Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Money Monster Millionaire

by Potato & Taco - Compo Entry

You are the boss of a large multi-national company, located in USA. You are the monster.


----

The Monster-meter show the opinion of you by the rich and the poor.

----

You'll need LÖVE to play the .love file (https://love2d.org/). Works on all platforms (win/mac/linux).
The source is in the .love file (open as a .zip).

This is my first LÖVE game, and there's quite a few bugs there, sorry about that. But it is possible to win and lose (hint: 100%). And I did't have time to add more proposals.

----

http://twitter.com/PotatoAndTaco
http://potatoandtaco.com/

(If you make a video or anything about this game, it would be A+ if you let me know :) )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#303Theme3.65
#315Humor3.05
#653Audio1.88
#658Fun2.74
#674Mood2.65
#691Innovation2.64
#774Overall2.74
#780Graphics2.43
#1578Coolness41%

Comments

Don_Martinez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:55am

Are there more than 5 text boxes? Is there a goal? Do the percentages even matter? Who cares, this nice economy simulation is perfect for quick game while drving my limousine to my golden beer pool filled with playboy models.

quill18 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:59am

Would take money from poor people again.

jk5000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Simple and fun.

HACKhalo2 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:39pm

This was fun, I enjoyed playing it

Kai20 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Great Game but just a few text boxes but grat interpretation of the theme i liked it short but cool

MicroMacro says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:54pm

This was alright. I kept getting the same message over and over again, but I know it was just the randomiser choosing it over and over again. I think if there was more of a goal the game and it's decisions it gives you would be more interesting. The theme is interpreted alright through this game.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:01pm

This game is simply and it gives you a punch of reality. You have my 2 cents. Good job.

lkpridgeon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:48am

Not a bad game all and all. I noticed some of them being repeated multiple times for instance one of them was repeated 3 time in a row somehow.

NuDawg says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:26pm

It crashed with the following error:
main.lua:137:bad allocation

Traceback

[C]: in function 'newFont'
main.lua:137: in function 'draw'
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:46pm

I just choose randomly and win!
Anyway, it needs more choice variation maybe you can not only have 2 decisions but 3 or more.
I also notice a bug when choice instantiated. It's created more than once.

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Funny and interesting game.

LogGiant says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:22pm

That was a fun little game. It seemed like I would get a bunch of textboxes popping up at once, and after the game ended I could click them through the "You Win" popup for even more points/salary.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:11pm

I got negative salary. What does that mean? :[

Flaid says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 2:16am

I am a monster with a salary of $14,400,000. That's a lot.

#hashtag says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:01am

Good game, simple and interesting! Only thing I can think of is a bit more variation in the scenarios but you can only do so much in a couple of days.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:33am

This game stares into the soul of man and offers challenging and deep moral choices that delve into the philosophical heart of capitalism, and what it means to live in a for-profit society. Would recommend.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]