Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Terror-piesed

by cacciatc - Jam Entry

The crooked baker has a new scheme; dress up like a monster and steal back pie from the villagers so that he can sell it back marked up!

Arrow keys for movement.

To stop your browser scroll bar from moving the screen, please zoom out a bit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#147Graphics(Jam)4.18
#204Humor(Jam)3.47
#479Mood(Jam)3.18
#511Theme(Jam)3.47
#520Innovation(Jam)3.00
#599Overall(Jam)3.13
#643Audio(Jam)2.25
#748Fun(Jam)2.75
#2092Coolness22%

Comments

David Yates says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:55pm

This game is very cute. I love the graphics, and the idea is fairly amusing.

The gameplay, however, I found quite frustrating. First I thought the pies were jumping away from me when I ran into them, and so I spent a bit of time chasing my own tail with that before I figured out that actually they were latching onto me and would follow me around.

After that it was smooth sailing for a bit, but then I started running into lots of niggly little collision glitches. It got to the point where I couldn't reach any of the pies in the level because fences and villagers were all standing in my way with their massive invisible forcefields (overlarge bounding boxes). And then my pies would scatter about with little apparent rhyme or reason. Maybe the collision element is supposed to be part of the game and you have to be extra careful about how you herd villagers here and there, and you're supposed to lead your pies along a careful trail (like a pied piper, hah!), but you can't herd fences, and moreover it /felt/ like the game was just buggy.

This game would otherwise be quite a pleasant little diversion, but the collision stuff really ruined it for me I'm afraid.

Cawrtz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:01pm

This is a cool game. But why would the same slice of pie respawn every time I bring one to the bakery ? Is it supposed to happen ? If so, I can run back and forth between the closest pie to the bakery, sell it, and repeat. But even with that, I always end up being poor. I am confused...

Problems apart, the graphics are nice. The gameplay is original and innovative.

Good job!

Dianouille says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Nice graphics :D I was a little confused at first because I didn't realized that I already had the pies (I thought they were escaping from me haha). Maybe the villlagers could be a little scared of the monster or they could attack him. They don't seem to be there for something. Anyway, the idea is funny and the graphics really cute !

ceosol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:06pm

I picked up on what was happening. The pies trail behind you and if a villager touches it, they all go back to their original positions. That's fine in terms of game mechanics, but it was too easy to hit a villager with pies just by turning directions. Or else someone 50 feet away would see a pie and chase it down. So the game became running back and forth to the closest slice.

I thought the graphics were great and the concept itself is a fantastic interpretation. It just needs a little bit better execution.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:52pm

I loved the Mother-looking style :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Nice one, but why would I steal pies from all houses except the nearest one? You could fix this in an easy way: for example, pies from houses of different colors could give different amount of money. Or stealing 2+ pies at once could give 2x bonus or something like that.
Also, is there a way not to be poor in this gamne? :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:15pm

loading took a long time, like 5 minutes or so?
awesome graphics look, reminds me of zelda on game boy
Would be nice if wasd also moved
gameplay wasn't very fun to be honest
i think it would be more satisfying if the pies didn't respawn, but instead you have a time limit to steal all the pies.
maybe humans can set bear traps or something

sonelliot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:38am

Nice graphics - very Earthbound. Found the collisions a bit tricky.

FistBumpGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Fairly nice graphics, with a pleasant style and interesting game play mechanic. As some others mentioned the botched collision limited the actual game to running to the closest slice of pie, repeat ad inititum.

FistBumpGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Fairly nice graphics, with a pleasant style and interesting game play mechanic. As some others mentioned the botched collision limited the actual game to running to the closest slice of pie, repeat ad infinitum.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:22am

Fantastic graphics, and pretty fun. Great job!

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:50pm

fun but rapidly repetitive. The art is really nice :)

collaboration says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Dude, you totally get the Mother's atmosphere - just great! 5/5

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]