Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Red Planet

by Zccc - Compo Entry

Shoot aliens and discover the story of the crew of a space mission that went wrong.

Z or C to shoot
X to strafe/interact(with doors and computers)
X + double tap on left/right to roll
R to restart from the same room if you run out of ammo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#56Graphics4.17
#62Overall3.85
#154Mood3.55
#199Fun3.43
#517Audio2.60
#665Innovation2.68
#701Theme2.98
#1314Coolness47%

Comments

SudoDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:07am

Very nice, just a bit too hard to control with out mouse control.

Orni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:15am

I love simplistic, retro looking shooters - reminds me of Doom

Well done. Took me a while to realize I could strafe, but then I kicked alien ass.

art is lovely and the story telling is well implemented.

well done :D

adamwoolridge says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:38am

Really, really cool! Looks fantastic, very Duke Nukem! It wasn't very clear what was interactive or not as everything kind of looked the same. Really good job!

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:39am

Great mood and feel, I love the graphics and would definitely play it if it were further developed into a game

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:50am

wow, amazing!! i have play it too long)
Very hard controls - yea. Interesting gameplay-fights with aliens
But im stuck on room with 3 lock-keys-door. Dont know what i have to do;)
also, i finded the bug: you can open the door to yourself and get stuck! And only restart will help you
Also this game can speedrun ;) will be great!
amazing entry! 5 monster aliens / 5

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:52am

Can you maybe change the keybindings to something more compatible with different keyboard layouts?
the "QWERTZ" keyboard for example has the "Z" at the top and the "X" at the bottom, making it pretty difficult to use those keys simultaneously.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:57am

Your game has a really nice feel, but having the same button for strafe and interact is awkward to use.
Maybe look with mouse or strafe but holding space.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:06am

Got really far (past the button you shoot), then died :P Love the visual style. Gameplay was pretty tricky 'till I learned how to strafe. Pretty neat!

Mark Smith says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:31am

Nice! Great presentation and gameplay. Originally I didn't like the controls but once I got the hang of using X to strafe it reminded me of back when I used to play DOOM without a mouse. Some music would have been great but overall a great submission.

Zccc says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:26am

Thank you everyone! I dind't had any time to test it, so I believe it can be near impossible to beat it, but I promise the ending is worth it. Glad to know some of you got pretty far! Thank you for reporting bugs and other things.
@Gaius Baltar you can also shoot with C.

crare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Nice looking game style reminds me a lot of first doom :) controls are bit hard for firstpersonshooter but I guess it's the style of old fps-games. I had a little problem at the start to get through the door, didn't understand you can break those boxes first.. :P + for the little story going on.

Zccc says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Hey everyone, I found out that it was impossible to beat the second level as you don't have any cards to open the doors. I uploaded a new version that you can now complete. I also made that whenever you die, instead of reseting the game it now restarts from the room you died. There are only 3 rooms. Enjoy!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:08am

Amazing! I was honestly impressed by the overall presentation of this. It was the first entry I was curious enough about to download the standalone and I wasn't disappointed. The graphics feel pretty close to what I remember Doom and the like appearing, maybe like an HD version of those games and the gameplay left me intrigued. Now add some sweet DOS midi metal music and we've got ourselves a gem.

KR-Eddie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:45am

Cool game! Really hard too.
The controls were really it's weakspot for me. Dealing with aliens was a little fustrating. Fighting one at gun point was a death sentence.
It was a bit confusing at first to figure out what was interactable or not, but it was not a big deal.
The best feature were the graphics, especially the alien sprites (though the transparency glitched out a little sometimes)

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:19am

Hard controls yeh, but looking pretty well, man!

Tuism says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:26pm

I played a web build the dev built just for me, kudos for that, but I don't know if it's because of that, the game is insanely slow. I can't imagine how to play the game through in this speed. I left the game running so I might come back to it.

Other than that, a very technically competent piece - the art and the animations and style and level design are all pretty good, but the initial learning curve is a bit off... Interactable objects should highlight telling you so, I was stuck staring at the destructable wall thinking I can open it, for example. The dead body was interactable? I had no idea.

Love the art and style, and I can guess what the ending is :P This makes me wanna play doom, where everything is like sprint speed :)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Thanks for the comment on my game! The two winning endings depend on whether the players are all alive. If they're all alive that's the good ending. :P

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Sorry for any confusion -- the players lose in any case. It's just a joke since if they're all alive, one ending explains why the Dungeon Master wanted them to lose.

plusultra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:39am

really really good job! the color scheme in particular is pretty great.

