Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Cyber Butcher

by Infininete - Jam Entry

Cyber Butcher puts you in the shoes of your average everyday metroidvania boss. Our idea for this game was
to experience the game how the bosses of videogames would experience it in realtime, eg. players browsing
inventory for potions or pausing the game and going for a dinner in the middle of the fight. The boss (the player)
would be in no control during these events. Sadly we had no time to emphasize on this and we had to take a few
shortcuts there and there to get the game packed in time. Another bright idea was also to include some "hilarious"
dialogue which exaggerates the frustration of the boss character with cheesy one liners and f-bombs, you might
hear some of them although they might not be set up as intended.

Oh well it turned out pretty good for what it was worth, check it out :)


Required Download:
(Visual Studios 2013 Redist Package)
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

CONTROLS:

WASD - movement
J - attack

You can punch enemies and crush them beneath your feet.

They are customizeable in the menu.


TEAM:

Aceeri & Infininete - Programming
Smilecythe - Graphics and sound

TOOLS:

C++ using Visual Studios 2013
Angel2D


LINKS:

http://smilecythe.deviantart.com/

http://infinine.weebly.com/ (horridly outdated)

Bug Fixes -----

uncommented line "theWorld.Add(z)" that was commented out at line 651 Hero.cpp (thus no throwables !)

Commented out platform jump (caused other machines to crash)

Moved "If ( health < 0 ) Killed()" to top of function (caused other machines to crash)



My personal favorite games from LD (try them out!):

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=21736
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=22181

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#141Graphics(Jam)4.20
#435Theme(Jam)3.57
#600Audio(Jam)2.54
#694Humor(Jam)2.48
#819Mood(Jam)2.72
#886Innovation(Jam)2.50
#893Overall(Jam)2.78
#1078Fun(Jam)2.04

Comments

Nurbs says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:14am

Love the graphics. Very early 16-bit era.:P

DoggyDog says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:04am

Awesome graphics, the game was sometimes freezing.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:23pm

The graphics are awesome.

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:23pm

that was some freeky game X) aha
great job

Sanju says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Great graphics, but buggy controls

Somnium says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:38pm

The graphics were great!

The game crashed a few times for me.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:47pm

GREAT GRAPHIC!
I love it and the set of colours that you used!
It took a lot to get the controls.. Don't know why! D:
BTW nice entry! :D

oxysoft says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Insane graphics, but the gameplay was missing a bit :/

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Great graphics. The controls menu was not working for me.
There is no end to the game right?

Keep up the good work!

Infininete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Yes controls menu is a bit confusing, I wouldn't even bother with it. Just use WASD and J. And there is an end to the game, die :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Interesting... A good concept. Had a similar idea when I was brainstorming, I also thought it would be awesome to play as a boss sitting in a room waiting for the 'player' to arrive.

The gameplay is slow and ultra simplistic here, I didn't really know when I was hitting the player or not. With the only goal being to stay alive, I felt a bit bored after a bit.

I have a big complaint though, the audio got to my nerves really quickly. Relying on cursing for humor is somewhat abrasive and I think some people might be offended by some of the samples.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:54pm

nice graphics. revolutionary soundeffects... ...penis!

local minimum says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:11pm

I liked the graphics, but I had a really hard time with the controls and the audio. Sorry to say.

Filecreation says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:16pm

you have achieved quite a lot with a limited palette!
Due to the contrast, nothing gets too unclear and everything, as far as i saw, stayed nicely readable.

Infininete says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Audio slurs were bits of an unfinished dialogue that was supposed to play during hero appearances, game intro and various mid-game events, instead they got added in semi-randomly which might of not been a good idea as agreed by the critique. We have hopes to improving this game outside the contest, arranging the dialogue properly, improving the hero AI, improving controls and adding a leveling up system for the boss's special moves and skills. The game would then play a little bit like a tower defense game, with the hero attempting to fight the boss 30 sec or so everytime after dying. The hero would also level up and have his own inventory which's contents would improve over time as well, he could browse it ingame to change his arsenal or use potions similar how you would use them in GBA/DS Castlevania titles. I'm glad the graphics are appealing, I had fun time creating them and making them in a hurry was a good experiment. Gives us a good benchmark on how much work/quality our team can do in specific amount of time.

-Smilecythe

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:48am

The graphics are very well done, but the controls are very confusing; jump almost never worked right. Additionally, I wasn't sure if there was an end condition. I was able to defeat the player a handful of times, but when when I purposely tried to die, I found the player wasn't really hitting me. I left the game run for a few hours and my health was only down a few points. Not sure if that was intended or not.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]