Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Pizza

by dalbinblue - Compo Entry

Update: I noticed several people having difficulty finding the targets for deliveries. I've added a how to graphic (see screenshot three) that explains how to play. I suggest taking a quick look before you play the game.

Welcome to your new part time job delivering pizzas!

To Deliver, grab a pizza by pressing Left ALT near a pizzeria, then run to the customer and deliver by pressing left ALT. You can only carry one pizza at a time, and customers can get impatient (you have 40 seconds to deliver the pizza from the time the customer calls). To speed things up, you can run with Left CTRL. Just watch though, and collateral damage comes out of your pay check. Deliver pizzas without being late (i.e. miss three deliveries), and turn a profit to win.

Hint; Use the arrows around the edge of the screen to find your destination.



As always, critical (but constructive) feedback is encouraged. Have fun!


Update:
You'll need to install DirectX to play. If the game crashes on start up, us the DirectX Runtime link to install the needed libraries.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#27Theme4.26
#28Graphics4.36
#35Overall3.97
#36Humor3.96
#43Fun3.94
#50Innovation3.89
#103Audio3.56
#125Mood3.59

Comments

Jelinib says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:56am

Very cute art and music! I loved the idea of a giant dino trying to not-so-gingerly deliver pizzas.

My only complaint is that sometimes the delivery areas are kind of hard to see (but that could just be me needing bright flashing colors).

But overall very well done! I would have liked to deliver more pizzas, but... well, the city isn't going to destroy itself! I'm apparently just a natural at it.

Mimus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:33am

J'aime les pizzas et les dino avec !!! a l'assault.
Bravo pour cette création.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:33am

Delivery targets are hard to find, but controls well and has some charming art!

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:35am

Very well done! I like the art a lot

VampyVampire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:36am

Really interesting, really fun. I enjoyed it!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:45am

@interwebsninja & @jelinib, I agree. After submission, I had my brother play and he struggled a bit to see them initially. I should have made them blink or some thing similar (maybe move the arrow to above the target when you get it on screen).

ViliX64 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:36am

Thanks for the constructive criticism of my game! :) I like the polished and consistent art of your game.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:01am

$4260!

With that out of the way.

This game was a lot of fun, and the whole presentation was really sharp. On my first playthrough, I didn't know why there were so many pizza icons (I assumed I would be picking up pizza from a particular pizzeria instead of just from any pizzeria), so I failed spectacularly. Once I figured it out, though, it was a lot of fun... Kinda like Crazy Taxi, but you can finally run over that pesky traffic if you want to!

As has previously been said, the delivery areas tend to blend in to their surroundings. That's the only big complaint I can think to bring up, though. This game is fun!

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Great idea. love the dino and the idea of this game. Good work. Would love to get some pizza from dino guy

matthewd673 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Really fun and the art was awesome! I destroyed all the pizza places though :(

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:13pm

@matthewd678 I don't remember if I coded that as one of the fail conditions (I think I didn't but customers will eventually complain enough). The game is about being very careful so I understand the difficulty. If it make it any easier, the hitbox is centered around the feet and is wider than tall, so that if you approach from the bottom it's usually easier. The hitbox for picking up/delivering is also slightly larger than the destruction hit box, so if you creep up to the pizza parlor, you should be good.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:44pm

I love the concept, but some indication of how much time you have for each delivery would greatly improve the game.

kingpirux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:46pm

lol really hilarious :D it's almost imposible to be perfect, but i think there should be some argument to let me destroy the place since that's actually the fun part

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:16pm

@kingpirux I balanced the game at the end so that destruction would still let you win. I was toying with the ending of making actual destruction real money so that it was neigh impossible and let you rampage after the pink slip, but didn't have the time.

PokeyOne says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Great game all around! It's cool how you can smash buildings. I may have played a round where I just smashed everything to the ground before I failed!

