Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Ectoplasm Isn't Everything

by IonProgramming - Jam Entry

Ectoplasm Isn't Everything, the story of a ghost who's only priority is good intentions. Follow him through the forest and stumble across all sorts of wildlife. You might be able to make their day.

The end goal is to help all the forest creatures out and get them on their way again, good luck!

WSAD to move
Y to interact

EDIT: If you liked the music feel free to download it at the link!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#142Mood(Jam)3.72
#155Graphics(Jam)4.15
#171Audio(Jam)3.58
#326Overall(Jam)3.46
#372Humor(Jam)3.06
#435Theme(Jam)3.57
#520Innovation(Jam)3.00
#531Fun(Jam)3.05

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Very cool, and well put together! I did manage to fall off this little world, but when I started it back up I did some quests and things :D

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:33am

Interesting idea,after a few minutes of play I seemed to just be floating in space endlessly.

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:04am

Nice graphics! I loved the art.

ZacharyD says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:12am

I like it. It's fun, but there's not much gameplay. It gets a bit repetitive.

fatSquirrel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:22am

I liked the animals and their stories...the duck sounds will stick with me. The lighting is amazing and really sets a great mood!

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:25am

Very cool idea

nwdg says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:31am

Nice graphics and sound, found myself floating in an endless space the first time but managed to feed some animals.

RoboNebula says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Nice game the graphics and idea are very loevly! You should state the goal of the game somewhere though and the controls and hitbox where a bit funky sometimes.

Sparrow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:44pm

I love the mood of this game, awesome graphics!

kaype says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:11am

Hitboxes are a bit weird, but I would love to see a full version of this (outside of LD) someday :D

dosmaen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:03am

I like the lighting effects, great audio, and cute visuals.

walaber says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:01am

nice job! fun how the different animal "quests" all sequence together. i ended up falling off the edge of the world before I could finish though :(

vegapomme27 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Amazing graphics !

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:25am

I like the lighting effects. I love the mood of this game. Thank you ++

Boberro says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:47am

Hedgehog was my favourite (the sound I mean) :)

AlexSet says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:21am

Nice atmosphere and music, ghost speed can get a bit excessive but it has charm.

superfreak says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:44am

Loved the art - so cute (and the mood is really captured through some great lighting). Great job on a enjoyable entry :)

Patomkin says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:16am

I think I have sped up a little bit too much and flew oof the map... oops :D
Otherwise, a quite good entry

Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:40am

Nice game, the graphics are awesome (love the fireflies effect!).

Mikhail says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:03am

The game is very atmospheric. Everything is great but i can fall off of the map and i cant find where the map was which got me a little lost and had to restart the game. Great game!

ChaosCult says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:40am

Good looking game with nice handling. But with small screen and no map at all it's easy to get lost, and it seems like I can fly completely outside of level's boundaries.

KR-Eddie says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:35am

Very nice graphics and mood. The movement was a bit frustrating and made platforming very hard. I felt like the ghost's bounding box was a bit too big and got me stuck a few times.

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:48am

I broke the game immediately by flying to high haha. The sound was very nice, I enjoyed hearing what each one of the animals were going to say next. Could be expanded to a much bigger idea, but not bad for ludam dare weekend!

AndyBrown says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:12am

You nailed the Aesthetics for this game. Loved all of the critters and their quests. I wasn't sure if I completed them all or if I missed something though, is there an end game state?

Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:27am

No end game. You're left to appreciate the atmosphere and quirky animal noises.

And thanks everyone for the amazing feedback!

WubAlliance says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:37am

Holy &$%# those shaders! Like, seriously, they are beautiful. I love the firefly effects, this game is gorgeous. The audio fits as well, this game has a really great aesthetic/mood. The collisions were at times a little funny, but I think the graphical quality and story makes up for that. Very, VERY well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]