Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Regnum Dracones

by alyphen - Compo Entry

Regnum Dracones is a multiplayer RTS castle-building game with a persistent world.
After using some resources to build your castle, venture out as a dragon and destroy the structures other people have made to get more resources!

I'm running the main server on seventh-root.com (which will be up throughout the judging period and beyond, if it isn't, give me a shout and I'll look into the problem), but you're welcome to host your own as well if you wish. The map is currently 250x250 but I can enlarge this if the game becomes more popular and it fills up.

If you want to host your own, be sure to configure database (mysql) settings in config.json and create the tables using this SQL: https://gist.github.com/alyphen/e79089dc4913e21dc03b

Controls:

Right click to move.
Left click to place the unit you've selected in the shop.
Middle click (and drag) to move the camera.
Hover to find out information about a unit.

Changelog:

v0.1.1 (24th August 2015) - fixed a minor problem with how the client closed connections causing "connection reset by peer" errors on the server
v0.1.2 (24th August 2015) - fixed an NPE on the client caused by attempting to get information on a unit for which the client did not have player information for

Releases:

v0.1.x is the series based on the state of the game at the end of the 48 hours. Only bugfixes are incorporated in this series now. The source for these releases is on the release-0.1.x branch on GitHub. Any bugfixes are merged there before merging back into master (the current deployed state)

v0.2.x is an upcoming series which will incorporate new features on both the client and server. This is being worked on on the release-0.2.x branch on GitHub. These releases are not on master at this time, and no downloads are available yet.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#318Audio3.05
#329Innovation3.22
#617Humor2.35
#619Overall2.96
#658Mood2.68
#762Graphics2.48
#763Theme2.83
#786Fun2.52
#1578Coolness41%

Comments

Treks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:04am

Awesome! Although not much to do with no one else playing, I'll be interested in playing with more people.

Dasginger says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:37am

Really nice, although I lost my castle within about 10 seconds of building it. I think a minimap, or some kind of "go home" button would have been useful.
I'll try this again later when there are more people playing, hopefully!

zdavid112z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:39am

A minimap, more buildings and a help menu displaying the controls ingame would have been nice. Also, it froze when i right-clicked inside my base which was surrounded by walls completely. Nice game overall though.

Fenreliania says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:02am

A good attempt, and getting a multiplayer game with a hosted server is no small task, but the game ultimately doesn't have much to it. I couldn't see a way to collect resources, and unless I'm missing something there were only two items in the shop; walls and flags. Clicking on the wall and then where I wanted it each time proved frustrating, the ability to click and drag or at least keep the shop item selected would have made things much nicer.

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:04pm

It's a cool idea, really, but the map is a bit... hard to navigate. The terrain is the same overall, so there are no points you could remember, etc. A minimap would help a lot here, indeed. I think there should also be defensive measures to protect what you have created, maybe NPC minions, or a turret?

Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Love this kind of game. It's a very brave attempt to do this in only 48 hours. Well done.

sorlok says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:10am

Having trouble hosting my own server; it complains it can't connect to the database?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]