Fallenthief says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:01am

Could not get it to work, it just freezes on the opening screen for me and i cant even alt-f4 it.

BNeutral says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:13am

Got me with the twist at the end. Just wish it had mouse controls and a few more checkpoints.

randoman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:27am

Really wanna play it but the game gets stuck on the title screen :(
Do you know something about this problem? I'm using Windows 7.

BeardyBard says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:41am

Interesting game. Nice Graphics and great mood.

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:07am

Lovely retro shooter aesthetic! The sounds were simple, but worked and the story telling was quite well done. My one and only issue is the controls. For me at least, keyboard only FPS just don't work very well. I think I would have liked it a ton more if it had more standart FPS controls with a mouse. That said, this is my personal preference and people might disagree. It doesn't take away from the polish this entry had~

Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:32am

Couldn't get past the title screen :(

Ibai Aizpurua says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:39am

I cant play the game. The game gets stuck on the title screen.

I want to play this game, it looks amazing :(

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:48am

I would like to play this game bacause it seems to be good, but I can't leave the title screen.

randoman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Okay, guys, try pressing X on the title screen, this should start the game. Just found out.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Took a long time to load, but is epic. I loved this game. This was my original plan, but I ditched it. Glad to see you making a fine game with it :D

Zccc says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Thank you so much for the nice comments :)
Sorry if you get stuck on the title screen, you actually have to press the interact button (X) to proceed. I didn't had time to had any instructions or anything, sorry!
As for mouse controls, there are a lot of you who would prefer that way. I prefer the keyboard controls as I'm not a big fan of FPS myself, I just decided to go with this genre because it suited the story and decided to change it to my own liking.
@BNeutral congratulations for making it the end, glad it was worth it ;)
Everyone have fun!

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Using the same key for action and strafe was a bit weird, but the setup and story is very good.Has a beginning and an end, very nice. Well done.

pereubu says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:22pm

really good lookin', but a bit slow-paced for me :>

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Personally I don't like the controls, but it seems very interesting and quite nice to play

Volatile Dove says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Awesome graphics and ambiance! Cons: the game is slow, not enough checkpoints which is frustrating.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Lovely looking doom-style shooter. I loved the art (specifically your choice of palette) and the way you told the story, but the ending felt a little forced. I'm not particularly used to controlling this kind of game, but having strafe and action share a button got me killed once when I was trying to firefight next to a monitor... It got considerably easier when I figured out I could coax monsters into positions where their bullets hit door frames and keep shooting them. The sound effects fit, but I feel some music or ambient noise would have made the game feel much more dramatic and engaging. :P Very solid entry though, keep it up in future!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:38pm

I love it, totally old school controls, great art and colors!

HappyHour says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:37am

I love the aesthetics on this one! I normally don't gravitate to FPS-style games so the simple controls were very welcoming. I think if the movement was a little faster, it'd be pretty exciting.

intXparts says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:42pm

A very immersive well done environment. I love the simplicity. Nice job!

rnlf says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Not sure if I made it to the end... I found three humans...

The controls were pretty hard, we were used to it in the early 90s, but we are spoiled by mouse look ;-)

I liked the raycasted look (but it's not a real raycaster, right?) and the color selection. Very good game!

jojocanard says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:09pm

I can't get past the purple front screen (I tried to click, press space, escape...).

HellBlazer says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:53am

Ugh, I don't miss this control scheme for FPS games. You're doing it wrong, man, you need to ditch modern bullshit like regenerating health, but keep the good stuff like mouselook. ;) Pretty cool entry regardless, though. Nice retro graphics, though I agree with the person who said it's missing old-school midi music to go along with it (though that's understandable). Good amount of content too, especially for a compo entry!

Gameplay-wise, I think it's missing a run button. It's quite difficult to dodge at the moment and more mobility would help a lot. I guess you can "roll" but that's not very precise and then it just messes up your aim. In fact, the game would be extremely hard if you couldn't just cheese the enemies by getting them stuck on corners. :)

Also, nice twist at the end.

Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Love the graphics, though I couldnt get past the first room? I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/qmrKCmuKBqk

Sep 9, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Pssst - You are featured in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zK8Ya1OP2ZI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]