Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Sea invasion

by mokujin - Compo Entry

A game about a son of a Ktulhu

Controlls:
Move - arrows
Aim/Shoot - mouse

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#51Fun3.90
#98Mood3.67
#121Audio3.52
#130Humor3.52
#146Overall3.64
#171Theme3.86
#435Innovation3.05
#466Graphics3.10
#1668Coolness39%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:56am

During the "cut scene" some of the wording was off the screen (OSX version, running full screen) so I wasn't sure what was going on, but I was able to kill the boss on my 2nd try anyway. Loved the music! :)

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:29am

Lol.. That was like every action movie in 3 minutes :D Pretty epic!

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:11pm

This was unbelievably well done!And the graphics are ridiciously good!

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:51am

Most dramatic Cthulhu game ever :)
Nice job!

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:48pm

EPIC! =D

NikinCZ says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Bossfight was kinda bugged, could easily win it by spamming LMB, but that doesn't really matter. Cutscenes were funny I think. Graphics were hilarious but still fairly simple. You got 4* and that's pretty rare for my ratings!

Chikoness says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:08pm

This... is actually pretty good, well done!

1y1e says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:31pm

I'm very impressed by the amount of art in this and the use of cutscenes AND a boss fight! Really makes it feel epic for a length - but I think the length is great for how much you've packed in.

If I had to give tips on where to improve I'd look at some of the more physical feel and work on fixing little things like the "FBI" hat text flipping when you flip the sprite, or rotating the bullets so they don't fly out sideways when you shoot straight up.

Nice work!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:40am

I wish you used the Unity input manager rather than hard coding the controls. WASD + space is much easier than arrows + space (when you also need the mouse).

Other than that (minor) nitpick, really great! A whole lot of art (that looks good), and fun gameplay. I just wish it was longer (that's a good thing though, means I was having fun).

ziege says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:41am

That's epic!.
My only complain is, that you can't control movement on WASD.

redzero says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:44am

I would play one hour of this!

nwdg says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:44am

During last cut scene I had a lot of text out of the screen but really fun to play, well done!

congusbongus says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:44am

Nice intro! The music is a bit obnoxious though.

parsia says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:09pm

wow! amazing! best LD33 game I've played so far

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Haha nice! I was feeling the tension during this! The music and rain effect at the start sucked me in!
Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]