Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Panda Monium

by AlexFili - Compo Entry

In Panda Monium, you play as EiddaB McYugdab. An unscrupulous character who lives only to cause misery and suffering to others. The heroes of Bright Town are unhappy with their lot in life and have constructed a terrible labyrinth of horrors (mainly spiked pillars). As your species lacks the intellect to have a dialogue with the townsfolk or walk AROUND the labyrinth, you must try to survive!

Tap on your device (or click the mouse/press W/press Space) to flap your arms and go through the obstacles. If you hit a pillar it's all over!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#419Audio2.83
#729Humor2.06
#866Mood1.86
#913Graphics1.72
#923Innovation1.24
#925Fun1.96
#946Theme1.60
#958Overall1.96
#1504Coolness44%

Comments

merrak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:54am

My high score is... 3! Definitely requires some careful timing. Catchy music! As short as the games can be, I'd suggest not restarting it when the game resets.

zatyka says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:36am

I think this ended up being more frustrating than challenging. After about 20 tries, I finally made it past the 3rd pillar (ultimately dying at pilar 12). Cute hat :)

Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:26am

You are the Monster for making this Game^^ Nice Audio

ManuSaiz says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:42am

I made it to level 9! At start it was really hard but it is easier if you figure out the triangular shaped trajectory of the flapps. Couldn't find the theme though, maybe at latest levels something happens?

Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Great Music! Overall the game wasn't anything spectacular though.

Jerre says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Certainly not the best in its genre, but still fun to play for a while. Not very creative though

pixzleone says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Very difficult, and difficult controlls. Cool game though, good job!

congusbongus says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Nice music, the hats were confusing, but the flapping is dodgy. I think my score was 42.

Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:55pm

I really liked the music, and had fun while playing. I got till 21. Funny that the hat changes after a while. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]