Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Unawere

by Mythalore - Jam Entry

In Unawere you play as a woman who has lycanthropy, this means that she turns into a wolf when angered. Unfortunately this has led to her unawarely killing some members of her town and now that she has been deemed a monster by her town she must flee the guards into the forest.

Controls:
Arrows to move.
Z to attack.

Instructions:
In human form you gain Rage when you either shove away a guard or they attack you.
Once your Rage bar reaches full you will change to wolf form, in which you can kill guards with a couple of attacks.
You will also regenerate health for the duration of your Rage however you will quickly calm down back to human form.

Guards will damage you with every attack, you can push them away in human form or kill them in wolf form while regenerating some health but if you drop to zero health you will lose.

To win you need to move away from the town until the Distance meter is full, signalling that you are far enough from the town for them to give up the chase.

Notes:
I've moved the hosting of the game to itch.io to increase visibility.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#609Theme(Jam)3.35
#795Humor(Jam)2.25
#842Innovation(Jam)2.59
#867Fun(Jam)2.59
#871Graphics(Jam)2.61
#898Overall(Jam)2.76
#913Mood(Jam)2.53
#1897Coolness32%

Comments

dosmaen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:40am

I almost made it to the end I think, but got killed by the people with pointy things. :(

Jelinib says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:48am

The camera needs to keep up with me a little better. It's like the top of the screen is holding me back! Felt great to transform and rage some faces though. Neat game!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Thanks for your review on Drumster! The theme is actually a bit hidden in the last part of the game where you turn evil while playing metal ;) (https://youtu.be/nXihe66Wbnc)

Regarding your game I'm actually kinda proud for finishing it without killing or attacking anyone! Achievement unlocked: "Pacifist"! I simply made them stumble on each other, in a way they wouldn't outrun me anymore... I'm a kind monster after all :p

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Is it even possible to lose here? What's the challenge? Maybe if the player needed to preserve some shred of humanity in his character by avoiding confrontation as much as possible... Even then, there is simple not enough gameplay here. A good game is a series of interesting choices, and this game has none.

Koneke says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Could definitely do with some sound effects, it was pretty difficult to tell that I was doing any damage at all (or that I was taking damage). Like others said, the camera needs to be done something about, it's annoying to be at the top of the screen the entire time, and it's too easy. I never had more than one enemy on the screen, so all I had to do was spam Z. Mixing a running game with some kind of topdown brawler could probably be expanded on though, might be pretty cool.

Mythalore says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Yeah I ran out of time pretty fast, had to move house on the Saturday so had little less then two days overall. I'm working on a post-compo version, with sounds and I'll add a flash for damage. The camera is a design decision, a gating mechanic while allowing you the full screen of motion. I'll looking to other solutions though. Also the reason there was only one enemy was because there is a bug that means multiple enemies will get stuck on each other, which I'll also fix in the post version.

reiknight says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:03pm

The camera is a bit akward but the pixel graphics are awesome!!

blubberquark says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:53am

Neat concept but there's no challenge, unfortunately.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]