Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Station Icegoden

by mboaj - Jam Entry

Planet Icegoden is a short managerial game with a twist.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#614Innovation(Jam)2.89
#729Theme(Jam)3.17
#860Graphics(Jam)2.64
#953Overall(Jam)2.69
#958Mood(Jam)2.44
#1095Fun(Jam)1.88
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

wicht says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:44am

Full points on theme.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:10pm

That was dark, on point with the theme.

gcrsaldanha says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Hahaha, that was clever! :)

MoreRPG Team says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Oh, right on theme.

Vem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:35pm

I kind of saw the plot twist coming...

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:24pm

So, I was not really understanding the game mechanics while player. It seemed like my station was huge and I had loads of space left when all that had value had been stored. So it felt like I hadn't understood at all what I was supposed to do. Which means it felt like I hadn't or had not need to bother making a relevant selection, just clicked around a bit. I think that was a bit unfortunate in regards to the end of the game. I think also the experience could have been made stronger using some freely available music and if the discarding of crates was an active move (with some crashing sound), rather than passively letting them just hang there until time ran out. That would have driven home the point even more, I think. Interesting concept though.

mboaj says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:33pm

@local minimum actually it was meant to be as you suggested. Actually the crates should have moved to toward the warehouses and also when destroyed smoke would come from the other space station. Unfortunately, I could not start until yesterday at 5pm (Italy time) and I ended it 10 minutes before the end at 2:50am Italian time. You are totally right :) For the music I searched for mozart or wagner to hint at concentration camps but the time was really short.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:12am

I really liked the end. I was not expecting that.

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:47am

Hngh...feels bad man.

The twist at the end kinda got to me...how easy it is to simply become a mindless sorting machine.

FistBumpGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:04am

Nice take on the theme an the game mechanic was enjoyable.
Gameplay wise it would have been nice to include a destroy remaining button, to circumvent clicking every 0 create.

mboaj says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:04am

@FistBumpGames great idea, will implement it :)

Realize2D says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:30am

nice concept! somewhat confuse though..

MikeEnoch says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Felt like it needed to be clearer that the zero value crates still had contents, and a mechanic that put more pressure on the player choosing the high value crates - maybe a review cycle or something like that. I think that would make the reveal have more impact. Still, quite the experience even as is!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]