Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Justice Five

by randoman - Jam Entry

You have been affected by radiation and now everyone thinks you are a monster! The infamous Justice Five decides you are a threat.

Fight the powerful members of the Justice Five and prove to them that you are not the monster everyone thinks or... just show them how right they are.

Controls:
Arrows - Movement the character
Up arrow to Jump

Tools:
Game created using Construct2
bfxr for sound effects
cgMusic for Music
Adobe Photoshop CS5 for art/animation

I hope you guys enjoy!

----------------------------

EDIT 8/30/2015
Added the Post-Jam version, it features:
- Bosses Health reduced.
- Level 2 electricity hitbox updated. Now it's not as huge as it were. Also, electricity speed increased.
- Controls improved. Movements are now tigher.
- Added a healthbar to all bosses, now you have more feedback when hitting them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#407Theme(Jam)3.60
#506Humor(Jam)2.82
#511Audio(Jam)2.83
#654Fun(Jam)2.89
#680Mood(Jam)2.92
#689Innovation(Jam)2.79
#789Graphics(Jam)2.80
#870Overall(Jam)2.81

Comments

tc4mpbell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:59am

Controls could've been a bit tighter, but maybe it was all in the acid-monster theme! Took me a few times before it registered that I hit the first guy, then he just always killed me with a death ray. I'm terrible at games. Good job, anyway!

LewisChaplin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:07am

I couldn't get it to work, just black screen, may be because I am on Microsoft edge.. will give it a go on firefox to see if its that. could be that I need some addon that I don't have installed.

randoman says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:23am

@LewisChaplin that's weird. It's a HTML 5 game, should work normally in any browser. Construct 2 does use WebGL, I don't know if there is any relation but that's the only think I can think of...

@tc4mpbell Thank you for playing! You must be hitting him with the top of the monster's head. I had to take away the collision polygons from the very top of the head because it was glitching with the platforms :(
From the top eye below, all polygons are working fine.

sepharoth213 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Cool boss designs! Unfortunately, I only saw 4 of them...the game's bosses are well designed, but with loose controls and HUGE hitboxes it was incredibly difficult to even kill the first one. I think the 'pun' of each boss taking 5 hits to kill wasn't quite worth the difficulty of running through the 3 or 4 cycles required to kill them, especially considering that figuring out the optimal strat for each boss involves dying a lot of times. I will say, I really liked the electricity boss in concept since you could abuse the left antenna to get in double hits per cycle, but the electricity moved so slow and with such a large hitbox that jumping over them was infeasible.
I think the game would be significantly more enjoyable with tighter controls and less hp on the bosses, but those are easy fixes. Congrats on the entry!

randoman says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:13pm

@sepharoth213 That was an amazing feedback, thank you very much! One of the tricky parts of designing each boss fight was determining the number of hits needed to take them down and I acknowledge now that 5 hits maybe was too much. I'll try to adjust the electricity hitbox to be more fair in a post-Ludum Dare version.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:42am

Idea is excellent, boss battles each with their own formula, really enjoyed.

Stexe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:03am

Fun game, one of the better ones I've played so far. The 5th boss where he teleports into the laser shot seems to take too many hits. I hit him 5 times and still didn't defeat him. Maybe work on tightening that up a bit more. Besides that it was very fun to figure out the boss patterns to defeat them.

TeamOA says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:23am

Not too bad, frustratingly difficult though

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:24am

i really liked the audio, however the objective was pretty unclear within the game and couldn't figure out how to kill the enemy.

randoman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:40am

@TeamOA It's all about figuring out the boss patterns! :)

@davidcmcdonald The "cutscene" right before the game starts explains that you cause damage if you touch living beigns. Just touch a boss with the character and bingo!

Thank you all for playing!

Strike says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:15am

If i could rate this game in the "Frustration" category, I'd give it a 5/5 XD I killed all of them, and it was such a joy every time. THEY made me a monster !
This game made me curse so much, but I loved the challenge ! Each battle was epic, interesting and unique. Sadly the jump is a bit wonky and the monster very slippery. But I'm guessing it's part of the design. Funnily, the first boss seemed to be the most difficult one. Maybe because it's the one when I learned how to control this monster.
Music is not bad but unfortunately it keeps restarting every time we die.

LewisChaplin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:43am

tried it today and it is working, think it was just my internet! was good fun quite hard! but I think that's a good thing.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Challenging, fun game. I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/UXRiA5Goh28

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:35am

This game is a boss run well done, but with some flags. The controls could be more precise and the hitboxes are too big. I love the music and fx, and the atmosphere and mood of the game. Nice work :-)

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:36am

Good boss design!

randoman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:44am

@Strike Thank you for the feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed the game!

@LewisChaplin I'm glad it all worked out in the end :)

@Jupiter_Hadley Thank you! And thank you for your continuous support to the indie community!

