Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Fire monster

by dvdking - Compo Entry

You are the fire monster. You want to destroy everything and everyone.

The police is there to stop you.

Controls: wasd movement, arrow keys attack


If the game is too slow for you, try to run in on lower settings and lower resolution.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#69Overall3.83
#96Fun3.70
#121Audio3.52
#125Graphics3.90
#125Mood3.59
#271Theme3.69
#351Humor2.96
#554Innovation2.86

Comments

hijomo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:49am

This is great.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:41am

Pretty good :)

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:24am

Absolutely excellent little sidescroller. Great presentation, simple controls, a good variety of enemies. Only complaint I had was the audio was a bit repetitive. Great job!

Demy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:05am

Nice style and so colorful. I liked the sound. It made the monster look more badass.

adamwoolridge says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:11am

Really cool! Awesome style and lighting.

Thinkofdeath says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:11am

Loved the art style

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:40am

amazing looking graphics

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:36pm

It was quite fun

Cloudeyes says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:07pm

great gameplay and lighting effects

HippGame says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Wow great game, GG

shelleyl says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:52am

Very nice, liked the style and effects! Gameplay was smooth and felt good

Strike says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:49am

The style is simply awesome ! Very fun to play as well. It was such a joy to discover I could shoot diagonally ;)

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Very, VERY solid entry. The graphics were incredible, and the audio fit nicely. In my personal opinion, the enemy trucks/helicopters should have had slightly less health, I found myself frequently shooting at them from the edge of the screen to try to avoid attacks. In all honesty, this is one of the most polished entries I've seen this jam. I would love to see more of this. Well done!

BNeutral says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Hot game

Kassimkot says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:03am

Awesome game. 10/10 would burn everything again. seriously would consider buying a complete version

3CGames says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Great job! Well-polished and looks great.

rojo says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:11am

Nice work! The music loop was a little short, but the game played pretty smoothly and felt complete.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]