Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

B(L)OB

by Nikteddy92 - Jam Entry

Bob is a scientis.
But he hates his work..
And his colleagues..
Bob is a sad and angry person..

A day bob had an incident with a strange acid formula..
A tank smashed submerging him..
He thought he died.

But He didn't.

We don't know why, but now bob is an acid Ooze and he wants to escape from this place..

But..
Anger burns.

It's time to kill everyone and destroy what was his personal Hell.

-------------------------------------
TIPS.
-Experiment the different solutions, they have different effects on Bob. Find them.
-Eat Everyone! Destroy Everything!
-Density or Mass at 0 = Death! You'll dissolve!
-More Density => Less mass dispersion throught drain grates and time!
-READ THE INGAME TUTORIAL!!!

-------------------------------------
DEVELOPMENT:
-Engine: Construct 2
-Graphic: Paint.Net
-Idea: MyBrain (;D)


-------------------------------------
Trivia:
I have developed this game alone within twelve hours. I had to work IRL and I didn't slept to create this game! But I'm fine and galvanised! I really love this competition and the emotion that I feel during it.<3
I had to submit the Jam competition because I started some hours before Compo end.
I know that the game is filled with errors, unfinished art and content, but I have no more time and I'm a little tired.. I hope you'll enjoy my game for what it was meant to be and not getting only stuck in errors..
I have drawn and created everything from zero except the music. I still can't manage to create something nice in that area... :/
I created an in game tutorial (press the [?] Button in the start page!) and I hope it will be enough to explain the game mechanics.

------------------------------------
Conclusion:
I am happy. I think I did a nice work despite the few hours (OMG 12HOURS.. HOW DID I..) and I hope you'll like it too. Have fun. Keep creating games and enjoy life. Love to you all! :D

Easter egg: I'll rate the game of everyone that will write JABBERWOCKY in the comments.. Let's see if people really read the descriptions ;D

P.s. Thx to Azureflux, an online (music)artist for the chiptune I found on a freesound site. Your melody blends perfectly, I love it <3

------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#270Theme(Jam)3.77
#431Audio(Jam)3.02
#485Graphics(Jam)3.48
#555Fun(Jam)3.02
#595Humor(Jam)2.67
#622Overall(Jam)3.10
#707Mood(Jam)2.87
#709Innovation(Jam)2.77

Comments

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:33am

5/5 for pixel art good job man

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:34am

I love just destroying stuff, really neat!

Elenesski says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:48am

Oh I loved this. Most fun killing scientists yet. Tons of fun. Great job.

TurtleP says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:20am

Destroy all humans! Great job.

khahem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:24am

Hehe, crossing the grids is not easy, even with "enough" (maybe not ^^) density. Fun game, nice pixel art :)

pkenney says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:42am

Pretty impressive for only 11 hours!! I wish there was something more challenging going on, but I liked the game.

fatSquirrel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:51am

I loved the slime dash attack! I don't know what it is, but I really enjoyed dashing into everything...'click' 'click' 'click'...

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:48am

Wow, man, I had ton of fun playing this game! For 12 hours - it's really amazing, and this chiptune is sooo groovy, great job! One of the best, simple and catchy.

Meta-link says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:54pm

The gameplay is a little bit hard get, but once it's done it's cool to eat scientif with Bob. Plus that scientist sprite is totally amazing !
Fun game, good job :)

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Collisions are little weird and graphics have small depth problem, but overall is pretty good! 5/5 for graphic and music (SLIME 4 LIFE BRO!)

inurashii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Superb art, fun game! Great use of music, too. Controls were a tiny bit janky and the UI needs work, but all in all a really good piece of work.

Mantlair says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Music fits well. I love to see how people used this theme to unleash their inner anger into pixel art creatures lel. (Just kiddin we are all peaceful game devs right? Right ...). Good one!

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Great art and song. Science got what it deserved. Give me all the mass and density.

Somnium says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Fun game, I really liked the pixel graphics.