@MechanicMoon Thank you for the feedback! I'll work on it in a post-jam version :)

Dianouille says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:54am

Good game :) I didn't see all the "heroes" but I love the fact they have different powers, and so different levels of difficulty.

Darkflint says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:26pm

The idea is great, sound fit very well too i think. But i really had problems with the controls and the difficulty. alreay gave up on first boss :(

Sicilica says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:35pm

I really liked the general idea of the game. The controls could have been a bit tighter, as a lot of the time I couldn't move out of the way of attacks and felt a little bit cheated.

SKT says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Very good idea and story, I love the monster ! That was pretty difficult (or maybe I'm not good at it ^^)

Realize2D says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:36pm

I got interested when I saw your first screenshot! I liked the concept, graphics and audio are nice. But I wasn't able to pass the first enemy hehe

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:39pm

I kept playing it mainly for the story, for some reason. I really like the superhero boss fights. My gripe is that I wish there was a health bar for the bosses, so I could know how close I actually am to beating them. Does their health reset every time I die? I'm honestly really interested in this game, but I only got to level 2. It'd be cool to see what this game could look like with a little more polish.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:48pm

I'm impressed that you were able to make an all boss fight game with a ton of original songs! Great concept too! The first boss was WAY too hard and the rest were slightly easier but overall I had fun. Thanks!

superpatch says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:07am

Game controls are a bit loose, this make the game difficult. Third boss (I thinks it's the third) it's a way too situational, beating him is pretty much related to his raspawn and which pattern his projectiles will follow. I say this only because I think game is nice, also graphics are simple but solid, and I loved the idea about theme: maybe you're the monster, but how many times the monster is just an heroes creation?
Nice entry. :)

randoman says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:26am

@Robot Souls Games: Yes, their health resets every time you die. I thought about adding a healthbar but wasn't able to make it in the end :(

@PeteGrammarman: Thank you for playing! Glad I was able to deliver some fun! :)

@superpatch: Indeed there are certain situations where beating him will be way easier, but this boss fight was designed so you can beat him with any setting created, some more difficult, some easier. Thanks for playing!

Reccy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Fun game, but really difficult

jordinuco says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:46pm

So hard! But finally I killed the hero that throws you yellow ¿gems?. Well, if you wanted people to hate the members of Justice Five, you got it!

Good job

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:49am

really hard but fun. Good job for the different patterns

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:04am

The controls are very slippery, despite how little space to maneuver we have. The creativity on the bosses is A+ though.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:44am

Very fun but the controls were a bit slidy.

rudra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Pretty fun game, liked it !

killersnoofie says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Very good game , I really liked the graphics and story. Awesome job!!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:02am

Pretty fun. I like how colourful the graphics are. Nice job!

freaknarf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:35am

Cool start, and good idea. I felt a bit frustrated just having to endure fights without attack, and it is quite a difficult game... Cool Boss paterns, but the player feels a bit weak :)

panda says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:48pm

I wasn't able to play - when I make it up the platforms to touch the first guy, it doesn't do anything! I tried multiple times but no result. Perhaps I'm not actually dangerous. I'm not a monster!

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:37pm

The controls feel really sloppy as the monster slides around too much. I hit the superman hero a few times, but he didn't appear to take any damage. Maybe the hero needs a health meter.

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Wow, I don't know if it's just me, but this felt "nintendo hard" haha. Loved the idea, enjoyed the artwork, would've liked a HUD, otherwise though, really enjoyed the game!

randoman says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:29am

@GaTechGrad: The damage indicator is the distinctive sound and the hit animation. Note, however, that if you are hit after hitting them, you start over. Healthbars are definitely a must, still don't know how I missed them. But I'm working on it for the post-jam version. Thanks for playing!

@Grahhhhh: Thanks for the feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed the game! A HUD with healthbars and tigher controls are on the list for the post-jam version!

walsh9 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:47am

I like the concept. The haunting music added to the mood. It was very difficult. I didn't mind the challenge so much as I disliked how much of the challenge came from the character being difficult to control.

Meta-link says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Cool game ! it's a kind of hard due to the game physics and hitboxes (and the lack of visual feeback, audio is okay) ... But the concept is really cool, good job :)

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:52am

Fun idea. I love the concept of you being the one being chased by the heroes. When you're on the other side that you start to realize things such as how super costumes feel weird, or how heroes aren't exactly ethical in many of their tactics either. Who is the hero and who isn't isn't always obvious! I like the fact there is a moral decision after every battle and how it impacts your ending.

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:58am

I love this concept~~
hope you can release a windows link~
itcho.io's link only can listen music..no image ToT
gamejolt loading is so slowy...
eager to play it ~ the Justice Five is very fun!

General says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Cool idea and story, although I was unable to win level 1 (no worries, this won't affect the rating :) )

The video reviews of the games I played: https://youtu.be/gAPMEoLs5yA
Your game is at 39:06

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]