Infininete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:45pm

This is actually not a bad idea though it gets boring after a bit. The environment is awesome. Like other users have said, it's hard to find where exactly the delivery spot is and where the pizza joints are because lack of flashy colors, though I guess that's part of the challenge in case you accidentally stumble on top of one of their houses. It would be cool if there was some more difficulty added, like, say, after awhile you get drunk and thus it's harder to move. Well, something that would fit the theme :).

kaitokidi says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:01pm

fuking amazing

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:12am

Great game! What a great idea for a game! I always felt nervous around those cars. It was hard to not run everyone over.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:22am

@robot souls games, the game was built to be practically impossible to not destroy something. I actually wanted to put in people and a lot of small items like trees, signs, street lamps, etc. that were low damage penalty but pretty much impossible to avoid.

Rulrite says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:05am

Great idea! Those are some expensive pizzas, if I still made a profit after all of that destruction...

I really liked the art and the music, and you did a good job of making different parts of the city seem, well, different. The directions were a little confusing, though; it took me a while to realise that the pizza slices were actually arrows pointing you towards pizza places (maybe that's just me)!

All in all, it really is a fantastic game considering you made it in 48 hours. Hopefully you'll have time to develop it further and add all the stuff you planned.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:14am

Very cool and difficult. I loved the take on the theme.

Cerberus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:39am

I really loved the graphics, the controls feel good, the audio was just right. i really enjoyed your game. excellent job!

theshadowteam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:54am

Yummy pizza, nice idea .. can we get some pizza? :p

Wefiends says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:40am

Great game, though I only got one go at it because I couldn't figure out how to try again once I lost. That was probably my fault though so I won't hold it against the game. Good job!

fullmontis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:23am

Nice little game! I thought that destrying everything was more fun that delivering pizzas, heh. The pizza building should stand out more, as others have mentioned.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:42am

Customer was complaining I was late with their pizza, so I trampled their house. No more complaints!

This game is brilliant. Seriously, I really appreciate a game that lets me subvert a goal like that, and -sort- of succeed, even if it's not "success" in the strictest sense. *cough cough*

I loved the chippy prehistoric-sounding music... the percussion sounds like thundering footsteps! I loved the story the gameplay told; poor dino just wants to deliver pizzas, and sometimes he has to trample a traffic-clogged intersection, or a whole street of apartment complexes to get to his customer's house. I loved the little touches too; how the cars stop if you're in the way. I can imagine them honking their little horns. Great take on the theme; you really ran with the ramifications of being a monster as a player-character, and I really appreciate that!

I generally like your games, but this is one of my top picks from this Ludum Dare, hands down. Thanks a ton!

Huo-cuo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:49am

I was missing full screen button. Gameplay was OK, the city looks awesome. Thx for the game!

derr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:16am

The art is super cute and I kept on thinking "I have the pizza right here. Please don't hate me, I'll pay for the damage".

For one round it's fun to play and the music is really oldschool, but the time frame could be a bit shorter because it gets repetitive quick and the target areas are hard to spot. Showing an example of a target area in the intro could would make it easier to get started.

Strike says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:27am

While most of the people went for evil monsters (or anything evil that made this thing a monster), you totally went the other way and it's simply genius !
I love the goofy face of this clumsy monster trying his best to not destroy anything and be nice to people.

Very good job.

Logan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Really fun concept! I loved the graphics, especially the nervous expression on the monster's face. He looks so concerned!

I think I would have liked a little more indication of where I was delivering to. I eventually got the hang of it, but if the delivery areas would have flashed, it would have been really clear what I was looking for.

Shackhal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Nice art and game design. You need to move around the city carefully but fast. It was fun and I always like the idea to be a good monster. The controls are nice too.

At first I didn't know where the delivery area was after I follow the arrows. I didn't notice the square marks.

Overall, is a very good game. Well done.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:18am

xD Why did I get a negative score??????? I was trying my best!
Had a great time playing this!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:19am

Oh and thank you for playing my game. Sorry you got stuck. Was it on those vertical pillars?

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:23am

I found it very difficult to keep find of the pizza delivery locations, but apart from that I really liked your game. There's something adorable about the clumsy protagonist - I can just imagine the poor fellow constantly apologizing to everyone!

MrMordem says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:57am

Solid gameplay, the graphics and music are both awesome with a classic NES fell to them :) the concept itself is really funny, being a godzilla sized monster and trying to deliver pizzas on time without destroying everything in your path is not an easy task for sure :p well done

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Psssst - you are in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k4fkEeN5Nys

Zammalad says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Loved this game. One of my favourite entries. Sometimes found it hard to find the delivery target.