Impressive game, even more so since you made it in only 12 hours!

blahgyn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Its a good game ,i died 3 times until understand the ground hahaha

10UpCrew says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Dashing feels real great, but I didn't notice any effects of the liquids.

foxboard says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Great concept! really fun to play! simple and basic interaction works really well.
I really like the tutorial. Clear and extremely concise!
Didn't rate the music since you mentioned it's not from you. Good choice of music though :)

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:01pm

I love dash sensation! Impressive work for 12 hours. I aso liked that you escape instead eat humans :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Good job, the pixel art style was well done and the gameplay mechanics were interesting. I would love to see a version of this worked on a bit more.

DrZanuff says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Great man! For a Jam made in 12 hours it is good. And i've been in your situation too, LudumDare+No Sleep+Work Next Day = Zombie mode on the Job. Congrats!

Yrr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:25pm

I found myself attacking in time with the music a lot, very fun

Culpo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:12pm

haha nice game man... destroying everthing =D

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:43am

Great graphics and nice sounds. A little repetivie game after a while. Good game overall.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:56am

I escaped! It was quite difficult because of the bounces (and I didn't know where to go or what exactly 4 of the chemicals did), but nice job doing it in 12 hours. :) Nice art too!

Shaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Great graphics and a cool soundtrack, had me killing and destroying everything for a good while. Excellent submission.

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:38am

Well done. I liked the whole density idea.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:52pm

This was surprisingly fun to play. It probably would have been better if there was some visual indicator to what power up you got (e.g. change Bob to the colour of the ooze he just absorbed) as I couldn't tell whether I had powered up or not plus it's a bit too easy to gain mass and density but overall a solid entry.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Great game, it was very enjoyable and the music worked good with this game. The movement was a bit glitchy but still I really like this game.

nassi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Had like 10 FPS on Pale Moon x64 (a Firefox port), but seemed to run just fine on Chrome. Played a long while on Pale Moon before realizing it should be running faster and was able to got 111% Mass and 110% Density :P. Got bored of the framerate and couldn't find my way out though. The aesthetic works and the basic gameplay is pretty good although it's somewhat annoying to bounce around so much when hitting stuff. Didn't really see any other effects to the liquids than adding or taking from your M/D.

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:42pm

The pixel art is lovely! A better tutorial would have helped but for 12 hours this is great! Good job!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Pretty cool game overall man ! I especially loved the music. That's a great result for a one-man and 12 hours work (bonus points for that) ! The core feature of our games is the same ^^

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:08pm

RougeRogue died a lot. RougeRogue doesn't mind. RougeRogue enojoyed.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Great gfx and music. We didn't even have an idea after 12 hours!!! Nice work.

Polith Games says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Nice pixel art! Great job. :)
It might be interesting to have some visual feedback for when the mass and density change for the player to know where to walk on the stage.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Good graphics, catchy tune and fun gameplay. Nice job!

HappyHour says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:32pm

That is one pissed off slime! It feels great to dash into and break everything. :D

crucknuk says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:41pm

I like the music! For 12h of work it's impressive! good job!

Beavl says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:02am

Rules are nice and story is interesting (we love class b horror flicks!) Music feels great, perhaps add some sfx to a post-compo version? (and some GUI redesign and b(l)ob animations?) Nice work!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:08am

Hhahaha, Amazing music and Pixel Art. Good gameplay and visual effects( crazy shaking the screen).
Congrats =)

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:14am

Impressive game for 12h, congraz, nice entry.

intXparts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:24am

Fantastic job on the pixel art! I enjoyed that you could destroy nearly everything.

mzmiric5 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:00am

Pretty awesome. Love the music and the art + the fact that you can destroy almost everything. Bob is just great, had fun :D Oh yeah, nice touch on drain grills causing game over :)

shawn42 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:11am

Not a lot of depth, but a lot of fun. Just about the time I was starting to wonder what else to do, I won. Perfect. Thanks for a fun game.

treeman says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:50am

Graphics are neat, destroying/killing is fun. Nice work in so little time I'd say.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:30am

