Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Space Pong

by MortalWombat - Compo Entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~ SPACE PONG - README ~~~
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Space Pong is a radial pong game in which you battle an A.I.
opponent.



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~ CONTROLS ~

Move you paddle left and right to hit the balls. You can
control the direction the ball goes by controlling your
paddles velocity, similar to a game of "Breakout".

=======
CONTROLLER:

MOVE PADDLE: LEFT STICK
MOVE CAMERA: RIGHT STICK
TOGGLE FULLSCREEN: START BUTTON
=======

The above listed controller bindings correspond to an XBOX
controller and may vary when using controllers.

=======
KEYBOARD:

MOVE PADDLE: ARROWKEYS LEFT/RIGHT
MOVE CAMERA: ARROWKEYS UP/DOWN
TOGGLE FULLSCREEN: F1 KEY
=======

I highly recommend you play the game with a controller as it
allows for much finer grained movement of the paddle.



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~ REQUIREMENTS ~

- OpenGL 3.3 or higher
- A 64 bit system

If you encounter a problem while running the game, please
leave a comment so I can look into it.

To run the game, just start the executable from the unpacked
directory.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~ LUDUM DARE NOTES ~

The game was written in C/C++ using no libraries other than
OpenGL. I used a basic framework I have written myself to
get a window/OpenGL context with basic input handling.


I opted out of the "Theme" and "Audio" categories:

Audio I could not get in in time because - while I had a
basic playback system in place, I forgot to write a .wav
parser which I only noticed about 2 hours before the end at
which point I decided it was futile to attempt to get it in
in time.

The theme did not inspire me right from the beginning,
partly because it was basically the same as the "You are the
villain" theme from a previous LD I took part in. I had the
idea for the design and thought I might be able to shoehorn
the theme in on day 2 of the compo but it did not come to
pass. Maybe I am a monster for not incorporating the theme?
;-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Innovation3.75
#182Fun3.47
#320Mood3.20
#322Overall3.29
#419Graphics3.18
#1981Coolness28%

Comments

keyle says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:48am

ping me on twitter @keyle when you got the windows build!

dosmaen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:13am

I'll give it a try once there's a windows build.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:36pm

This is a rather good game, i love the fact that power ups can combine, eventhought that sometimes results in really wierd plays (for example 2x speed, and negative gravitation), i loved the function bonus, in which the ball curves, please add a sinewave at post jam(if that works) the game is rather hard, but maybe thats because im not skilled enough, this would be fun as an online beat a random oponent game.

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Fun game! I enjoyed the fact that you had to hit the ball perfectly so as not to bounce it back onto your side. Neat powerups. Good job!

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Very interesting interpretation of Pong, a little glitchy at times (or maybe I was just not good with rebounding shots). AI is a little too good for me. I liked the minimalist graphics, but a little sound would have been nice too, just a square wave sound or something? Still, quite an accomplishment for basically starting from scratch in cpp!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:23pm

You should add a two player !

MortalWombat says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:32pm

@crucknuk I would have loved to put local multiplayer with splitscreen in but the time was just to short. I will definitely make a post compo version at some point, though.

thebmxeur says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:51pm

When closing the game on windows, the process doesn't stop, I had to kill it in the task manager. Apart from that, looks like you're watching handmade hero !

Sypanite says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Cool idea, nice looking game. I feel it's too easy to score on your own side. At any rate, I got my ass kicked! :)

MortalWombat says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:25pm

@thebmxeur
Thanks for pointing that out, I'm going to look into it tomorrow!

MortalWombat says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:35pm

@thebmxeur
Okay, I actually fixed it just now. Thanks again!

MortalWombat says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Also: yeah, handmade hero is awesome!

keyle says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:35am

Nice. Same issue. Process hung around after quitting. Fun gameplay.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Okay graphics, the collision itself wasn't bad. It lagged slightly for me, but really like the idea of pong. Nice entry.

MortalWombat says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Okay, so for some reason the fixed windows version didn't upload correctly yesterday. The task should now terminate correctly on closing via clicking the 'X' on your window decorations.

GraciCebola says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:10am

Some weird calculations but game is really fun and nice idea

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]