Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Nessie: Hide 'n' Eat

by Jerre - Compo Entry

Nessie: Hide 'n' Eat
--------------------


You play as Nessie, the famous monster of Loch Ness. You need to eat, but do not want to make your self known. Eat the fish, and avoid the flashes of the ever increasing photographers.

--------------------


Since I did not have more time I made this in total in about 9 hours, still quite happy with how it turned out.


NOTE: 1-sep: I fixed a bug where you could be hit immediately by an appearing photographer, this was obviously not intended behaviour, so I hope it is not against the rules nor spirit. Otherwise imagine you still can be hit.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#267Innovation3.32
#312Mood3.21
#337Theme3.59
#423Fun3.09
#425Overall3.18
#517Audio2.60
#609Graphics2.82
#1668Coolness39%

Comments

donaldm says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:20am

This was an interesting take on the game snake. It was fun, but the audio got old after awhile and it was really hard to dodge the camera flashes for long before dying.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:23pm

This is an interesting game, but I think it could be improved by having some sort of hunger meter. Now it feels like you can just sort of wait until the perfect moment. There isn't enough tension.

LeekAnarchism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:27pm

The graphical style and the haunting drone give this a really cool atmosphere!

The idea of the coloured beams is really cool too.

I felt that it was a bit too easy to curl up into a corner and hide, so I think something to increase the pace / tension would help -- a hunger meter (as TerraCottaFrog says) or maybe the inabilty to stay still, or maybe some of the beams could move around.

Jerre says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:59am

Yeah, thanks, a bit of time pressure would be a good idea!

blubberquark says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Nice mood and a cool gameplay idea.
I agree with what everyone has said about just hiding in a bunch in the corner though.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:31am

Pretty good, especially for only nine hours! Main thing I'd change is photographers not flashing as soon as they spawn, doesn't seem fair when you eat a fish and a photographer who wasn't there before immediately flashes you.

Also I have to disagree with your theming: Nessie's not a monster, she's just misunderstood!

mathijs750 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:52am

I got a score of 15, a lamp spawned right on me. That felt really unfair. Like the creepy atmosphere and art.

Jerre says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Yeah i noticed this too late (that the photos flash for a split second when spawning, this is off course a bug)

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

mantis says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:02am

Really nice idea and loving the style! Too easy to get randomly captured by flash that you don't know will appear. Blue flash killed me the moment it showed up, had no chance ;_;

ChaosCult says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Audio is very bad, otherwise an OK simple game.

hgcummings says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Fun game with a neat mechanic. Quite like the dark mood of the artwork and audio as well (although the audio did get a bit grating). Wasn't quite clear what the end condition was as I seemed to survive a few hits before dying.

glerikud says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Fun take on the Nessie idea. It works fine, the mechanics are good, the art is moody. Great work in 9 hours!

pixzleone says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:22pm

That was cool, great mood, graphics were a bit lacking and it would be cool with some kind of hunger meter as mentioned above.
Good job!

awesomerex says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Cool ambiance with the music. Creepy graphics really added to the mood. I liked the snake mechanic and the beams of light on timers.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]