:52am

Wow! Only wow. Top class, top score for this one. And exactly the kind of game I like. I wonder if with a fixed pattern of enemies, skilled people would be able to keep flying the whole stage, that would be great stuff for perfectionists and superplayers.

And the end... that made me say "wow" out loud :D. Thanks a lot for this! Keep on it!

rnlf says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:38pm

What a cool game! Maybe the most fun I had with any LD game so far. At first I felt like it got easier with time, but when I ran out of time several times in a row I noticed I was wrong.

Pretty cool to finish a level running on fumes :-) "Fire the nukes", so funny over the top :D

The music was very fitting, even if I had never thought of a piano tune :-)

My best combo was 32 with 22.8s airtime :-)

justinooncx says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:28am

Hoooly shit. Amazing game. Great art, nice music, and especially great mechanics that are innovative and fun!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Whoa! very good entry, so complete and so polish, what a lesson ;)
And you make me aware that Construct 2 can now produce HTML5.

zillix says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:17am

awesome! the gameplay was simple, yet quite a bit of fun. definitely had a few close calls, but I made it all the way to the end :)

cambrian_era says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:36am

Quite fun when you get in a rhythm, and a lot of polish (especially the music). Only complaint is that difficulty felt a bit uneven in that the hardest thing was when no cars spawned to launch you into the air.

01101101 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Very cool gameplay and the idea is executed well! Congrats for a really fun game :)

Sparrow says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Wow, that was so much fun! This is done so well!

jcourt says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:15pm

This is one of the few level-based games where I thought the levels were balanced well. It took me a while to figure out I had to go towards the ship at the end, I had thought I was just going to ride the nukes to space and go home that way.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:01am

Ironic indeed. Great entry.

Stending says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Awesome, loved the story!

bombjack says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:45am

the game is fun. the sound of the step is really annoying if you wear headphones. The art is minimalist but effective. good job.

freaknarf says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Cool simple game :] fun and dynamic gameplay, quite original and simple, it's well done and polished, good job !
Making combos was motivating and enjoyable. Also it has a nice visual filter and a cool ending :]

pixzleone says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:05am

That was awesome, hard to put down, I had to play to the end.
Good job!

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:13am

Amazing game! Loved how the the narrative was presented. Great gameplay mechanic, its super engaging. Loved the art style and the music. Fantastic work!

Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:42am

This one was really fun. It's an "endless" runner where you actually try to get hit by the baddies! The funny thing was as I was playing I thought it would be cool if there were a counter telling me my airtime and combo. As soon as I thought that, one popped up in the corner of the screen!

Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Funny game, loved having to keep the character in the air. Great job! I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/fxtKngYPsCg

Interface says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 5:55am

Almost made it! Incredibly fun, great game.

peterthehe says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Nice game. Very polished but could do with more enemies.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Really neat entry. I like this game which is really innovative. I think that I have never seen something like this. The pure aesthetic is a good idea so as to focus himself only on the game. Music is a little bit repetitive, but this is not a problem. The avatar is so cute - I like him. One of my favorites entries for this LD session - the thirty three. Thank you for this contribution - you make my day ++

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Well done :) your game made me want to go until the end!
so did I! :D
i liked it and well it was relaxing, that was the nice, simple ingredients to make a good little game :)
well done

igoramendola says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:37am

this entry is really good in so many levels! everything is nicely done... graphics, audios, gameplay, theme, etc... definitely one of my favorites! 5/5 :D

Dec 1, 2015 @ 4:35am

I also included your game in an article of my favorites from this jam and added a trophy to your Ludum Dare profile!! :) http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-2-jbncejqm

binasa says ...
Jul 11, 2017 @ 6:03pm

Are you born together or you can work the relationship out. http://downloadgoodthingsfast.top You can enter your color code and work from there, or just type anything and see what happens if you're into that kind of stuff.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]