Incredibly fun and had enough to keep my playing over and over.

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Ahah very nice game, it's fun to control the giant dinossaur through the city! It is kind of hard to deliver the pizzas, because the buildings to deliver aren't very visible.

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:22pm

I love that kind of graphics!! Your idea looks good and I would like to play your game, but unfortunately I'm on a MAC here :/
Can you make a OS/X build?

Anyway, 5 stars for graphics!

FireTwin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:12pm

There isn't much more to say other than WOW. This is perfect and so cuteee :D

Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:50pm

I love the art! The music is very fitting. Everything worked as they should. Navigating throughout the city for pizza delivery was kind of tough.

Sadly, I didn't deliver any pizzas and was rampaging the city instead. Sorry, it's just a habit, our game was training monsters to destroy buildings, etc. heh.

-Loi LeMix

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:37am

Honestly, I was coming into this game with low expectations. I didn't think I would have any fun in this game, but dang it you proved me wrong! THIS WAS A BLAST! This was probably one of the most humorist games in ludum dare without the need of text. Accidentally bumping into buildings, crushing cars and even your own place of business can't but warrant a good laugh at your mistakes. After beating the game and actually turning out a profit, I decided to play one more time to deliver pizzas without any regard to buildings and cars around me. Needless to say, I got fired. If I ever make a game that needs to focus, I will look to this one for inspiration because honestly we don't have enough games like yours. 5/5

Lukbebalduke says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Hahahah, amazing ideia and awesome gameplay!
Congrats!

shawn42 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Great entry. I couldn't find the pizza targets. So, I just destroyed the city.. muwhahahahah! Thanks for the fun!

walsh9 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:06am

Great game. Great art. Great music. I had a little trouble lining the monster up with the bridges sometimes but overall the controls were good. Kind of hungry for pizza now.

derr says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:39am

The art is super cute and I kept on thinking "I have the pizza right here. Please don't hate me, I'll pay for the damage!!".

For one round it's fun to play and the music is really oldschool, but the time frame could be a bit shorter because it gets repetitive quick and the target areas are hard to spot. Showing an example of a target area in the intro could would make it easier to get started.

Hippomancer says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Awesome take on the theme. Very fun.

dalbinblue says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:27am

@derr you're absolutely right; as many have notices, it's not obvious to a lot of players where the drop off point is. Something animated at the point, like a bobing arrow or flashing the aura below the building would have done a lot of the game.

As for the timing, that's the thing I'm struggling with in expanding the game. I'm trying to make the game continue to be fun after more than a few minutes. I've played with a few concepts, but nothing has clicked yet.

dcolgan says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Super idea and really funny!

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:33pm

My kids had a lot of fun destroying the houses! Super cool game you have made!

Datamosh says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Good art, good music, great entry. Congratulations!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Adorable game! :D I just wanted to deliver pizzas... but cars and buildings just came in the way.

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:22am

Super fun game

mantis says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:59am

Great game! The graphics are crisp, the gameplay is fun, the music works very well. I love being monster pizza delivery boy! At first I had problems figuring out where the clients are (was looking for some pizza symbol or something hovering over a house), but once I've figured that out, it was great fun getting fired over and over again because I can't avoid collateral damage :D

And big thanks for not only rating, but commenting on my game, it's very useful for post-compo version. Unless something is VERY wrong, there should be a roar cooldown display on the bottom right, but now I am aware that I'm not drawing enough attention to the UI elements, thanks to comments.

Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Cute graphics, fun game. I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/UzsNzPlW29s

Ellian says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:34pm

This is adorable, I love the concept.
Great realization overall as well, grats :D

dancingmad says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Feedback about where you have to grab and deliver pizza isn't really clear. You already have areas, but they're not so visible, you should add an icon over the building (like a pizza and maybe a [!]).

However, nice game and good job !

Dec 1, 2015 @ 4:33am

I also included your game in an article of my favorites from this jam and added a trophy to your Ludum Dare profile!! :) http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-2-jbncejqm

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]