Really impressive entry for the amount of time you had to do it in! Once I got a handle on what to do it was really fun going around and munching up as many things as possible. Some more feedback about what increased mass and density would make it easier to understand and probably even more rewarding as well!
Anyway great work for something put together in 12 hours.
That's just cray, mkay? :)

Drauthius says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Wow, what a great game!:D I went berserk on everything! XD

theshadowteam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Pixel art is good, the sound came out a bit late heh? Plus there are layer issues

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Nice job in such a short amount of time. I just had to check this game out, since I too made a game about a green monster killing all the scientists :)

kalinova says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:02am

Love the blob graphics and the C64-style soundtrack! The collision detection is a bit off -- it's hard to grab the colored puddles and B(l)ob shakes when colliding with stuff -- but otherwise it's a nice game.

Headmade says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:29am

Impressive result for the few hours you put into it. Really like the audio.

freaknarf says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:16am

Nice start for a 12h entry ! First I felt stuck after destroying everything and then understood i could go on this grid because i was getting very dense :)
Funny concept, quite nice pixel art... Ho, and i did not saw it anywhere, so... JABBERWOCKY !!

n8b says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:24am

I try the web version, no audio and scientist go througth the wall.

But excelent!

Grhyll says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Well it's quite fun :)
However as some other have pointed out, scientists go through walls and walk in the dark bg, so I couldn't try to "finish" it (I'm not sure it's possible?). The effects of the different fluids are nice to discover, so I could rush yellow ones as soon as I saw them ^^

Miziziziz says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Great art, especially the blob.
I had a hard time understanding how to get the effects of the solution; did you have to destroy the containers and then stand on the puddles or just destroy the containers?

OmarShehata says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:49pm

It's a nice game! I like how it wasn't just destroying things, but you had to watch your mass and density. It felt a little difficult at first, keeping my eye on the different stats and making sure they were above 0. I'd start to panic as they got below 5%!

I feel there's definitely room for improvement, but it's pretty awesome you did this in just 12 hours. Also,JABBERWOCKY !

Nikteddy92 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:52pm

@Miziziziz: No you have to destroy the container, then after a second the puddle appears on the floor. The puddle is divided in 3 parts and each time you collide with one of these you get one "stack" of the effect of that solution. :D
@freaknarf: First one to get Jabberwocky! GREAT! :D
@omarshehata: great second Jabberwocky here! :D

@ALL: THANK YOU ALL FOR YOUR OPINION! YOU ARE AWESOME! :D

lanestp says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Nice approach. I like watching scientist flee for their pathetic lives! But curse you grates! BTW, JABBERWOCKY!

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Nicely done although I didn't find the exit it was fun to kill everybody and destroy everything. The shaky control was extra fun. It would be nice to show the score on game over screen.

jackrugile says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:25am

I absolutely love the art style in this one, excellent work! Also, if so facto... JABBERWOCKY

kles4enko says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:27am

Why scientists are cost nothing?)))))

rodobodolfo says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:43pm

REally impressive for 12 hours!! The art is great! and its really fun to kill the humans hehe... there are some bugs with collisions and z order, but great job!!!!

UekiShurei says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:21am

Fun to play! The music fits the game perfectly. Though I didn't get the purpose of the different-colored liquids other than to increase Bob's density. Nice graphics, and the scientists raising their hands running, added with the music, makes it look as if they're dancing to the beat.
P.S.: JABBERWOCKY Island is a relaxing place.

Mubox says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Yes, I enjoyed your game. ^^
No audio over here...


PS: We have fixed our game, if you want to see it again. ^^
Thank you.

bombjack says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:03pm

nice little game

reiknight says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 5:36pm

The music is a bit hilarious :D but cool pixel art!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:09pm

pretty sweet game, amazing that you could do that in 12 hours. good job

Jan Tuts says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Nice game, good job, especially for only 12 hours of work! :O

Also: JABBERWOCKY!

Oct 8, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Nice graphics! I included it in part 31 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ZV7CU8j_StI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]